Clinique Sun Protection Face Cream
Waterproof cosmetics carry PFAS risk; no brand disclosure given.
Clinique makes no public PFAS statement here. Waterproof sunscreen formulations commonly use water-resistant coatings that may contain fluorinated compounds.
The safe swap
Raw Elements
Raw Elements Eco Formula SPF 30 Sunscreen
100/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
emulsion base with waterproofing additives
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
What’s concerning
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
Water-repellent treatments have historically contained PFAS chemicals.
No PFAS disclosure
The company has not publicly discussed PFAS in this product.
Category baseline
cosmetics is a category where PFAS exposure is more common.
PFAS
Waterproof cosmetics formulations commonly use fluorinated polymers or perfluorinated compounds to achieve water resistance. Clinique has not disclosed waterproofing chemistry; absence of disclosure in a waterproof product is not absence of risk.
Source: ATSDR ↗Preservative allergens and sensitizers
Emulsion-based cosmetics require preservatives; common ones (parabens, phenoxyethanol, methylisothiazolinone) are frequent contact irritants in sensitive facial skin. Clinique formulations typically use preservative blends that may not suit all skin types, particularly on compromised or eczema-prone skin.
UV filter skin penetration
Chemical UV absorbers (oxybenzone, avobenzone, octinoxate) have been detected in systemic circulation in some users after topical application. FDA has classified most chemical sunscreen actives as requiring more safety data. Risk is not acute, but repeated daily use over years warrants awareness.
Fragrance/essential oil allergenicity
Clinique Sun Protection Face Cream contains fragrance; the brand does not typically disclose fragrance components as individual allergens. Synthetic fragrances are common facial irritants and can trigger reactions in sensitive, acne-prone, or rosacea-affected skin.
What’s reassuring
Microplastic beads or synthetic polymers
No evidence of microbeads in this product. However, silicone and acrylic polymer film-formers used in waterproof sunscreens can accumulate on skin and require thorough cleansing to avoid clogged pores.
The full breakdown
What it's made of and why it matters
Clinique Sun Protection Face Cream is an oil-in-water emulsion designed to stay on skin during water exposure. The waterproofing mechanism typically relies on silicones, film-forming polymers, and historically fluorinated compounds (PFAS) to repel water. Emulsion-based sunscreens also contain UV filters (likely organic/chemical absorbers such as avobenzone or octinoxate), preservatives, and humectants. The formulation's water resistance is the critical variable: true waterproofing often correlates with fluorinated ingredient use, which the brand has not publicly disclosed.
The brand's record and disclosure
Clinique (Estée Lauder subsidiary) has not made public commitments to PFAS elimination or disclosure in suncare products. The brand maintains no published ingredient lists specific to chemical sunscreen UV filters or waterproofing additives on most regional product pages. No third-party certifications (such as EWG Verified, USDA Organic, or Clean Beauty standard seals) are marketed for this sunscreen. This silence on fluorinated ingredients in a waterproof product is a transparency gap, not a confirmed absence of PFAS.
How it compares in its category
Most waterproof face sunscreens in the luxury/dermatology segment (La Roche-Posay, CeraVe, Neutrogena) face identical PFAS risk if formulated for water resistance without public ingredient disclosure. Physical sunscreens (zinc oxide, titanium dioxide) can avoid PFAS entirely but are less aesthetically elegant. Clinique's position is middle-of-the-road: no worse than typical premium brands, but no better without transparency. Competitor brands at similar price points increasingly disclose UV filter types; Clinique does not.
If you buy it
Apply sunscreen to clean, dry skin 15 minutes before sun exposure, using enough to cover face and neck fully (approximately one-quarter teaspoon for face alone). Reapply every 2 hours or immediately after swimming or heavy sweating. Remove with a gentle cleanser or micellar water at end of day; emulsion-based products can leave residue if not fully cleansed. Store in a cool, dry place away from direct heat; sunscreen efficacy degrades over time, so replace annually or if the product separates or smells off.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 42% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Clinique has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
Safer alternatives in Sunscreen
Goddess Garden
Natural Sunscreen SPF 30 6 oz
mineral-based UV filters, plant-derived waxes
Fragrance allergens and undisclosed fragrance components
Limited concern
Skin irritation or photosensitivity from plant oils
Limited concern
Lower-concern mineral sunscreen backed by credible PFAS-exclusion certification.
✓Verified PFAS-free by a third party
Raw Elements
Eco Formula SPF 30 Sunscreen
mineral sunscreen (zinc oxide, titanium dioxide)
Heavy metals
Limited concern
Photocatalytic activity of titanium dioxide in sunlight
Limited concern
Skin irritation or sensitivity to mineral film
Limited concern
Low risk. Mineral sunscreen backed by third-party verification, no fluorochemical history.
✓Verified PFAS-free by a third party
Raw Elements
Face & Body Sunscreen Tin SPF 30
mineral sunscreen (zinc oxide/titanium dioxide), tin packaging
Epoxy resin coating in tin lining
Limited concern
Fragrance allergens
Limited concern
Nano particle inhalation from loose powder form
Limited concern
Low risk. Mineral formula plus explicit PFAS-free stance and certs lower concern.
✓Verified PFAS-free by a third party
More sunscreen grades
How we score: every product runs through the same public 0–100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.