Charlotte Tilbury Charlotte's Beautiful Skin Foundation
Liquid cosmetic; no known PFAS use. No disclosure needed.
Charlotte Tilbury foundation is a liquid cosmetic with no established PFAS ingredients or waterproofing treatments that would trigger PFAS use. Standard cosmetic formulations pose lower concern for PFAS contamination.
We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade
Material
liquid foundation with pigments, silicones, preservatives
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Charlotte Tilbury Skin Foundation is made of, ingredients and materials
Charlotte's Beautiful Skin is a silicone-based liquid foundation containing pigments, preservatives, and emollients. Silicone matrices are chemically inert and do not leach into skin under normal use conditions. The pigments are typically iron oxides, titanium dioxide, and synthetic colorants; iron oxides and titanium dioxide are not materials linked to PFAS concerns in cosmetic use. Preservative systems in foundations typically use parabens or phenoxyethanol to prevent bacterial and mold growth, a necessary inclusion for a water-containing product.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Parabens
Liquid foundations require preservatives to prevent microbial growth; some individuals (estimated 1-3% of population) report contact dermatitis or allergic reactions to parabens or phenoxyethanol. This product's specific preservative system is not detailed in public ingredient disclosures reviewed.
Source, FDA ↗Fragrance allergens
The product contains fragrance (listed in INCI); fragrance is a common trigger for contact dermatitis and sensitization, though prevalence and severity vary by individual. Charlotte Tilbury does not disclose fragrance components (allergens masked under 'fragrance' is standard industry practice).
Formaldehyde / VOCs
Some preservative blends (e.g., DMDM hydantoin, imidazolidinyl urea) release small amounts of formaldehyde as a byproduct. Charlotte Tilbury's preservative formulation is not publicly specified; however, formaldehyde-free alternatives are increasingly standard in premium foundations.
Source, ATSDR ↗What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
Heavy metals
Iron oxides and titanium dioxide are approved colorants with strict limits on lead, cadmium, and arsenic contamination under FDA and EU Cosmetics Regulation. No recalls or reported contamination for Charlotte Tilbury foundations are on record; industry compliance is assumed.
Source, FDA ↗Talc contamination (if present)
This is a liquid foundation, not a powder, so talc use is unlikely. Liquid silicone-based formulas do not require talc as a carrier. No talc-related concerns are documented for this product line.
How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Charlotte Tilbury is owned by Estee Lauder Companies and maintains moderate transparency on ingredient disclosure via product labeling and their website. The brand has not faced major safety recalls or regulatory violations on record for this foundation line. No formal third-party certifications (cruelty-free, organic, clean beauty) are claimed by Charlotte Tilbury for this product, and the brand does not publicly disclose detailed heavy metal testing or preservative safety studies specific to this formula. Industry standard regulatory compliance (FDA oversight of colorants and preservatives) applies.
How it compares in its category
Silicone-based foundations like this are standard across mid-to-luxury cosmetics and carry lower chemical volatility than water-based or oil-based alternatives. Most competitors in the $40-60 price range use similar silicone, pigment, and preservative chemistry. Some brands (e.g., Glossier, Drunk Elephant) market 'clean' or reduced-preservative formulas, but clinical safety differences are not established; this product sits in the conventional-safe mainstream.
If you buy it
Patch test on a small area of skin before full-face application if you have sensitive skin or known fragrance/preservative sensitivities. Store at room temperature away from direct heat; silicone-based formulas are stable but extreme heat or light can degrade preservative efficacy. Replace after 6-12 months of use; once opened, liquid foundations are exposed to air and bacteria, and preservatives have finite shelf life. Discontinue immediately if itching, rash, or irritation develops and consult a dermatologist if it persists.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 72% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Charlotte Tilbury has made a specific claim
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
More makeup grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.