PFAS15/ 100Bad
Overall0/ 100Bad
Cook N Home Nonstick 3 Piece Frying Pan Set

Cook N Home · Cookware

Cook N Home Nonstick 3 Piece Frying Pan Set

Bad

Skip until coating composition is disclosed.

Verdict · SkipNonstick coating composition undisclosed; PFAS concern unresolved. Brand transparency absent. Safer alternatives available.

Cook N Home does not disclose the nonstick coating chemistry. Most affordable nonstick cookware uses Teflon-type coating or other Teflon-family coating with uncertain PFAS content.

The better-graded swap

Made In Stainless Clad Fry Pan

Made In

Made In Stainless Clad Fry Pan

100/100 safety

100Excellent

Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.

Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.

Material

nonstick coating, type unspecified

Brand disclosure

Brand is silent on PFAS

Lab data

No public lab test

Is Cook N Home Nonstick 3 Piece Frying Pan non-toxic? What it is made of

Cook N Home does not publicly specify the nonstick coating chemistry on this 3-piece set. The coating type, binder chemistry, and PFAS-free or PFAS-containing status are not disclosed on product pages or documentation reviewed. Without this information, the thermal stability, fume-release risk above normal cooking temperatures, and durability profile cannot be assessed. Nonstick cookware coatings vary widely in composition and safety margin, making disclosure essential for informed purchase.

What’s concerning

♾️

Non-stick, chemistry undisclosed

Marketed as non-stick without stating the coating chemistry.

60/ 100
♾️

Category baseline

The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.

70/ 100
♾️

No PFAS disclosure

No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.

85/ 100
♾️

Teflon-type coating fume risk (thermal decomposition)

Coating type is unspecified. If conventional Teflon-type coating, overheating above 500°F risks polymer fume inhalation. Normal cooking (below 350°F) poses minimal concern, but lack of brand guidance on safe temperature limits is a gap.

70/ 100
🍂

Coating degradation and flaking

No durability testing or longevity claims are published by the brand. Nonstick coatings in budget cookware sets often show peeling after 1-3 years of regular use; flaked coating ingestion is a food-contact concern.

70/ 100
🏷️

PFAS

Brand does not disclose whether coating is PFOA-free, PFAS-free, or contains other fluorinated compounds. This non-disclosure is a documented barrier to informed safety assessment and aligns with the silent stance noted in context.

Source, ATSDR ↗
45/ 100

What’s reassuring

✅

Metal leaching from substrate or interfaces

Substrate material (aluminum, steel, clad construction) is not specified in available product documentation. No leaching incidents are on record for Cook N Home cookware, but absence of specification prevents assessment of aluminum or other substrate exposure risk.

95/ 100
✅

Handle or fixture materials not specified

Handles, rivets, or heat-resistant fixtures may contain lead, cadmium, or adhesive resins, but no specific material data or incidents are on public record for this product line.

95/ 100

The full breakdown

The brand's record and disclosure

Cook N Home maintains a silent stance on PFAS and does not publish material safety data sheets or ingredient transparency for its nonstick coatings. The brand has no publicly recorded third-party certifications (such as GreenGuard or similar coating safety verification) for this product line. No recalls specific to Teflon-type coating fume release or coating degradation have been found on record for this brand, but the absence of disclosure prevents verification of safer formulations. This silence is atypical among major competitors now offering PFAS-free options.

How it compares in its category

Entry-level nonstick cookware sets in this price range often use conventional Teflon-type coating or unspecified coatings, whereas competitors (T-fal, Calphalon GreenGard lines, Our Place) have begun naming PFOA-free or ceramic-hybrid coatings. Cook N Home's refusal to name its coating places it below the transparency baseline now set by mid-market brands. For the same price point, alternatives exist with disclosed composition or ceramic options that eliminate Teflon-type coating fume risk entirely.

If you buy it

Do not preheat empty or above 350°F, as unnamed nonstick coatings may degrade or emit fumes at high temperature. Replace the pan if coating visibly flakes, peels, or shows bare metal; ingestion of coating fragments is a food-contact hazard. Hand wash only; dishwasher use accelerates degradation of most nonstick coatings. Contact Cook N Home directly to request coating material documentation before purchase; silence from the brand is a signal to prioritize products with published safety data.

What we don’t know

Basis
Model estimate, 32% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
Cook N Home has made none

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

Better-graded alternatives in Cookware

Made In Stainless Clad Fry Pan

Made In

Stainless Clad Fry Pan

100ExcellentPFAS grade
  • Stainless steel clad construction, no nonstick coating
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Clad separation or delamination over time
MADE IN 10' Stainless Clad Frying Pan

Made In

10' Stainless Clad Frying Pan

100ExcellentPFAS grade
  • stainless steel clad construction, no nonstick coating
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Nickel leaching from stainless steel

3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.

Heritage Steel Eater Fry Pan

Heritage Steel

Eater Fry Pan

100ExcellentPFAS grade
  • Clad stainless steel, no coating
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Metal ion release during cooking (iron, nickel, chromium)

More cookware grades

How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.