Dior · Lip Balm & Long-Wear Lipstick
Dior Lip Glow Oil Essentials Limited-Edition Set
Lower concern for typical cosmetic oil, but Dior makes no transparency claim.
Oil-based lip products lack the waterproofing, grease-resistance, or nonstick function where PFAS typically appears in cosmetics. Dior offers no PFAS disclosure or third-party verification.
We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade
Material
oil-based lip product in glass/plastic packaging
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
What Dior Lip Glow Oil Essentials is made of, ingredients and materials
Dior Lip Glow Oil is an oil-based lip treatment, typically formulated with plant oils, vitamin E, and pigments in a glass or plastic applicator bottle. Oil-based cosmetics are inherently stable and do not leach the same compounds as water-based or silicone formulations. The oily matrix itself resists degradation and poses no hazard of microplastic shedding or coating breakdown on record.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Fragrance allergens and sensitivizers
Dior lip oils typically contain fragrance compounds listed only as 'fragrance' or 'parfum' on the label. Individual sensitization to fragrance mix is common; ingredients like linalool or limonene may trigger contact dermatitis in susceptible users but are not unique to this brand.
Formaldehyde / VOCs
Oil-based formulations require minimal preservatives due to low water content, reducing likelihood of formaldehyde-releasing preservatives (e.g., DMDM hydantoin). Dior does not disclose preservative type; if used, they would be at low concentration and pose minimal risk via lip application.
Source, ATSDR ↗Oil oxidation and rancidity during storage
Consumer reviews note that oil-based lip products can develop off-odors or separate if stored improperly or past shelf life. Oxidized plant oils may cause mild irritation or contact dermatitis; expiration date guidance should be followed.
What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
Heavy metals
No recalls or documented heavy-metal contamination in Dior Lip Glow Oil. Iron oxide and titanium dioxide are approved cosmetic colorants with low dermal absorption, though pigment sourcing transparency is not publicly disclosed by Dior.
Source, FDA ↗Talc contamination in powder-derived ingredients
Lip oils are liquid or semi-solid and do not typically contain talc or talc-derived fillers. This hazard is not applicable to this product category.
The full breakdown
The brand's record and disclosure
Dior Beauty (LVMH group) does not publicly disclose full ingredient transparency or third-party safety certifications for this product line. No established safety recalls or contamination incidents are on record for Lip Glow Oil. The brand operates under EU and US cosmetic regulations but does not voluntarily publish safety data sheets or heavy-metal testing results to consumers, which is standard for the luxury cosmetics segment but limits independent verification.
How it compares in its category
Lip oils occupy a lower-hazard segment compared to matte liquid lipsticks (solvent exposure risk) or metallic lip glosses (heavy metals in pigments). Dior's oil formulation is chemically simpler than synthetic polymer-based glosses. This product presents lower concern than many alternatives in the lip cosmetics category, though luxury brands generally meet regulatory requirements.
If you buy it
Apply sparingly to avoid ingestion of pigments or oils; lip products are semi-occlusive and some ingredient transfer to mouth is expected. Store away from heat and direct sunlight to prevent oil oxidation and rancidity, which can degrade the formula over 12-24 months. Do not use if the product develops off-odor or color separation, as oxidized oils may irritate sensitive lips. Discontinue use if redness, swelling, or contact dermatitis develops.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 72% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Dior has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
More lip balm & long-wear lipstick grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.