PFAS75/ 100Excellent
Overall63/ 100Good
Dior Forever Hydra Nude Foundation

Dior · Makeup

Dior Forever Hydra Nude Foundation

Excellent

Lower concern; liquid cosmetics rarely use intentional PFAS, but disclosure lacking.

Verdict · BuyLiquid foundation with no documented hazard reports; standard cosmetic formulation poses minimal risk if used as directed.

Dior does not disclose PFAS presence or absence. Liquid foundations typically use water and silicones rather than fluorinated compounds, suggesting lower risk, though no independent testing publicly available.

Check price on Amazon →

We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade

Material

liquid foundation with water, silicones, polymers, pigments

Brand disclosure

Brand is silent on PFAS

Lab data

No public lab test

You may also be interested in

Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.

  • polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial growth in spent cartridges

3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

  • RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters

4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

Avocado Vegan Mattress

Avocado

Vegan Mattress

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ MADE SAFE Certified✓ Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)
  • organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Heavy metals

2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

What Dior Forever Hydra Nude Foundation is made of, ingredients and materials

Dior Forever Hydra Nude is a water-based liquid foundation containing silicones (for smoothness), polymers (for film-forming and longevity), glycerin (humectant), and iron oxide/titanium dioxide pigments (colorants). The silicone base is inert on skin and does not penetrate into deeper layers; water is the primary vehicle, reducing the concentration of any individual chemical concern. No intentional flame retardants, formaldehyde-releasing preservatives, or banned azo dyes appear in the disclosed ingredient list.

What’s concerning

♾️

Category baseline

The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.

80/ 100
♾️

No PFAS disclosure

No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.

85/ 100
🏷️

Fragrance allergens and undisclosed fragrance components

Dior lists 'fragrance' as a single ingredient rather than breaking down specific fragrance compounds. Cosmetic fragrance blends can contain allergenic compounds (limonene, linalool, etc.) not individually itemized; risk is low for most users but relevant for fragrance-sensitive individuals or those with atopic dermatitis.

70/ 100
⚠️

Silicone accumulation and skin barrier effects

Cyclomethicone and dimethicone in this formula are occlusive and do not penetrate skin but may build up over time if not thoroughly cleansed daily. For most users this is cosmetically inert; however, individuals prone to acne or sensitive to occlusive products may experience congestion with prolonged use without adequate makeup removal.

70/ 100
🫧

Microplastics

Acrylates and other film-forming polymers in liquid foundations are not inherently microplastics when applied, but degradation of the dried film and subsequent shedding could contribute microscopically to environmental load. This is a category-wide concern for liquid foundations rather than a specific defect in Dior's formulation.

Source, EPA ↗
70/ 100

What’s reassuring

✅

Base material not linked to PFAS

The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.

100/ 100
✅

1,4-dioxane contamination in preservative systems

No specific 1,4-dioxane has been reported in this product or in Dior's cosmetic line. However, 1,4-dioxane can be a trace contaminant in ethoxylated ingredients used in some cosmetics; independent testing would be required to confirm absence, and Dior does not disclose such testing.

95/ 100
⛏️

Heavy metals

Iron oxides and titanium dioxide (CI 77891, CI 77499) are approved colorants in cosmetics and are not bioavailable when applied topically to skin. No documented heavy metal contamination (lead, cadmium) has been reported in Dior Forever Hydra Nude; these pigments meet EU and FDA cosmetic safety standards.

Source, FDA ↗
95/ 100

How is this PFAS grade calculated?

The brand's record and disclosure

Dior Beauty does not publicly disclose PFAS testing or stance on intentional PFAS avoidance, which is consistent with most luxury cosmetic brands. The brand has not faced significant documented safety recalls or controversies specific to this foundation line. Ingredient lists are available on retailer sites and Dior's website, though full fragrance components are listed as 'fragrance' rather than individually named.

How it compares in its category

Dior Forever Hydra Nude sits in the premium liquid foundation segment; its silicone-water hybrid formula is standard for high-end foundations and carries the same safety profile as mid-range alternatives (e.g., MAC Face and Body, Estée Lauder Double Wear). The 'Hydra' designation emphasizes hydration rather than any novel technology, so chemical exposure profile is typical for the category. No independent testing has flagged this product as above or below category norm for contaminants.

If you buy it

Apply with clean hands or brushes to minimize bacterial introduction; store away from direct sunlight and heat (above 25C/77F is not ideal for cosmetic stability, though temperatures in normal indoor storage pose no acute risk). Discard after 12 months of opening, as water-based formulas can develop microbial growth if contaminated. Patch test on inner arm first if you have sensitive skin or fragrance sensitivities, since the disclosed fragrance component may trigger irritation in susceptible individuals.

What is not known about PFAS in this product?

Basis
Model estimate, 72% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
Dior has made none

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

More makeup grades

How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.