Revlon ColorStay Grip Matte Primer
Cosmetic primers lack typical PFAS-prone uses. Low disclosure hampers assessment.
Revlon does not publicly disclose PFAS status for this cosmetic primer. Cosmetics primers rarely contain intentional PFAS, but silicone polymers and film-formers remain unspecified.
The better-graded swap
Bare Minerals
bareMinerals Prime Time Hydrate & Glow Primer
100/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
silicone-based primer with polymeric film-formers
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Revlon ColorStay Grip Matte Primer is made of, ingredients and materials
Revlon ColorStay Grip Matte Primer is a silicone-based formulation designed to create a long-wear base for makeup. Silicones in cosmetics are generally regarded as inert polymeric film-formers that do not leach into skin under normal use. The matte finish is typically achieved through silica particles or polymethylsilsesquioxane resins rather than through heavy-metal oxides or lead-based colorants, which are now rare in Western primer formulations.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Fragrance allergens and sensitizers
Revlon does not disclose fragrance components on the label (permitted under 'fragrance' as a trade secret). Individual constituents such as limonene, linalool, or geraniol may trigger contact dermatitis in sensitive individuals, but no product-specific adverse event reports are on record.
Formaldehyde / VOCs
Silicone primers typically require minimal preservation due to their hydrophobic matrix, but if added preservatives include DMDM hydantoin or imidazolidinyl urea, formaldehyde release is possible under use conditions. Revlon does not specify preservative identity in public materials.
Source, ATSDR ↗Skin sensitization or irritation from film-former polymers
Polymethylsilsesquioxane and other synthetic polymers in long-wear primers can occasionally cause mild irritation, tightness, or contact sensitization in individuals with reactive skin. No widespread adverse events specific to this product are documented, but individual tolerance varies.
What’s reassuring
1,4-dioxane (manufacturing contaminant)
1,4-dioxane can form as a byproduct during synthesis of ethoxylated ingredients in some cosmetics. No testing or documentation of 1,4-dioxane presence in this specific primer has been published; Revlon does not advertise avoidance or purification of this contaminant.
Lead
Silicone-based primers rarely contain intentional heavy-metal pigments. US and EU cosmetic regulations prohibit lead and cadmium in products intended for lip or eye contact; this primer does not meet those categories, but no independent testing of this specific product for trace metals has been published.
Source, ATSDR ↗How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Revlon does not publicly disclose ingredient-level PFAS testing or commitment statements specific to cosmetics primers. The brand maintains general cosmetic safety compliance with FDA regulations but does not publish third-party certifications (e.g., Clean Beauty Project, EWG verification) for this product line. No product-specific recalls or safety investigations have been established for this primer as of recent public record.
How it compares in its category
Silicone-based primers are a mainstream category tier; this formulation is typical for long-wear, grip-texture products. Non-silicone alternatives (water-based or oil-based primers) exist but do not inherently carry lower hazard profiles. Revlon's lack of transparency on ingredient sourcing is consistent with many mass-market cosmetic brands and does not distinguish this product as higher or lower concern within its segment.
If you buy it
Apply a thin, even layer to clean, dry skin and allow 1-2 minutes for full set before foundation application. Do not use if skin irritation, redness, or allergic reaction occurs; patch-test on inner arm 24 hours before first face use. Store in a cool, dry place away from direct sunlight; silicone-based products are stable at room temperature and do not require refrigeration. Primers typically last 12-18 months; discard if you notice separation, discoloration, or odor change.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 35% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Revlon has made a specific claim
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Revlon ColorStay Grip Matte Primer?
- mineral powder, silicones, mica
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Fragrance allergen sensitization
- mineral powder, silica, mica, talc
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Talc inhalation
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- mineral pigments, glycerin, plant extracts, silicones
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Fragrance allergens and undisclosed fragrance components
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
More foundation & primer grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.