Bagcraft Papercon · Bakery Bags
Bagcraft Papercon PB19 Grease-Resistant Sandwich/Pastry Bags
Wait for Bagcraft to disclose coating chemistry or provide PFAS-free verification.
The PB19 bags are designed for grease resistance, a known driver of PFAS use in food packaging, but Bagcraft Papercon makes no public disclosure of coating composition or PFAS status. Without lab testing or verification, PFAS-based treatments cannot be ruled out.
The better-graded swap
Duro Bag Manufacturing
Duro Bag 25 lb Short Heavy Duty Kraft Grocery Bag
70/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Good.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
Kraft paper with grease-resistant coating (unspecified)
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Bagcraft Papercon PB19 Bags is made of, ingredients and materials
Bagcraft Papercon PB19 bags are kraft paper (typically virgin or recycled cellulose fibers) with an applied grease-resistant coating. The coating chemistry is not specified on the product label or in readily available technical data sheets, which is the core safety concern. Kraft paper alone is food-safe and inert; the risk profile depends entirely on what chemical barrier has been applied to resist oils and moisture during baking or storage.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
Water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.
PFAS
Fluorinated coatings on food packaging are known to contain PFAS compounds; Bagcraft has not disclosed whether PB19 uses PFAS or alternatives. Environmental and bioaccumulation risk is documented for PFAS-coated food contact articles.
Source, ATSDR ↗Coating migration and leaching
Without specification of coating type or adhesion quality, grease-resistant polymers may leach into fatty foods (oils, butter, pastries) under heat or prolonged contact. Risk is higher if coating degrades over time or with repeated use.
Thermal degradation of coating
At baking temperatures (350-425F), fluorinated or other polymer coatings may release volatile organic compounds or break down into smaller molecular fragments. No manufacturer data on off-gassing limits is available for this product.
What’s reassuring
Paper base contamination (residual processing chemicals)
Kraft paper manufacturing can involve chlorine or oxygen bleaching and sizing chemicals. Food-grade kraft paper has lower concern than some alternatives, and unbleached or certified organic versions may present lower concern if desired.
How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Bagcraft Papercon is a major U.S. food service packaging supplier but has not published detailed chemical disclosures for this product line or made public commitments to PFAS elimination. No major recalls or contamination incidents are on record for this specific SKU. The brand's silence on coating composition is typical for the industry but inconsistent with food-safety-conscious manufacturers who voluntarily disclose PFAS status or list alternative chemistries.
How it compares in its category
Grease-resistant paper bags in bakery use typically rely on fluorinated compounds (PFAS) or newer silicone or wax-based coatings. PB19 does not appear to market itself as PFAS-free or use marketed alternatives like silicone-only or organic wax blends, which are increasingly available from competitors. Standard uncoated kraft or paper bags with no grease barrier pose no chemical risk but fail in use; certified PFAS-free alternatives (from manufacturers like Notpla or some specialty suppliers) are available but typically cost more.
If you buy it
Use bags within their temperature rating (typically up to 400F for coated kraft). Do not reuse bags multiple times or expose to prolonged moisture or high heat, as coating degradation can accelerate any leaching. Store in cool, dry conditions to minimize coating stress. If you have frequent or high-volume use (e.g., commercial bakery), request detailed coating composition from Bagcraft or switch to a supplier that has verified PFAS-free status.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 35% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Bagcraft Papercon has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Bagcraft Papercon PB19 Grease-Resistant Sandwich/Pastry Bags?
- kraft paper, uncoated or minimal treatment
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Mold and microbial contamination
- Unbleached kraft paper
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Mold or microbial growth on stored paper
- paper with wax coating
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Wax coating degradation and migration
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Find an alternative on AmazonMore bakery bags grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.