Charlotte Tilbury · Lip Balm & Long-Wear Lipstick
Charlotte Tilbury Pillow Talk Big Lip Plumpgasm
Lower-concern cosmetic with no public evidence of PFAS.
Lip plumper uses conventional wax and oil bases without Teflon-family coating or water-repellent coatings. The brand makes no PFAS disclosures and no third-party verification exists.
We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade
Material
Wax, oils, pigments in lip plumper formula
Lab data
No public lab test
What Charlotte Tilbury Pillow Talk Big Lip is made of, ingredients and materials
Pillow Talk Big Lip Plumpgasm is a wax-oil blend with pigments and likely volatile plumping agents (often capsaicin or menthol derivatives). Lip products sit on mucous membrane, so ingredient purity and absence of irritants matter more than in leave-on cosmetics. Wax formulations are generally stable and low-migration; the plumping actives are the main irritation vector, not a safety toxicity risk for most users.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Fragrance allergens and irritants
Prestige lip glosses often contain fragrance blends and essential oils for scent and plumping sensation; no specific allergen declaration found for this product. Individual sensitivity varies; some users report contact dermatitis from plumping agents.
Menthol or capsaicin plumping agents (irritation/sensitization)
Plumping glosses rely on vasodilators or irritants to create lip fullness; some users experience prolonged redness, burning, or allergic contact dermatitis. This is a known category effect, not specific to Charlotte Tilbury, but intensity varies by formula.
What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
Heavy metals
No recalls or test reports of lead, cadmium, or arsenic in Charlotte Tilbury lip products. FDA-approved colorants are used, but the brand does not publish metal-testing data. Risk is low given regulatory oversight but transparency is absent.
Source, FDA ↗1,4-Dioxane (impurity in emulsifiers/surfactants)
Lip glosses are primarily oil-wax systems with minimal surfactants, reducing 1,4-dioxane risk vs. cleansers or creams. No public testing or recalls cite this product; risk is negligible but brand does not disclose manufacturing controls.
Formaldehyde / VOCs
Charlotte Tilbury products are formulated with modern preservative systems; formaldehyde donors are largely phased out in prestige brands. No evidence of this hazard in this product line, but brand does not explicitly state preservative-free status or alternatives.
Source, ATSDR ↗The full breakdown
The brand's record and disclosure
Charlotte Tilbury does not publicly commit to PFAS-free claims or third-party safety certification (e.g., EWG, Leaping Bunny). The brand has no major recalls on this product line and is owned by Estée Lauder Companies, which operates under FDA cosmetic oversight. However, the brand does not disclose full ingredient sourcing, heavy-metal testing results, or independent audit reports, standard for prestige beauty but weaker than transparency leaders.
How it compares in its category
Lip glosses are among the lowest-risk cosmetic formats because they are not ingested in significant quantity and wax bases are chemically inert. This product is comparable to mainstream luxury lip glosses (MAC, NARS, Dior) in hazard profile. Natural or indie brands often claim superiority but face less regulatory scrutiny; Charlotte Tilbury's supply chain is audited under Estée Lauder standards, offering modest assurance relative to unverified small-batch alternatives.
If you buy it
Lip plumping glosses can cause temporary tingling or mild irritation in sensitive individuals; test on inner lip first. Do not ingest or use near eyes. Store below 30 degrees Celsius to prevent wax separation and oxidation. Discard after 12 months or if formula changes color, odor, or texture. If you experience persistent redness or swelling beyond 2 hours post-application, discontinue and consult a dermatologist.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 72% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Charlotte Tilbury has made a specific claim
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
More lip balm & long-wear lipstick grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.