Mophie · Waterproof Personal Electronics Cases
Mophie USB-C PD 67W GaN C-C Cable
Braided nylon cable with copper conductor shows lower concern for PFAS.
This USB-C cable has a braided nylon outer layer and copper internal conductor with no water-repellent finish on record. The brand has no PFAS statement on record and the base materials are not linked to PFAS concerns.
We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade
Material
Braided nylon outer, copper internal conductor
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Mechanical wear and insulation failure
Like all cables, the braided jacket can fray or separate with heavy use, potentially exposing copper. This is a wear hazard, not a chemical one; regular inspection mitigates risk.
What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
Nylon jacket thermal degradation
Braided nylon is stable under normal USB charging temperatures (under 45C). No documented risk of chemical leaching or fume release at typical use conditions.
Copper conductor corrosion or leaching
Copper in sealed power delivery cables does not corrode under normal indoor storage or charging. No skin contact risk; internal conductor design prevents direct exposure.
Dyes or finishes in braiding
Nylon braid colorants are not publicly disclosed by Mophie. Standard industrial nylon dyes used in cable jackets are not reported to migrate or pose contact risks. No testing data available for this specific product.
Fire propagation if damaged
Nylon is flammable, but USB power delivery cables operate at low voltage (20V max) and low amperage for this application. Fire risk is minimal even if insulation is compromised, and comparable to all standard USB cables.
The full breakdown
What it's made of and why it matters
The Mophie 67W GaN C-C cable uses a braided nylon exterior jacket over copper internal conductors. Nylon braiding is a common, inert protective layer that does not leach chemicals into food or skin contact and resists mechanical wear. Copper is the industry standard for power delivery; it does not corrode or degrade under normal USB-C use and carries no documented toxicity risk in this application.
The brand's record and disclosure
Mophie (owned by Zagg/ZAGG Inc.) maintains standard consumer electronics safety certifications (UL, FCC) for power delivery cables and does not publicly disclose PFAS use or PFAS-free commitments. No product recalls or documented safety controversies exist for this cable model. The company follows typical smartphone accessory disclosure practices without standout environmental or chemical transparency.
How it compares in its category
USB-C power delivery cables are largely commodity products with minimal material variation. This Mophie cable is typical, braided nylon jackets and copper conductors are standard across mid-to-premium consumer brands (Anker, Belkin, Apple). The 67W GaN rating is a power spec, not a safety distinction. No peer product category shows significantly lower chemical risk profiles.
If you buy it
Keep the cable away from direct heat sources above 50C (122F) to prevent nylon softening, though normal charging conditions do not reach this. Inspect the braiding for fraying or exposed copper every 6-12 months; replace if damage is visible to prevent short circuits. Store coiled loosely to avoid kink stress on internal conductors. No special cleaning is required beyond dust removal with a dry cloth.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 72% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Mophie has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
More waterproof personal electronics cases grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.