PFAS30/ 100Poor
Overall18/ 100Bad
Sunguard UV Protectant for Outdoor Decor Furniture and More

· Outdoor Furniture Cushion Protectants

Sunguard UV Protectant for Outdoor Decor Furniture and More

Poor

Skip until brand discloses coating chemistry and PFAS status.

Verdict · SkipPoor PFAS profile and silent brand chemistry disclosure create uncertainty; use only if reapplication frequency and indoor storage limits exposure risk.

This waterproofing spray lacks public PFAS disclosure or testing. Request safety documentation before use on food-contact surfaces.

The better-graded swap

Blazing Needles

74 in by 19 in Outdoor Solid Polyester Tufted Chaise Lounge Cushion

85/100 safety

85Excellent

Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.

Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.

Material

UV protectant spray coating, composition unspecified

Brand disclosure

Brand is silent on PFAS

Lab data

No public lab test

You may also be interested in

Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.

  • polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial growth in spent cartridges

3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

  • RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters

4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

Avocado Vegan Mattress

Avocado

Vegan Mattress

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ MADE SAFE Certified✓ Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)
  • organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Heavy metals

2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

What Sunguard UV Protectant for Outdoor More is made of, ingredients and materials

Sawyer Sunguard is a UV protectant spray coating for outdoor textiles and furniture, but the manufacturer does not publicly disclose its active ingredients, polymer binders, or solvent carriers on available product labels or safety data sheets. Without ingredient transparency, independent assessment of volatile organic compounds (VOCs), resin chemistry, or presence of formaldehyde-releasing agents or flame retardant additives is not possible. The spray format introduces inhalation exposure during application, making solvent composition particularly relevant to consumer safety.

What’s concerning

♾️

Category baseline

The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.

80/ 100
♾️

Vague safety claims only

Uses vague language ("eco-friendly", "clean") without a specific PFAS statement.

85/ 100
♾️

Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment

Water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.

65/ 100
💨

Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs) and inhalation exposure

Spray-applied coatings typically contain organic solvents; Sawyer does not publish VOC content or solvent type, so inhalation risk during application and off-gassing after drying cannot be quantified. Consumers with respiratory sensitivity face unknown exposure.

70/ 100
🫧

Coating degradation and microplastic shedding over time

UV protectant sprays form a polymer film that may crack, peel, or shed microparticles when exposed to intense sun, rain, and mechanical stress over months. Sawyer does not disclose polymer durability, flexibility, or shedding characteristics, creating uncertainty about long-term particle release into soil and water.

70/ 100
⚠️

Allergen or irritant fragrance additives

Product labeling does not mention fragrance, but UV protectant sprays occasionally include odor masking or UV-indicator scents. Without full disclosure, presence of fragrance allergens cannot be excluded.

70/ 100

What’s reassuring

💨

Formaldehyde / VOCs

No evidence of formaldehyde-releasers in UV protectants of this type; however, without ingredient disclosure, presence cannot be ruled out. Not typically flagged in this product category but remains a data gap.

Source, ATSDR ↗
95/ 100
⛏️

Heavy metals

UV protectants may contain titanium dioxide or other metal-oxide UV blockers; Sawyer's formulation details are not public, so safety of any inorganic absorbers used is unverified for outdoor furniture application and potential weathering leachate.

Source, FDA ↗
95/ 100

How is this PFAS grade calculated?

The brand's record and disclosure

The brand is known for outdoor and insect-protection products but has not publicly disclosed PFAS chemistry or testing status for this UV protectant line. No third-party certifications (such as EPA Safer Choice, Cradle to Cradle, or bluesign) are listed on packaging or the brand website for this product. The brand's silence on both PFAS and general coating chemistry is inconsistent with industry transparency trends among competitors offering similar products.

How it compares in its category

UV protectant sprays for outdoor furniture typically use either silicone-based, acrylic, or aliphatic polyurethane formulas; some premium brands now disclose PFAS-free status or low-VOC certifications. Sawyer Sunguard's lack of ingredient transparency places it below category leaders who publish solvent and binder details. Competitors such as 303 Protectant (aerospace-grade, established disclosure) and certain water-based alternatives offer clearer safety profiles, though Sawyer's brand recognition and availability may drive routine purchase despite the information gap.

If you buy it

Apply only outdoors or in well-ventilated spaces to limit inhalation of spray aerosol and solvents; wear a respirator or mask if sensitive to chemical odors. Allow treated fabric or furniture to dry fully (typically 24 hours) before use or contact with food-contact surfaces. Reapply every 6-12 months depending on UV and weather exposure; frequent reapplication increases cumulative solvent and potential PFAS inhalation. Store the can in a cool, dry place away from heat sources, as pressurized containers may degrade and release contents unexpectedly.

What is not known about PFAS in this product?

Basis
Model estimate, 35% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
has made none

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Sunguard UV Protectant for Outdoor Decor Furniture and More?

  • Polyester fill with polyester cover
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Azo dyes in polyester textiles

2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

  • mineral oil, argan oil blend
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Fragrance allergens and undisclosed components

4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

West Elm Cut Garden Flowers Pillow Cover

West Elm

Cut Garden Flowers Pillow Cover

75ExcellentPFAS grade
  • 100% cotton canvas
  • Azo dyes and dye contamination

3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

More outdoor furniture cushion protectants grades

How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.