Redken Volume Injection Conditioner
Low-Medium risk. Standard rinse-off product with no known PFAS drivers.
This rinse-off conditioner has no disclosed PFAS ingredients or water-repellent coating/stain-resistant treatments, relying instead on standard conditioning polymers and emollients. Redken provides no PFAS transparency and third-party testing is unavailable.
We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade
Material
water-based conditioning polymers, emollients, surfactants
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Redken Volume Injection Conditioner is made of, ingredients and materials
Redken Volume Injection Conditioner is formulated primarily with water, conditioning polymers (likely acrylates or silicones), emollients, and standard cosmetic surfactants. These ingredients are designed to coat and smooth the hair shaft rather than penetrate skin, which significantly reduces systemic absorption risk compared to leave-on products. The water-based matrix means volatile organic compounds are minimal, and the rinse-off application pattern (seconds to minutes on wet hair) limits skin and scalp contact time.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Fragrance allergens and irritants
Redken formulations typically contain fragrance blends (not specified as essential oils or synthetic); fragrance is a known contact allergen affecting 1-3% of the general population, particularly those with sensitive scalps or atopic dermatitis. Rinse-off format limits exposure compared to leave-on products.
Silicone buildup and scalp irritation
Silicone-based conditioners can accumulate on hair and scalp over weeks of use, potentially trapping moisture and bacteria; this is a use-pattern risk rather than inherent toxicity. Risk is mitigated by periodic clarifying shampoo use (every 2-4 weeks) and is not established as a systemic health hazard.
What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
1,4-dioxane contamination
No documented or reported cases of 1,4-dioxane in Redken Volume Injection Conditioner. However, this impurity can form during manufacture of polyethylene glycol-based emulsifiers if not tightly controlled; Redken does not publish manufacturing controls or third-party testing for this contaminant.
Heavy metals
Standard cosmetic-grade preservatives and FDA-approved colorants carry minimal heavy metal risk at cosmetic use levels. No recalls or independent testing have identified lead, cadmium, or arsenic in Redken conditioners, though the brand does not disclose third-party heavy metal testing.
Source, FDA ↗Formaldehyde / VOCs
Redken does not appear to use imidazolidinyl urea, dmdm hydantoin, or other formaldehyde-releasing preservatives in this product line based on available ingredient lists, though the brand does not formally certify formaldehyde-releaser-free status.
Source, ATSDR ↗How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Redken (L'Oreal subsidiary) does not publicly disclose formulation details, allergen-testing protocols, or independent safety certifications for this product line. The brand does not advertise paraben-free, sulfate-free, or fragrance-transparency commitments as standard practice. No recalls or regulatory warnings have been issued for this specific product in publicly available sources. Redken relies on compliance with FDA and EU cosmetic regulations rather than proactive ingredient transparency.
How it compares in its category
Volume conditioners in this price range typically use identical polymer and silicone-based conditioning systems; Redken's formulation is conventional for mass-market hair care. Brands like SheaMoisture and Cantu offer similar conditioning performance with slightly higher transparency on botanical ingredients, though efficacy data does not show material safety differences. Prestige and salon-only alternatives (Olaplex, Briogeo) market cleaner ingredient lists but at 2-3x cost without established superiority in toxicological safety.
If you buy it
Apply only to damp hair lengths and ends, rinse thoroughly within 2-3 minutes, and avoid contact with eyes and broken skin. Do not apply heat (blow dryers, straighteners) immediately after; allow hair to air-dry for 10 minutes first to prevent localized heating of residual product. Discontinue use if scalp irritation or contact dermatitis develops; fragrance sensitivity is the most common adverse reaction in this category. No special storage precautions needed beyond standard room temperature away from direct sunlight.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 72% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Redken has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Redken Volume Injection Conditioner?
- Water, conditioning agents, organic plant extracts
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Heavy metals
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- water-based conditioner, typical surfactants and botanical extracts
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Heavy metals
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
More conditioner grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.