MAC Prep + Prime Skin
Low PFAS risk, but brand offers no transparency on ingredients or formulation.
MAC Prep + Prime Skin is a cosmetic primer with no known PFAS-specific risks based on typical formulations. Brand discloses no PFAS stance or testing data.
We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade
Material
water, silicones, polymers, preservatives
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What MAC Prep + Prime Skin is made of, ingredients and materials
MAC Prep + Prime Skin is a water and silicone-based primer formulated with polymers and preservatives. The silicone backbone (typically dimethicone or cyclomethicone) creates a smooth, long-wear base; water provides hydration and spreadability. Preservatives prevent microbial growth in the water phase, which is critical for safety in leave-on facial products. The polymer matrix stabilizes the emulsion and reduces the need for heavy chemical additives.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Preservative allergens and sensitizers
Water-based cosmetics require preservatives; common ones (parabens, phenoxyethanol, methylisothiazolinone) can trigger contact dermatitis or sensitization in susceptible individuals. MAC does not disclose specific preservative type; standard cosmetic preservatives are unlikely to cause acute harm but individual sensitivity is unpredictable.
Silicone occlusion and skin barrier effects
Silicone-based primers are designed to occlude and smooth skin; prolonged daily use without breaks may trap moisture and bacteria, worsening acne-prone or sensitive skin in some users. Risk is usage-dependent, not formulation defect, but not disclosed by brand.
What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
Heavy metals
No recalls or public reports of lead, cadmium, or arsenic in MAC Prep + Prime Skin. Product is colorant and mineral-free, reducing common metal contamination pathways in cosmetics; however, MAC provides no third-party testing or purity certifications.
Source, FDA ↗1,4-dioxane contamination from surfactants or emulsifiers
1,4-dioxane can form as a contaminant in cosmetics using ethoxylated ingredients; no recalls or independent testing data exist for this product. Water and silicone formulations carry lower risk than surfactant-heavy products, but MAC does not disclose supplier or manufacturing controls.
Formaldehyde / VOCs
MAC does not use DMDM hydantoin or imidazolidinyl urea (known formaldehyde releasers) in publicly listed primer formulations; ingredient transparency is limited, but category standard is low for leave-on primers without these actives.
Source, ATSDR ↗How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
MAC does not publicly disclose full ingredient sources, manufacturing standards, or third-party certifications for heavy metals or contaminants. The brand has no major recalls or safety controversies tied to this specific product on public record. MAC does not provide transparency statements on PFAS avoidance or use, and ingredient lists do not flag specific preservative types (though standard cosmetic ones are expected). For a premium mass-market brand, disclosure lags behind independent testing or clean-beauty certified competitors.
How it compares in its category
Silicone-based primers are category standard and generally present lower contamination risk than talc-based or mineral oil formulations. MAC's water and silicone formulation is typical for prestige primers; competitors like Benefit, Smashbox, and drugstore alternatives use similar chemistry. Products marketed as fragrance-free and colorant-free (as this one is) reduce allergen exposure versus tinted or scented primers. No independent testing or certifications distinguish this product from peers on heavy metal or microplastic burden.
If you buy it
Store at room temperature away from direct sunlight to preserve preservative efficacy and silicone stability over the typical 12-month shelf life. Discontinue use if you develop unexplained redness, irritation, or sensitivity; silicones can occasionally occlude sensitive skin. Do not ingest; keep out of reach of children. Primer should be replaced every 12-18 months; silicone formulations do not typically separate or degrade visibly, so date opening to track freshness.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 72% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- MAC has made a specific claim
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to MAC Prep + Prime Skin?
- mineral powder, silicones, mica
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Fragrance allergen sensitization
- mineral powder, silica, mica, talc
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Talc inhalation
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- mineral pigments, glycerin, plant extracts, silicones
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Fragrance allergens and undisclosed fragrance components
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
More foundation & primer grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.