Clinique UV Solutions Brightening + Tinted Sunscreen
Waterproof formula raises concern; Clinique silent on PFAS status.
Tinted waterproof sunscreens likely use polymers to lock color and UV protection to skin, but exact ingredients remain unclear. No public PFAS disclosure from Clinique.
The safe swap
Vanicream
Vanicream Facial Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 30
90/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
sunscreen lotion with unspecified waterproof binders
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
What’s concerning
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
Water-repellent treatments have historically contained PFAS chemicals.
No PFAS disclosure
The company has not publicly discussed PFAS in this product.
Category baseline
cosmetics is a category where PFAS exposure is more common.
Fragrance allergens and undisclosed fragrance components
Clinique sunscreens typically contain fragrance, which is listed as a single ingredient without component breakdown. Fragrance mixtures can trigger contact dermatitis or photosensitivity in sensitive users, especially in a sun-exposure product.
1,4-dioxane as a trace contaminant in surfactants and emulsifiers
Waterproof lotion formulas rely on ethoxylated emulsifiers and surfactants that can carry 1,4-dioxane as a manufacturing byproduct. Clinique does not disclose whether raw materials are distilled to remove this contaminant.
Formaldehyde / VOCs
Waterproof lotions require robust preservation; some formulas use imidazolidinyl urea or dmdm hydantoin, which release trace formaldehyde over time. Clinique ingredient lists do not always disclose these clearly.
Source: ATSDR ↗What’s reassuring
Heavy metals
Iron oxides used for tint are regulated cosmetic colorants with low systemic absorption; no recalls or contamination reports for Clinique tinted sunscreens. Regulatory limits for lead and cadmium in colorants are enforced in the US and EU.
Source: FDA ↗Talc or talc-adjacent mineral contaminants
No talc is listed in typical Clinique tinted sunscreen formulas, and the company discontinued talc use in most cosmetics years ago. Risk is minimal but verify full ingredient list for mineral powder bases.
The full breakdown
What it's made of and why it matters
This is a tinted sunscreen lotion with unspecified waterproof binders, meaning the formula likely contains film-forming polymers or silicones to maintain SPF efficacy during water exposure. Waterproof cosmetics often rely on Teflon-family coating or fluorinated compounds to repel water, which raises PFAS concern per the separate grading. The tint component suggests iron oxides or synthetic colorants, which are generally safe but not disclosed in typical marketing materials.
The brand's record and disclosure
Clinique (Estee Lauder subsidiary) does not publicly disclose PFAS use or avoidance in sunscreens, despite waterproof claims that historically correlate with PFAS presence in cosmetics. The brand has no published commitment to PFAS phase-out. No recalls or reported contamination issues specific to this product are on public record, but silence on PFAS status is notable given industry movement toward transparency.
How it compares in its category
Tinted mineral sunscreens (zinc oxide, titanium dioxide) are broadly considered lower-PFAS alternatives, but this product's 'waterproof' claim and lack of mineral-only labeling suggest a chemical or hybrid formula. Many mass-market tinted sunscreens share similar disclosure gaps. Third-party certified options (e.g., EWG Verified, Reef Safe) typically provide more ingredient transparency than Clinique's standard marketing.
If you buy it
Apply generously and reapply after swimming or sweating; waterproof claims typically hold for 40-80 minutes. Store in a cool, dry place away from direct heat to preserve binder integrity. Discontinue use if skin irritation develops. If PFAS exposure concerns you, contact Clinique customer service to request ingredient sourcing details before purchase, or consider switching to a brand with explicit PFAS-free or mineral-only sunscreen.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Clinique has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
Safer alternatives in Sunscreen
Goddess Garden
Natural Sunscreen SPF 30 6 oz
mineral-based UV filters, plant-derived waxes
Fragrance allergens and undisclosed fragrance components
Limited concern
Skin irritation or photosensitivity from plant oils
Limited concern
Lower-concern mineral sunscreen backed by credible PFAS-exclusion certification.
✓Verified PFAS-free by a third party
Raw Elements
Eco Formula SPF 30 Sunscreen
mineral sunscreen (zinc oxide, titanium dioxide)
Heavy metals
Limited concern
Photocatalytic activity of titanium dioxide in sunlight
Limited concern
Skin irritation or sensitivity to mineral film
Limited concern
Low risk. Mineral sunscreen backed by third-party verification, no fluorochemical history.
✓Verified PFAS-free by a third party
Raw Elements
Face & Body Sunscreen Tin SPF 30
mineral sunscreen (zinc oxide/titanium dioxide), tin packaging
Epoxy resin coating in tin lining
Limited concern
Fragrance allergens
Limited concern
Nano particle inhalation from loose powder form
Limited concern
Low risk. Mineral formula plus explicit PFAS-free stance and certs lower concern.
✓Verified PFAS-free by a third party
More sunscreen grades
How we score: every product runs through the same public 0–100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.