L'Oréal · Lip Balm & Long-Wear Lipstick
L'Oreal Paris Infallible Pro Last 2 Step Lipstick
Waterproof lipstick; PFAS risk unclear, brand silent on formula.
L'Oréal does not disclose PFAS use in this waterproof lipstick. Waterproofing in cosmetics sometimes involves PFAS, but specific ingredients are not publicly detailed.
The safe swap
Bobbi Brown
Bobbi Brown Luxe Lipstick
75/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
wax blend, silicones, pigments with unspecified waterproof coating
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
What’s concerning
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.
Category baseline
cosmetics is a category where PFAS exposure is more common.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement about PFAS in this product.
PFAS
Waterproof lipsticks commonly use fluorinated polymers or PFAS "forever chemicals" to create water-resistant films. This product's waterproof topcoat is not specified; L'Oreal has not publicly committed to PFAS-free formulations in cosmetics, and the coating mechanism strongly suggests fluorinated compounds are present.
Source: ATSDR ↗Fragrance allergens and undisclosed fragrance components
Infallible Pro Last is listed as fragranced and lists 'fragrance' as a single ingredient on the package label, masking the actual aromatic compounds used. Typical fragrance blends in lip products can include known contact allergens (limonene, linalool, eugenol); individual sensitivity risk depends on personal history.
Silicone accumulation with repeated use
Heavy silicone-based formulas can build up on the lip surface and barrier function over weeks of daily use, potentially trapping bacteria or causing dryness. This is not a toxicity hazard but a skin-health consideration; rotating formulas or exfoliating lips weekly mitigates buildup.
What’s reassuring
Heavy metals
L'Oreal complies with EU and FDA limits on lead, cadmium, and arsenic in color additives. No specific recalls or excess-level findings have been published for this lipstick line. Standard cosmetic-grade pigments (iron oxides, mica, synthetic dyes) are routinely tested and regulated, though sourcing transparency varies by batch.
Source: FDA ↗Talc contamination in powder or pigment excipients
This product is a liquid-wax hybrid, not a powder formulation, so direct talc contamination is not a route of exposure. However, some talc-based pigment diluents may be used in color manufacturing; L'Oreal does not specify talc-free certification for this product.
The full breakdown
What it's made of and why it matters
L'Oreal Infallible Pro Last uses a proprietary wax-silicone blend with an unspecified waterproof topcoat layer. The two-step system (color base plus sealing coat) is designed to lock pigments and prevent feathering, but the waterproof agent is not publicly disclosed on packaging or marketing materials. Wax lipsticks are generally low-migration products, but the silicone carriers and pigment stability over 12+ hours of wear depend on the stability of both the base formula and the waterproof film.
The brand's record and disclosure
L'Oreal has published sustainability and ingredient transparency commitments but does not voluntarily disclose PFAS use in individual products, nor has it publicly committed to PFAS phase-out in color cosmetics. The company has faced some scrutiny over heavy-metal limits in pigments but maintains compliance with EU and FDA limits. No product-specific recalls for toxicant contamination have been established for this line. The brand's silence on the waterproof coating chemistry is a transparency gap, not proof of hazard.
How it compares in its category
Two-step waterproof lipsticks are increasingly common; most major brands (MAC, Urban Decay, Maybelline) use similar wax-silicone-pigment systems with undisclosed waterproof topcoats. Some smaller indie brands publish full ingredient decks including film-formers; conventional lipsticks without explicit waterproof claims typically use simpler wax blends with lower PFAS risk. This product's format (emphasis on 24-hour wear and water resistance) places it in a higher-PFAS-likelihood segment relative to basic creamy or matte lipsticks.
If you buy it
Apply with a lip brush or directly to clean lips; avoid reapplying over dried product to prevent buildup. Remove with oil-based cleanser or micellar water, as soap and water alone may not fully dissolve the waterproof layer. Replace after 12 months or if the formula hardens, separates, or shows discoloration. Store at room temperature away from direct heat; silicone formulas can soften or weep in warm conditions.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- L'Oréal has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
Safer alternatives in Lip Balm & Long-Wear Lipstick
Burt's Bees
Lipstick Iced Iris
wax, oils, pigments (standard lip color base)
Fragrance allergens and essential oils
Limited concern
Formaldehyde / VOCs
Limited concern
Rancidity and microbial growth in wax-oil base
Limited concern
Lower concern. Conventional lipstick with no known PFAS risks identified.
⚠Risky category by default
Burt's Bees
100% Natural Moisturizing Lipstick, Fuchsia Flood, 1 Tube, Size: 0.12 oz, Pink
Natural waxes and oils (beeswax, plant oils, pigments)
Lead
Limited concern
Fragrance allergens and skin sensitization
Limited concern
Beeswax or plant oil rancidity and microbial growth
Limited concern
Lower concern. Natural lipstick with no known PFAS risks.
⚠Risky category by default
Burt's Bees
LIPSTICK
wax, oils, pigments, natural base
Fragrance allergens
Limited concern
Oil rancidity and microbial growth
Limited concern
Lower concern. Bare lipstick formula, no waterproofing or coatings flagged.
⚠Risky category by default
More lip balm & long-wear lipstick grades
How we score: every product runs through the same public 0–100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.