PFAS25/ 100Poor
Overall13/ 100Bad
Katbite Butcher Paper Roll

Katbite · Deli Meat & Cold Cuts Packaging

Katbite Butcher Paper Roll

Poor

Paper likely coated for grease resistance; PFAS risk remains unclear without disclosure.

Verdict · SkipButcher paper is appropriate for cold/room-temp food contact, but grease-resistant coating chemistry is undisclosed; use below 400°F and avoid direct flame.

Katbite butcher paper is designed for grease resistance, a typical application for PFAS coatings. The brand discloses nothing about PFAS, leaving assessment difficult.

The better-graded swap

LEM 15" Freezer Paper Cutter

LEM

LEM 15" Freezer Paper Cutter

80/100 safety

80Excellent

Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.

Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.

Material

paper with grease-resistant coating

Brand disclosure

Brand is silent on PFAS

Lab data

No public lab test

What’s concerning

♾️

Category baseline

The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.

75/ 100
♾️

No PFAS disclosure

No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.

85/ 100
♾️

Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment

Water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.

65/ 100
🏷️

Grease-resistant coating leachables (undisclosed chemistry)

The coating formulation is not disclosed; historical butcher papers used PFAS or mineral waxes. Without testing data or ingredient transparency from Compactor, leaching risk under heat or into fatty foods cannot be ruled out.

70/ 100
🍳

Thermal instability of coating above 350-400°F

If the coating is synthetic (wax-based or polymer-based), heating to oven temperatures may cause off-gassing or breakdown. No thermal safety data is published for this product.

70/ 100
🫧

Microplastic or coating particle migration with abrasion

If the coating is a polymer-based grease barrier, repeated creasing, folding, or contact with food surfaces could shed microscopic particles. Risk is low if paper remains intact and unheated.

70/ 100

What’s reassuring

Moisture absorption and mold growth if stored improperly

Paper-based products can absorb humidity and support mold, but this is a storage-dependent issue, not a product defect. Katbite rolls have no known mold contamination records.

95/ 100

Ink or printing residues on outer packaging

The rolls themselves are food-contact; outer packaging inks are not a direct hazard. No print migration issues have been reported for this product.

95/ 100

The full breakdown

What it's made of and why it matters

Katbite butcher paper is cellulose paper with an applied grease-resistant coating, typically on one or both sides. The base paper itself is food-safe, but the coating composition is not publicly disclosed by the brand. Grease-resistant coatings on food-contact papers historically used PFOA/PFAS or wax; without transparency, the exact chemistry remains unclear. The coating's thermal stability and potential leaching under heat are unknown factors for this specific product.

The brand's record and disclosure

Compactor (the parent brand for Katbite) does not publicly disclose coating chemistry, certifications (such as FDA compliance letters), or PFAS testing results for this butcher paper roll. No formal recalls or safety controversies have been documented for this specific product. The brand's silent stance on PFAS and coating materials limits independent assessment of safety margins.

How it compares in its category

Katbite butcher paper is typical mid-market pricing for food-contact rolls; direct competitors (Walton's, Orchids, branded butcher papers) similarly lack transparent coating disclosure. Some premium alternatives (uncoated kraft paper, food-grade silicone baking mats) avoid coated-paper chemistry entirely but sacrifice grease-resistance. FDA-listed facilities may be more transparent about their coating sources than Compactor currently is.

If you buy it

Keep paper away from direct flame and limit exposure to temperatures above 350-400°F to avoid coating degradation or off-gassing. Use for wrapping raw or cooked foods at rest; avoid prolonged contact with very hot foods (above 200°F) fresh from the oven. Replace rolls after 1-2 years or if paper becomes crumbly, discolored, or emits odors. Store in a cool, dry place to prevent moisture absorption and coating breakdown.

What we don’t know

Basis
Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
Katbite has made none

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

Better-graded alternatives in Deli Meat & Cold Cuts Packaging

Idl Packaging White Butcher Paper 18" x 12000" Natural Butcher Paper Roll for Meat and Fish

IDL Packaging

White Butcher Paper 18" x 12000" Natural Butcher Paper Roll for Meat and Fish

natural kraft butcher paper, no coating specified

PFAS Grade95Excellent
Overall Grade87Excellent
⚠️

Bleach residue and chlorine compounds

Limited concern

70
⚠️

Mold or microbial contamination in storage

Limited concern

70

Brand PFAS statement on record, which we have not verified.

Starting grade for this product type

LEM 15" Freezer Paper Cutter

LEM

15" Freezer Paper Cutter

stainless steel blade, bare metal construction

PFAS Grade80Excellent
Overall Grade72Good
🫧

Blade degradation and metal particle shedding

Limited concern

70
⚠️

Food residue entrapment in joints

Limited concern

70

Lower concern. Bare metal tool with no coatings identified.

Starting grade for this product type

Oscar Mayer Smoked Ham & Turkey Sub Kit

Oscar Mayer

Smoked Ham & Turkey Sub Kit

plastic film wrapper; likely PE or PP film

PFAS Grade70Good
Overall Grade56Good
⛏️

Plastic film leaching under heating

Limited concern

70
⚠️

Pathogenic bacterial growth if seal compromised

Moderate concern

45

Lower concern for food item, but packaging PFAS risk is modest and not ruled out.

Starting grade for this product type

More deli meat & cold cuts packaging grades

How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.