PFAS75/ 100Excellent
Overall45/ 100Poor
Atsko Zero UV Killer Spray

Atsko · Outdoor Furniture Cushion Protectants

Atsko Zero UV Killer Spray

Excellent

UV protection spray; PFAS risk remains unclear without ingredient details.

Verdict · Buy with careUV spray safety depends entirely on solvent identity and application method; Atsko's silence on PFAS and full ingredient list creates moderate uncertainty.

Atsko Zero UV Killer blocks ultraviolet light on furniture without ingredient disclosure. No third-party verification or PFAS statement exists.

Check price on Amazon →

We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade

Material

UV-absorbing liquid spray (aqueous/solvent formulation)

Brand disclosure

Brand is silent on PFAS

Lab data

No public lab test

What’s concerning

♾️

Category baseline

The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.

80/ 100
♾️

No PFAS disclosure

No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.

85/ 100
⚠️

Volatile organic compounds (VOCs) and solvent exposure

Spray-applied formulations in this category typically emit significant VOCs during application and drying, particularly if alcohol or mineral spirit solvents are used. Atsko does not publish VOC content or solvent identity, so users cannot assess respiratory or neurological risk.

20/ 100
🏷️

Fragrance allergens and undisclosed additives

Many fabric treatment sprays include fragrance to mask solvent odor; these compounds can trigger contact dermatitis or respiratory sensitivity in susceptible individuals. The lack of ingredient transparency on Zero UV Killer means fragrance presence and concentration cannot be independently verified.

70/ 100
⚠️

Skin and eye contact irritation

Spray application carries inherent risk of overspray or splashing onto skin or eyes; solvent-based formulations are more likely to cause acute irritation than water-based alternatives. Product labeling availability regarding eye wash or first-aid steps could not be confirmed.

70/ 100
♾️

PFAS

Water-resistant and UV-protective spray formulations in the furniture treatment category frequently incorporate PFAS-based surfactants or water-repellent co-additives; Atsko's refusal to confirm or deny PFAS use elevates this hazard to 'possible' rather than 'none_known'.

Source, ATSDR
70/ 100

What’s reassuring

Base material not linked to PFAS

The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.

100/ 100

Container leachate into upholstery or water sources

The spray container itself (metal or plastic) should not degrade under normal storage; however, improper disposal of used or expired bottles poses environmental risk if solvent content is not stated.

95/ 100

The full breakdown

What it's made of and why it matters

Zero UV Killer is a liquid spray formulation designed to absorb ultraviolet radiation and protect furniture fabrics and materials from sun damage. The product's safety profile hinges on its solvent base (water, alcohol, or synthetic carrier) and the specific UV-absorbing active ingredients, which Atsko does not disclose on readily available packaging or safety data sheets. Without transparent ingredient labeling, assessment of volatile organic compounds (VOCs), fragrance compounds, or other skin/respiratory sensitizers is limited to category-level inference.

The brand's record and disclosure

Atsko is a specialty outdoor/fabric treatment brand with a long history in hunting and military gear markets. The company provides minimal transparency on PFAS use across its product line, and publicly available safety documentation for Zero UV Killer lacks comprehensive ingredient disclosure or third-party certifications (no Oeko-Tex, Bluesign, or similar). No major recalls or established safety controversies are on record for this specific product, but the brand's opacity on flame retardants and water repellents in other lines raises consistency concerns.

How it compares in its category

Furniture UV protection sprays typically use one of three approaches, Teflon-type coating-based coatings (associated with fume risk if misapplied), water-based acrylics with mineral UV filters, or solvent-based polymers with organic absorbers. Zero UV Killer appears to be solvent-based, which is common in outdoor gear treatments but carries higher VOC emissions during and immediately after application compared to water-based alternatives. Most competitors in this niche (e.g., Scotchgard fabric protector) also lack transparent PFAS disclosure but some offer safety data sheets with fuller chemical lists.

If you buy it

Apply Zero UV Killer in well-ventilated outdoor or open-window settings to minimize inhalation of solvent vapors; do not use in enclosed bedrooms or nurseries. Test on a hidden patch of fabric first to check for discoloration or unexpected reactions. Allow treated furniture to dry completely (typically 4-8 hours) before contact. Reapply annually or per label direction, and store the bottle in a cool, dry place away from heat sources to prevent can/container degradation.

What we don’t know

Basis
Model estimate, 62% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
Atsko has made none

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

More outdoor furniture cushion protectants grades

How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.