Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r · Foundation
Soft Matte Longwear Foundation
Skip until brand discloses PFAS status or third-party test published.
Fenty Beauty does not publicly disclose PFAS ingredients or safety testing for this foundation. No independent lab data available for verification.
We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade
Material
Liquid foundation, emulsion base
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Soft Matte Longwear Foundation is made of, ingredients and materials
Fenty Pro Filt'r is a water-in-oil emulsion foundation with glycerin, silicones, and film-forming polymers as its base. Emulsion formulas rely on preservatives and surfactants to prevent microbial growth and maintain stability; the specific preservative system is not itemized on public labels. Liquid foundations do not have leaching risks from ceramic or metal substrates, but ingredient purity depends on supplier controls and manufacturing transparency, neither of which Fenty discloses in detail.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Fragrance allergens and undisclosed fragrance components
Fenty Pro Filt'r lists fragrance in the formula but does not disclose specific fragrance allergens (e.g., limonene, eugenol, linalool). Contact dermatitis and sensitization are documented risks in liquid cosmetics with fragrance, particularly with repeated facial application.
Talc contamination and respiratory exposure
Some Fenty Pro Filt'r formulations contain talc. While talc itself is not banned in cosmetics, asbestos contamination has been detected in talc from certain suppliers historically. No third-party testing of this product's talc source is published; risk depends on supplier controls Fenty employs but does not disclose.
Heavy metals
Liquid foundations use synthetic iron oxides, mica, and lake pigments for color. FDA does not mandate cosmetic-grade pigment heavy metal testing or publish limits for lead, cadmium, or chromium. Fenty does not test or disclose heavy metal content; residual levels depend on pigment supplier sourcing and refining, which is opaque.
Source, FDA ↗1,4-dioxane as preservative byproduct
Liquid emulsion foundations often use non-ionic surfactants (e.g., polysorbates) that can harbor 1,4-dioxane as a manufacturing contaminant. Fenty does not disclose whether its formulation includes these surfactants or whether it tests for 1,4-dioxane removal. Exposure is skin-level and low-dose, but cumulative use over years is not studied.
Preservative choice and skin sensitization
Fenty does not itemize its preservative system (parabens, phenoxyethanol, or alternatives). Preservatives are necessary to prevent mold and bacterial growth, but sensitivity varies by individual. Without ingredient transparency, consumers cannot cross-reference preservatives against known personal sensitizers.
How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Fenty Beauty does not publish ingredient safety testing results, supplier audits, or PFAS testing reports. The brand lists allergen warnings (fragrance, talc in some formulations) but does not disclose preservative choice or heavy metal limits. No major recalls or safety controversies are on record for Pro Filt'r specifically. Fenty's parent company (LVMH) has not issued public PFAS commitments for cosmetics lines.
How it compares in its category
Liquid foundations in this market segment typically contain similar emulsion bases, preservatives, and talc or mica for texture. Fenty Pro Filt'r is mainstream commercial; it does not market itself as third-party tested, heavy-metal screened, or PFAS-free. Brands offering more transparency (e.g., Beautycounter, RMS Beauty) publish ingredient sourcing and independent testing; Fenty does not. Price and shade range do not correlate with disclosure rigor in this category.
If you buy it
Patch test on inner arm if you have fragrance sensitivity or talc intolerance, as both are present. Avoid applying to broken or irritated skin until healing is complete. Store in a cool, dry place away from heat and direct sunlight to prevent emulsion breakdown. Discard after 12 months of opening or if you notice separation, odor change, or color shift, which may indicate preservative failure or contamination.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Soft Matte Longwear Foundation?
- mineral powder blend
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Talc contamination (if talc-based variant)
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- mineral pigments, waxes, oils
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Fragrance allergens and undisclosed fragrance components
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
More foundation grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.