Reynold's · Grease-Resistant Deli & Butcher Paper
Reynolds Kitchens Parchment Paper 15 Inch Wide 45 sq ft
Standard parchment; PFAS use likely but unconfirmed by brand.
Parchment paper typically uses silicone or PFOA-free coatings for grease resistance. This brand won't disclose coating chemistry; many parchment brands historically used PFAS for water and oil repellence, though formulations vary.
The better-graded swap
If You Care
If You Care Parchment Baking Paper
90/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
silicone-coated paper with grease-resistant treatment
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
Water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.
PFAS
Reynolds has not disclosed PFAS-free status; industry standard for parchment grease coatings involves fluorinated compounds. Migration to fatty foods (oils, butter, meat) at elevated temperature is the primary exposure route.
Source, ATSDR ↗Silicone coating degradation under heat stress
Silicone degrades above 500°F, releasing volatile organic compounds and potential micro-particles. Home ovens rarely exceed 500°F, but broiler use or direct contact with heating elements poses risk.
Microplastic or coating particle shedding
Worn or crumpled parchment can shed silicone particles or paper fragments into food. This is uncommon but more likely with repeated use or high moisture/fat content foods.
What’s reassuring
Chlorine residues from paper bleaching
Standard parchment is not chlorine-free bleached; trace chlorine compounds may remain but no recalls or health reports linked to Reynolds parchment specifically. Levels comply with FDA food-contact regulations.
BPA & bisphenols
Reynolds parchment is printed with product branding; no reports of ink migration or contamination. Ink is not food-contact in normal use (printed side faces outward).
Source, FDA ↗The full breakdown
What it's made of and why it matters
Reynolds parchment is paper pulp coated with silicone (heat-resistant polymer) and a grease-resistant treatment to prevent food sticking and oil absorption. The grease-resistant layer is the likely source of PFAS compounds, which are persistent chemicals used in food-contact coatings industry-wide. Silicone itself is inert at normal baking temperatures but the coating system as a whole determines safety margins. This product is not bleached chlorine-free, meaning it may contain minor residual chlorine compounds from processing, though levels are regulated.
The brand's record and disclosure
Reynolds has not publicly disclosed PFAS content or committed to PFAS-free alternatives for this product line. The company has faced no publicized recalls or safety violations specific to parchment paper. Reynolds does not provide third-party testing certifications (e.g., NSF, FDA pre-approval beyond standard compliance) for PFAS absence. This silence is typical in the category but limits consumer ability to verify safety claims.
How it compares in its category
Most conventional parchment papers, including store brands, use similar silicone-plus-PFAS-based coatings; Reynolds is middle-of-road. PFAS-free certified alternatives (e.g., If You Care, some store-brand organic lines) explicitly state PFAS exclusion but cost 20-40% more and have narrower temperature ranges. Unbleached or compostable parchment variants exist but offer no additional safety advantage for PFAS. This product sits in the conventional mainstream tier.
If you buy it
Use for baking at or below 420°F (typical home oven range); do not use for broiling or direct flame contact, as silicone coating can degrade and release fumes above 500°F. Replace after visible wear, discoloration, or food sticking; typical lifespan is 5-10 sheets before replacement. Store in cool, dry conditions away from heat or direct sunlight to prevent coating degradation. Wash hands after handling if skin is sensitive, as some users report mild irritation from silicone dust.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 62% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Reynold's has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
Better-graded alternatives in Grease-Resistant Deli & Butcher Paper
IDL Packaging
White Butcher Paper 18" x Natural Butcher Paper Roll for Meat and Fish
bleached paper, uncoated
Mold or microbial growth during storage
Limited concern
Brand PFAS statement on record, which we have not verified.
⚠Starting grade for this product type
IDL Packaging
White Butcher Paper 18" x 12000" Natural Butcher Paper Roll for Meat and Fish
bleached kraft paper, no specified coating
Ink or printing residue (if printed side contacts food)
Limited concern
Mold or microbial growth during storage
Limited concern
Brand PFAS statement on record, which we have not verified.
⚠Starting grade for this product type
If You Care
Parchment Baking Sheets
unbleached parchment paper, silicone coating
Silicone coating degradation under heat stress
Limited concern
Mold or microbial growth if stored damp
Limited concern
Brand no-added-PFAS claim and a 2021 lab result with no fluorine detected.
✓Lab test found no PFAS
More grease-resistant deli & butcher paper grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.