Orijen Dry Dog Food Original
Lower risk for PFAS in the food; packaging source remains unclear, so contact the manufacturer.
Orijen Original dry kibble is packaged in paper and kraft bag. The food itself won't contain PFAS, but dry pet food bags sometimes use grease-resistant or moisture-barrier coatings with legacy PFAS. Orijen provides no public disclosure of packaging treatment. No third-party testing or certification exists.
We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade
Material
dry kibble in paper/kraft bag
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Orijen Dry Dog Food Original is made of, ingredients and materials
Orijen Original is a dry kibble formulation marketed as high-protein (38% crude protein) with meat concentrates, organ meats, and fish as primary ingredients, packaged in kraft paper bags. The kibble itself contains no known synthetic coatings, plasticizers, or intentional chemical additives beyond standard vitamin/mineral premixes and preservatives (typically mixed tocopherols, a natural preservative). The primary material exposure is the bag's kraft paper and any interior coatings or inks, this is where PFAS contamination risk would concentrate, though Champion Petfoods has not publicly disclosed bag composition or PFAS testing.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
PFAS
Kraft bags commonly used for dry pet food may contain PFAS-based water or grease repellents in interior coatings or inks; Champion Petfoods has not disclosed bag composition, making this unverified but consistent with industry practice.
Source, ATSDR ↗Oxidative rancidity in fat during storage
High-fat, meat-based kibbles (Orijen is ~18% crude fat) are prone to lipid oxidation over time, especially if stored in warm or humid conditions; this reduces palatability and nutritional value but does not introduce novel toxins.
What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
Heavy metals
No recalls or documented cases of lead, cadmium, or mercury in Orijen products; rendered meat concentrates carry theoretical risk but are not flagged by regulatory agencies for this brand.
Source, FDA ↗Mycotoxins (mold toxins) in grain/carbohydrate sources
Orijen Original uses minimal grain fillers and no corn or wheat, which reduces exposure to aflatoxin and other mycotoxins compared to budget kibbles; no recalls on record for this product.
Vitamin/mineral premix contamination or imbalance
No documented cases of excess or deficient micronutrients in Orijen; the brand meets AAFCO standards but does not publish independent third-party nutrient assays.
How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Champion Petfoods (Orijen's parent company) does not publicly disclose detailed ingredient sourcing, supplier audits, or packaging safety certifications beyond basic compliance claims. The brand has no major product recalls tied to chemical contamination in the US database as of recent record, though companion animal foods are less stringently regulated than human food. Champion does not appear to have a stated position on PFAS reduction or transparency regarding bag materials. No third-party certifications (e.g., AAFCO beyond nutritional adequacy) are prominently marketed for safety assurance.
How it compares in its category
Orijen sits in the premium pet food segment with ingredient profiles similar to other high-meat-content brands like Acana, Taste of the Wild, and Ziwi Peak. Most premium dry pet foods use kraft or multilayer bags without public PFAS disclosure; this is an industry-wide gap, not unique to Orijen. Compared to budget kibbles, Orijen's higher meat content and lower filler load reduces risk of contaminants associated with grain-heavy formulations (e.g., mold toxins in corn). No peer brand in this category has notably better chemical transparency.
If you buy it
Store kibble in the original kraft bag in a cool, dry place, or transfer to a food-grade airtight container away from direct sunlight to prevent oxidation of fats and preserve nutrient stability. Do not expose the bag to heat, moisture, or prolonged storage beyond 6-8 weeks after opening to minimize oxidative rancidity. Monitor your pet for signs of GI upset or allergic reactions (itching, vomiting) over the first 1-2 weeks of feeding; if issues arise, discontinue and consult a veterinarian. For PFAS peace of mind, contact Champion Petfoods directly to request bag material composition and any PFAS testing data; their silence on packaging suggests they have not conducted or do not plan to disclose this information.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 72% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Orijen has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Orijen Dry Dog Food Original?
- Wheat flour, meat by-products, soy lecithin, standard binders and preservatives
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Rancidity and oxidative degradation of fats
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- Grain, meat, fat, vegetable oil based ingredients
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Mold and mycotoxin growth
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- grain flour, meat meal, binders, standard dog biscuit
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Rancidity and fat oxidation
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
More pet food bags grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.