Poise · incontinence-protection
Ultimate Coverage Incontinence Pads
Skip pending PFAS disclosure from brand or third-party testing.
Incontinence pads require water-repellent treatment, typically achieved with fluorochemical coatings. Poise does not publicly disclose PFAS use or absence, and no independent testing data is available.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
nonwoven cellulose, likely water-repellent coated
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Ultimate Coverage Incontinence Pads is made of, ingredients and materials
Poise Ultimate Coverage pads are constructed from nonwoven cellulose, a wood-pulp-based fiber layer that absorbs and holds moisture. The product includes a water-repellent coating to prevent leakage, but the specific chemical nature of this coating is not disclosed in public sources. Nonwoven cellulose itself is not a concern for leaching or toxicity under normal use, but the coating's composition and durability over the pad's shelf life and use cycles determine whether breakdown products or additives migrate into skin contact.
What’s concerning
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
Water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Water-repellent coating composition (unidentified)
Poise does not disclose the chemical identity of the water-repellent coating on these pads. Coatings may contain PFAS, other fluorinated compounds, or synthetic polymers; without transparency, skin contact risk cannot be fully assessed.
Coating degradation over time and storage
Nonwoven cellulose pads with applied water-repellent coatings may lose hydrophobic properties if stored in humid conditions or exposed to light, potentially reducing leakage protection and increasing unintended skin contact with saturated cellulose.
Microorganism growth if damp conditions persist
Prolonged wear or storage in high humidity may allow bacterial or fungal growth on damp cellulose, though regular pad changes and skin hygiene mitigate this risk significantly.
What’s reassuring
Skin irritation from material or additives
Nonwoven cellulose and typical moisture-barrier polymers do not typically cause irritation in the absence of dyes, fragrances, or biocides. No recalls or widespread adverse events specific to Poise Ultimate Coverage pads are on record, but individual sensitivity to coating residues cannot be ruled out.
Talc contamination
Modern incontinence pads do not routinely contain talc; Poise products are not known to use talc powder. This hazard is not a concern for this product.
How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Poise (owned by Kimberly-Clark) does not publicly disclose the chemical composition of water-repellent coatings used in its incontinence products, including whether PFAS compounds are present. The brand has not published voluntary safety certifications, third-party testing results, or a PFAS phase-out commitment. Kimberly-Clark has faced consumer pressure on PFAS use across its personal care portfolio but has not issued a category-wide transparency statement specific to incontinence pads.
How it compares in its category
Incontinence pad formulations typically rely on water-repellent coatings to prevent leakage; most major brands (Depend, Tena, Poise) do not routinely disclose coating chemistry. Some smaller or premium competitors now publish PFAS testing or use polyethylene-based barriers instead of coated nonwoven. Without third-party testing or brand disclosure, Poise is indistinguishable from many mainstream alternatives on hazard transparency, though absence of certification is increasingly common across the category.
If you buy it
Store pads in a cool, dry place away from direct sunlight to prevent coating degradation and moisture absorption before use. Do not expose to heat sources or steam, as high temperatures may accelerate breakdown of water-repellent coatings. Change pads regularly (typically every 4-6 hours or when saturated) to minimize skin contact duration and irritation risk. If skin redness, itching, or rash develops, discontinue use and consider a hypoallergenic or tested alternative.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 35% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Poise has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
More incontinence-protection grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.