PFAS65/ 100Good
Overall49/ 100Poor
Nars Radiance Primer Spf 35/Pa+++ ~ 1oz / 30 ml ~ Bnib

NARS · Foundation & Primer

Nars Radiance Primer Spf 35/Pa+++ ~ 1oz / 30 ml ~ Bnib

Good

Low PFAS risk but limited transparency; data unavailable.

Verdict · SkipMineral primer with SPF carries low established hazard profile; PFAS data limited but not flagged; brand lacks third-party certification but no major recalls on record.

NARS does not disclose PFAS use in this primer. Cosmetic primers rarely require water-repellent or stain-resistant coatings, suggesting lower likelihood of intentional PFAS. No public lab data available.

The better-graded swap

bareMinerals Prime Time Brightening Foundation Primer

Bare Minerals

bareMinerals Prime Time Brightening Foundation Primer

100/100 safety

100Excellent

Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.

Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.

Material

liquid primer, mineral-based with UV filters

Lab data

No public lab test

You may also be interested in

Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.

  • polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial growth in spent cartridges

3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

  • RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters

4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

Avocado Vegan Mattress

Avocado

Vegan Mattress

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ MADE SAFE Certified✓ Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)
  • organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Heavy metals

2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

What Nars Radiance Primer Spf 35/Pa+++ ~ Bnib is made of, ingredients and materials

NARS Radiance Primer is a liquid mineral-based formula with inorganic UV filters (likely titanium dioxide and/or zinc oxide for the SPF 35/PA+++ protection). Mineral primers typically contain fewer synthetic organics than chemical sunscreen alternatives, reducing certain dermal penetration risks. The liquid base allows even application and faster absorption compared to powder or cream primers, though this depends on the specific carrier oils and humectants used, which NARS does not publicly detail.

What’s concerning

♾️

Category baseline

The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.

80/ 100
♾️

No PFAS disclosure

No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.

85/ 100
⚠️

1,4-dioxane (synthetic contaminant in emulsifiers/preservatives)

NARS does not disclose whether emulsifiers or preservative systems used in this primer may contain or generate 1,4-dioxane as a trace contaminant. Liquid cosmetics with PEG-based ingredients or polysorbate emulsifiers carry elevated risk; no testing data is publicly available for this specific product.

70/ 100
💨

Formaldehyde / VOCs

Liquid primers require preservatives to prevent microbial growth; NARS does not list specific preservative chemistry. Formaldehyde-releasing agents (imidazolidinyl urea, dmdm hydantoin) are permitted in cosmetics at low levels but not disclosed here. Without ingredient disclosure, risk cannot be ruled out.

Source, ATSDR ↗
70/ 100
🏷️

Fragrance allergens (undisclosed fragrance components)

NARS primers are fragrance-free or lightly scented; specific fragrance materials are not itemized. If fragrance is present, individual allergen compounds (limonene, linalool, eugenol, etc.) are not disclosed, limiting identification of sensitization risk for fragrance-sensitive individuals.

70/ 100
⚠️

Preservative or vehicle-related contact dermatitis

Liquid primers may contain phenoxyethanol, parabens, or other common preservatives; exact formulation is proprietary. Individuals with known sensitivities to these ingredients have no way to verify absence without contacting NARS directly, as labels do not always list all preservatives.

70/ 100

What’s reassuring

⛏️

Heavy metals

Mineral UV filters and any colorant pigments in this primer could theoretically contain trace lead, cadmium, or arsenic if sourced from contaminated mineral stocks. No recalls or testing failures are on record for NARS primers. Mineral-derived UV filters from major suppliers (Kobo, Elementis) are routinely tested for heavy metals.

Source, FDA ↗
95/ 100

How is this PFAS grade calculated?

The brand's record and disclosure

NARS does not publish ingredient sourcing details, supply chain certifications (Leaping Bunny, PETA, etc.), or formal safety testing summaries. The brand has not faced major cosmetic safety recalls involving this product line in publicly available records. NARS is owned by Estée Lauder, which maintains general cosmetic compliance but does not advocate for stricter transparency than regulatory minimums. No third-party certifications (clean beauty, non-toxic, etc.) are marketed for this primer.

How it compares in its category

Mineral-based primers with SPF are less common than silicone or water-based alternatives. This product sits in the mid-tier category, more transparent than full-coverage foundations but less minimalist than bare-faced UV application. Compared to drugstore mineral primers (e.g., Maybelline), NARS offers a brand premium without published safety differentiation. Compared to clean-beauty primers (Honest Company, RMS), NARS lacks third-party certification and ingredient traceability claims.

If you buy it

Store in a cool, dark place away from direct sunlight to preserve UV filter efficacy and prevent separation of liquid carriers. Do not heat or expose the bottle to temperatures above 40C (104F), as this can degrade mineral UV filters and alter vehicle stability. Replace if separation, color change, or odor develops, typically within 12 months of opening. Perform a patch test on a small area of skin before full-face application if you have sensitive skin or known fragrance or preservative sensitivities.

What is not known about PFAS in this product?

Basis
Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
NARS has made a specific claim

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Nars Radiance Primer Spf 35/Pa+++ ~ 1oz / 30 ml ~ Bnib?

bareMinerals Original Prime Time Foundation Primer

Bare Minerals

bareMinerals Original Prime Time Foundation Primer

100ExcellentPFAS grade
  • mineral powder, silicones, mica
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Fragrance allergen sensitization
  • mineral powder, silica, mica, talc
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Talc inhalation

2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

bareMinerals Prime Time Hydrate & Glow Primer

Bare Minerals

bareMinerals Prime Time Hydrate & Glow Primer

100ExcellentPFAS grade
  • mineral pigments, glycerin, plant extracts, silicones
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Fragrance allergens and undisclosed fragrance components

2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

More foundation & primer grades

How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.