AVEENO SKIN RELIEF BODY WASH
Lower concern. Liquid body wash formulation typical lower PFAS risk profile.
Aveeno does not disclose PFAS presence or absence. Body washes generally pose lower PFAS risk than coatings or water-repellent treatments, containing surfactants and water rather than fluorinated compounds.
We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade
Material
water, glycerin, cleansing agents, botanical extracts
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
Aqua Pure
3M Aqua-Pure AP802B Whole House Filter Housing
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
What AVEENO SKIN RELIEF BODY WASH is made of, ingredients and materials
Aveeno Skin Relief Body Wash is a water-based liquid formula combining glycerin (a humectant), synthetic cleansing agents (likely sodium lauryl or similar sulfates), and botanical extracts including oat. The water base and liquid state mean no ceramic glazing, coating degradation, or heating-induced leaching risks that affect solid cosmetics or cookware. Glycerin and botanical extracts are low-hazard humectants and soothing agents with no established contamination history in this brand's formulations.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
1,4-dioxane (synthetic contaminant in surfactants)
Liquid body washes using ethoxylated cleansing agents may contain trace 1,4-dioxane as a manufacturing byproduct. No specific testing data for Aveeno Skin Relief is publicly available; regulatory limits in finished cosmetics are not enforced in the US, but detection is possible in some formulations.
Fragrance allergens and undisclosed components
Aveeno Skin Relief may contain fragrance (essential oils or synthetic fragrance compounds) listed only as 'fragrance' on the label. Individual components like limonene or linalool are common allergens that may not be itemized, creating hidden sensitization risk for atopic individuals.
What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
Heavy metals
No recalls or testing reports document lead, cadmium, or arsenic in Aveeno Skin Relief formulations. Oat extracts are low-bioaccumulation crops, but third-party heavy metal testing of this specific product is not publicly available.
Source, FDA ↗Formaldehyde / VOCs
Aveeno does not disclose use of formaldehyde-releasing preservatives (e.g., DMDM hydantoin) in this product line. Liquid aqueous formulations typically use safer preservative systems; no established contamination history for this brand.
Source, ATSDR ↗Microplastic particles
Aveeno Skin Relief is marketed as a cleansing liquid without exfoliating beads or microparticles. No microplastic content has been reported in this specific formulation.
The full breakdown
The brand's record and disclosure
Aveeno (owned by Johnson & Johnson) has not published a comprehensive PFAS avoidance statement but maintains FDA compliance as a cosmetic product. The brand has no widely documented recalls related to heavy metals, formaldehyde releasers, or talc contamination in body wash lines. J&J faced historical litigation over talc safety in powder products, but talc is not a standard ingredient in Aveeno body washes. No third-party certifications (e.g., EWG Verified, NSF) are listed for this product.
How it compares in its category
Liquid body washes carry inherently lower contamination risk than powder cosmetics (no talc exposure) or solid bars with undisclosed binders. Aveeno's oat-based formulations are marketed as dermatologist-tested and fragrance-controlled, reducing allergen load versus mass-market alternatives with complex fragrance blends. Mass-market body washes typically contain similar surfactants and preservatives; Aveeno's brand positioning emphasizes gentleness but does not differentiate on heavy metal testing or formaldehyde-releaser avoidance.
If you buy it
Body wash poses no heating or microwave risk as a liquid product; use it at room temperature. Store in a cool, dry place away from direct sunlight to maintain preservative efficacy and prevent microbial growth in the bottle. Check the bottle seal for integrity before use. Discontinue use if you develop redness, burning, or contact dermatitis, as botanical extracts and surfactants can trigger sensitivity in compromised skin.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 82% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Aveeno has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
More body wash grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.