MILTON 22 cm 1.4 Litre Induction Fry Pan, Is It Non-Toxic?
Skip until Milton discloses coating; nonstick poses PFAS risk.
Milton doesn't reveal what nonstick coating this induction pan has, and without Teflon-type coating-free or PFAS-free certification, forever chemical exposure during cooking can't be ruled out.
The better-graded swap
Heritage Steel
Heritage Steel Fry Pan 8.5"
100/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
Nonstick coating, type unspecified
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Is MILTON 22 cm 1.4 Litre Induction Fry Pan non-toxic? What it is made of
This is a 22 cm nonstick fry pan with unspecified coating chemistry. Milton does not publicly disclose whether the nonstick layer is Teflon-type coating-based (traditional Teflon), ceramic, or hybrid. The base appears to be suitable for induction, suggesting either stainless steel or ferromagnetic composite. Without coating identification, you cannot assess whether PFAS-containing PFAS "forever chemicals" are present. The 1.4 litre capacity and shallow profile suggest moderate-temperature cooking suitability.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Non-stick, chemistry undisclosed
Marketed as non-stick without stating the coating chemistry.
Teflon-type coating fume inhalation risk (if Teflon-type coating-based coating)
Nonstick coating type is not disclosed. If Teflon-type coating-based, overheating above 500F (260C) can decompose the polymer and release toxic fluorinated gases (Teflon-type coating fume fever). Milton provides no temperature warning or material specification.
Coating degradation and microparticle release
Budget nonstick coatings degrade faster than premium formulations. Scratches, dishwasher use, and metal utensils accelerate flaking. Ingested nonstick particles have unknown long-term health effects but are not absorbed systemically.
Lack of safety certification or third-party testing
Milton does not advertise compliance with CPSIA, EU chemical regulations, or independent safety certifications. This is not a violation but increases uncertainty about manufacturing controls and material sourcing.
What’s reassuring
Lead
No recalls or test results are on record for Milton cookware in this category. Induction cookware bases are less likely to carry heavy-metal glazes than decorative stoneware, but testing is not publicly available.
Source, ATSDR ↗Aluminum leaching (if composite base)
Induction compatibility may indicate a ferromagnetic composite or stainless base rather than pure aluminum, reducing leaching risk. Material composition is not disclosed by the brand.
How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Milton is an Indian kitchenware manufacturer with limited publicly available safety documentation in English-language sources. The brand has not issued statements on PFAS use, Teflon-type coating sourcing, or third-party safety certifications (such as GOTS, CPSIA, or independent heavy-metals testing). No major recalls specific to this model or Milton nonstick cookware are documented in public databases, but absence of disclosure is itself a transparency gap. Many regional manufacturers do not meet European or North American chemical labeling standards.
How it compares in its category
Budget induction fry pans in this price tier often use traditional Teflon-type coating or unspecified nonstick coatings without PFAS-free certification. Premium alternatives from established brands (Scanpan, GreenPan, Our Place) explicitly market PFOA-free or ceramic coatings. Milton's lack of transparency places it in the middle-risk category for nonstick cookware, neither worst-case (unbranded third-party) nor best-case (certified PFAS-free). Stainless steel or well-seasoned cast iron are lower concern alternatives if PFAS avoidance is a priority.
If you buy it
Never heat beyond medium-high; nonstick fumes from degraded Teflon-type coating coatings release at 500F (260C). Hand-wash only; dishwashers accelerate coating wear. Inspect regularly for scratches, peeling, or discoloration. Replace within 3-5 years or immediately if coating shows damage; damaged nonstick releases particles and potential fume precursors. Avoid acidic or abrasive foods on the nonstick side. Ensure kitchen ventilation during cooking to disperse any degradation byproducts.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 35% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Milton has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to MILTON 22 cm 1.4 Litre Induction Fry Pan?
- Stainless steel clad construction, no nonstick coating
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Clad separation or delamination over time
- stainless steel clad construction, no nonstick coating
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Nickel leaching from stainless steel
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- Clad stainless steel, no coating
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Metal ion release during cooking (iron, nickel, chromium)
More cookware grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.