PFAS65/ 100Good
Overall57/ 100Good
Crop Shop Boutique Freedom Vera Crop

crop shop · Activewear

Crop Shop Boutique Freedom Vera Crop

Good

Unadorned cotton crop has lower PFAS concern; no dyes or finishes specified.

Verdict · SkipCotton-blend crop with good PFAS profile; no formaldehyde, azo dye, or flame-retardant concerns on record. Standard apparel care sufficient.

A basic crop top with no disclosed treatments, finishes, or coatings. Cotton itself is lower concern unless dyed or treated with water/stain repellents, which are not mentioned.

Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.

Material

Cotton or cotton-blend crop top

Brand disclosure

Brand is silent on PFAS

Lab data

No public lab test

You may also be interested in

Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.

3M Aqua-Pure AP802B Whole House Filter Housing

Aqua Pure

3M Aqua-Pure AP802B Whole House Filter Housing

95ExcellentPFAS grade
  • polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial growth in spent cartridges

3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.

AQUASURE Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

Aquasure

Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

100ExcellentPFAS grade
  • RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters

4 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.

Avocado Vegan Mattress

Avocado

Vegan Mattress

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ MADE SAFE Certified✓ Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)
  • organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Heavy metals

2 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.

What Crop Shop Boutique Freedom Vera Crop is made of, ingredients and materials

This is a cotton or cotton-blend crop top with no specialty finishes, waterproofing, or performance coatings named in the product description. Cotton fiber itself does not bioaccumulate hazardous chemicals during wear. The concern shifts to dyes used during manufacturing and any finishing resins applied to the finished fabric. Because the brand context does not specify dye chemistry, reactive dye type, or resin treatment, the material class carries baseline textile processing risk common to low-cost casual apparel.

What’s concerning

♾️

Category baseline

The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.

70/ 100
♾️

No PFAS disclosure

No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.

85/ 100
💨

Formaldehyde / VOCs

Cotton blends sometimes receive formaldehyde-based wrinkle-resist or shrinkage finishes during manufacturing. No finish type is specified for this product, so presence cannot be ruled out. Standard washing reduces residual formaldehyde to negligible levels.

Source, ATSDR ↗
70/ 100
🎨

Azo dyes and metabolites

Azo dyes (which can cleave into carcinogenic amines under sweat and UV) are still used in low-cost apparel. Crop Shop has not disclosed dye chemistry. Risk is during manufacturing and handling; dermal absorption during wear of finished garments is low if dyes are properly fixed.

70/ 100

What’s reassuring

✅

Base material not linked to PFAS

The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.

100/ 100
✅

Antimony in polyester component

Antimony is a catalyst in polyester synthesis. If this crop is pure cotton or cotton-dominant blend with minimal synthetic content, antimony exposure is not a concern. No polyester-heavy blend is named in the product context.

95/ 100
🧠

Lead

Heavy-metal contamination of textile dyes is rare in apparel sold in major markets but possible in unregulated supply chains. No recalls or test failures are on record for Crop Shop. This reflects category-wide risk, not brand-specific evidence.

Source, ATSDR ↗
95/ 100
✅

Fragrance sensitizers or undisclosed allergens

This product is described as an unadorned crop with no fragrance, finish scent, or perfumed treatment mentioned. Standard textile processing does not introduce fragrance allergens unless the brand uses scented softeners or finishing sprays, which is not documented here.

95/ 100

The full breakdown

The brand's record and disclosure

Crop Shop has no publicly documented certifications (GOTS, OEKO-TEX, Bluesign) or hazardous-chemical disclosure policies on record. The brand maintains silence on PFAS use, formaldehyde-resin finishes, or azo-dye sourcing. No recalls or safety violations have been established for this brand. The lack of transparency reflects typical fast-fashion production practice rather than flagged non-compliance.

How it compares in its category

Standard unadorned cotton crop tops occupy the lower-risk end of apparel if unfinished or finished only with common reactive dyes. Crop Shop's product carries no known premium certifications (organic cotton, low-impact dyes), placing it in the mass-market tier where formaldehyde-resin wrinkle-resist and antimony-catalyzed polyester blending are possible but not confirmed. It does not appear to use elastane, spandex, or antimony-heavy synthetics.

If you buy it

Wash before first wear in cool water to remove any residual dyes or finishing agents. Use gentle detergent and avoid chlorine bleach, which can stress cotton fibers and release dye. Air dry or use low heat; high dryer temperatures can set any residual chemical deposits. Replace when elastic degrades or seams fail, not due to chemical aging of uncoated cotton.

What we don’t know

Basis
Model estimate, 72% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
crop shop has made none

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

More activewear grades

How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.