NARS Sheer Glow Foundation
Insufficient data. No public PFAS disclosure or testing available.
NARS does not publicly disclose PFAS content or testing for Sheer Glow Foundation. Cosmetic foundations rarely use PFAS intentionally, but some silicone or fluorinated polymer ingredients may be present without labeling.
The better-graded swap
Anastasia Beverly Hills
Brow Wiz
75/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
liquid foundation, pigments and binders
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What NARS Sheer Glow Foundation is made of, ingredients and materials
Sheer Glow is a water- or silicone-based liquid foundation containing pigments (iron oxides, titanium dioxide, mica), film-forming binders, and emollients. The pigment load determines exposure risk for heavy metals like lead or cadmium, which can leach from mineral colorants if sourcing or milling lacks controls. Liquid foundations are absorbed or remain on skin rather than inhaled, reducing respiratory hazard compared to powders, but pigment purity and binder stability matter for long-term wear.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Lead
Iron oxides and mica used in Sheer Glow can carry trace heavy metals if sourcing or processing lacks controls. No public testing data or violation record exists for this product; risk is typical for prestige liquid foundations and depends on supplier oversight not disclosed by NARS.
Source, ATSDR ↗Fragrance allergens
Sheer Glow does not list fragrance in marketing materials, but undisclosed fragrance components can be present under 'fragrance' or 'parfum' labels. Undeclared fragrance is uncommon in foundations but allergic contact dermatitis is a minor risk for sensitive individuals.
1,4-dioxane (impurity from emulsifier processing)
Polysorbate and PEG compounds used in liquid foundations can carry trace 1,4-dioxane as a manufacturing byproduct. No testing data is public for Sheer Glow; presence would be incidental and typically below FDA concern thresholds, but NARS does not disclose distillation or purification practices.
What’s reassuring
Formaldehyde / VOCs
No preservative system in Sheer Glow has been identified as a formaldehyde releaser in available product information or safety data sheets. Modern liquid foundations typically use non-releasing systems, but NARS does not publicly specify its preservative choice for this product.
Source, ATSDR ↗Talc contamination
Sheer Glow is a liquid foundation and does not list talc as an ingredient, eliminating asbestos or talc-specific concern. Talc hazard applies primarily to powder foundations and loose pigments.
How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
NARS does not publish ingredient sourcing details, heavy metal testing data, or formaldehyde releaser avoidance claims publicly. The brand is not known for independent cosmetics safety certifications (e.g., EWG Verified, Leaping Bunny safety testing) and has not disclosed PFAS policy. No major recalls or heavy metal violations are on record for Sheer Glow specifically, but the lack of transparency means ingredient safety relies on FDA cosmetics regulations rather than brand-led assurance.
How it compares in its category
Liquid foundations are a middle-ground category, pigment exposure is lower than loose powders but higher than tinted moisturizers. Sheer Glow's formulation is typical for prestige/professional foundations and carries no unusual hazard profile compared to similar products from Estee Lauder, MAC, or Fenty. Brands that publish third-party heavy metal or formaldehyde testing (rare in this price tier) offer more assurance, but absence of such testing is standard industry practice, not a red flag specific to NARS.
If you buy it
Store in a cool, dry place away from direct sunlight to prevent binder degradation or separation, which can alter pigment suspension and skin compatibility over time. Do not heat or microwave the product. Replace if separation, odor change, or visible mold appears, or every 12-18 months with regular daily use. If redness, itching, or rash develops, discontinue and patch-test on a small arm area before reuse.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- NARS has made a specific claim
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to NARS Sheer Glow Foundation?
- water, hyaluronic acid, glycerin, pigments, emollients
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- 1,4-dioxane contamination from emulsifiers
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- pigments, oils, waxes, polymers (standard cosmetic formulations)
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Fragrance allergens or 1,4-dioxane in fragrances
- pigments, waxes, oils, talc, mica
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Fragrance allergens
More makeup grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.