PFAS75/ 100Excellent
Overall67/ 100Good
Clinique Even Better Clinical Broad Spectrum SPF 45 Foundation

Clinique · Makeup

Clinique Even Better Clinical Broad Spectrum SPF 45 Foundation

Excellent

No known PFAS use in typical liquid foundations; limited public disclosure.

Verdict · BuyLiquid foundation with no established hazards; silicone and mineral pigment base typical for category; brand has standard cosmetics compliance record.

Clinique has not publicly disclosed PFAS use or absence in this foundation. Liquid cosmetics formulations rarely require PFAS, though some brands use fluorinated polymers in specific formulas; no evidence of this product containing them.

Check price on Amazon →

We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade

Material

liquid foundation with mineral pigments and silicones

Lab data

No public lab test

You may also be interested in

Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.

  • polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial growth in spent cartridges

3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

  • RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters

4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

Avocado Vegan Mattress

Avocado

Vegan Mattress

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ MADE SAFE Certified✓ Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)
  • organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Heavy metals

2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

What Clinique Even Better Clinical Foundation is made of, ingredients and materials

Clinique Even Better Clinical is a silicone-based liquid foundation with mineral iron oxides and titanium dioxide pigments for color and SPF protection. Silicones are inert polymers that don't absorb into skin and are stable at room temperature; mineral pigments (iron oxides, titanium dioxide) are FDA-approved colorants with long safety history. The formulation includes preservatives and emulsifiers standard to the category, with no flagged incompatibilities or known leaching risks under normal use conditions.

What’s concerning

♾️

Category baseline

The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.

80/ 100
♾️

No PFAS disclosure

No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.

85/ 100
⚠️

Fragrance allergens and irritants

Clinique Even Better lists 'fragrance' on the ingredient deck; specific fragrance compounds are not disclosed. Limonene, linalool, and other common fragrance allergens may be present and can trigger contact dermatitis or photosensitivity in sensitive individuals.

70/ 100
⚠️

UV filter irritation or photosensitivity

Broad-spectrum SPF 45 requires UVA/UVB filters; common choices include avobenzone (photolabile, may cause irritation) or zinc oxide (generally gentler). Exact filter chemistry is not itemized on the brand label and may vary by region; sensitive or photosensitive skin may react.

70/ 100

What’s reassuring

✅

Base material not linked to PFAS

The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.

100/ 100
💨

Formaldehyde / VOCs

No formaldehyde-releasing preservatives (DMDM hydantoin, imidazolidinyl urea) are listed on the publicly available ingredient statement for this product. Standard preservatives in silicone foundations are typically lower concern alternatives.

Source, ATSDR ↗
95/ 100
⛏️

Heavy metals

Iron oxides and titanium dioxide used as pigments are cosmetics-grade and subject to FDA purity limits; no cadmium, lead, or arsenic is suspected at use levels. These minerals are not novel in cosmetics and carry decades of safety data.

Source, FDA ↗
95/ 100
✅

Talc or mica inhalation risk

This is a liquid foundation, not a powder; talc and mica are not primary ingredients. Inhalation risk is negligible unless accidentally aerosolized during storage or handling.

95/ 100

How is this PFAS grade calculated?

The brand's record and disclosure

Clinique is owned by Estee Lauder Companies and follows standard FDA cosmetics compliance; the brand does not publish detailed ingredient sourcing or third-party testing results on this specific product. No recalls or regulatory actions specific to this foundation are on record. Like most cosmetics brands, Clinique has not publicly committed to PFAS-free formulation or transparency, though typical liquid foundations do not require PFAS chemistry.

How it compares in its category

This product sits in the mainstream premium segment; silicone-based liquid foundations are category standard and generally carry lower hazard profiles than powder formulations (which can concentrate talc or mica risks). Mineral pigments used here are more stable than some synthetic azo dyes, though fragrance allergens remain possible in any cosmetics. Broad-spectrum SPF claim requires UV filters (likely avobenzone or zinc oxide), which are approved but may cause irritation in sensitive individuals.

If you buy it

Store at room temperature away from direct heat; silicone foundations are stable and do not degrade significantly over typical shelf life (2-3 years if unopened). Do not apply to broken or irritated skin; discontinue if redness, itching, or sensitivity develops. Wash applicators weekly and replace foundation if odor, separation, or color change occurs. Patch test on inner arm 24 hours before full face application if you have known sensitivities to fragrance or preservatives.

What is not known about PFAS in this product?

Basis
Model estimate, 72% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
Clinique has made a specific claim

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

More makeup grades

How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.