Glossier Makeup
Low-medium risk. Minimal water-resistance features reduce PFAS need.
Glossier makeup focuses on buildable, natural finishes rather than extreme water resistance or durability claims. This approach typically avoids PFAS-heavy formulations.
The better-graded swap
Bare Minerals
bareMinerals Mineral Makeup
100/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Glossier Makeup is made of, ingredients and materials
Glossier's makeup formulations typically contain talc or talc-free mineral bases, emollients (silicones or plant oils), iron oxides and mica for pigmentation, and fragrance blends. The brand has not published full chemical composition or third-party safety testing summaries for individual SKUs. Talc sourcing and fragrance allergen disclosure remain opaque across their product range.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
Vague safety claims only
Uses vague language ("eco-friendly", "clean") without a specific PFAS statement.
Talc contamination and respirable mineral risk
Glossier does not publicly disclose talc-free certification or asbestos testing for any products using talc. Historical contamination in talc deposits remains a regulatory concern; products applied near lips or inhaled (powders, blush) carry low but non-zero risk if talc sourcing is unvetted.
Fragrance allergen disclosure gaps
Glossier lists 'fragrance' as a single ingredient without naming constituent allergens (e.g., limonene, linalool, eugenol). Consumers with known fragrance sensitivities cannot assess safety before purchase; EU regulations require allergen labeling, but US does not.
Heavy metals
Iron oxides and mica used in Glossier eyeshadows, blushes, and foundations are not independently tested for lead, cadmium, or arsenic on published materials. The brand does not provide ICP-MS (inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry) test certificates that are standard for premium color cosmetics.
Source, FDA ↗1,4-dioxane in emulsifiers or surfactants
Glossier does not disclose whether emulsifiers are 1,4-dioxane-free or vacuum-stripped. This contaminant is possible in polysorbates and PEG compounds but not disclosed without detailed material safety data sheets.
What’s reassuring
Formaldehyde / VOCs
No evidence that Glossier uses DMDM hydantoin, imidazolidinyl urea, or other formaldehyde-releasing preservatives in current formulations, though ingredient lists do not always distinguish preservative type.
Source, ATSDR ↗How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Glossier does not publish ingredient safety certifications (e.g., EU banned substance lists, heavy metal testing) on consumer-facing materials. The brand markets itself as 'clean beauty' but has not independently verified PFAS-free status or conducted disclosed dermal sensitization trials. No recalls or regulatory actions against Glossier cosmetics are on public record in the US or EU, but their transparency record is below industry leaders like Beautycounter or Ilia.
How it compares in its category
Glossier sits in the premium indie-beauty tier where ingredient disclosure varies widely. Most direct competitors (Rare Beauty, Rhode Beauty) similarly lack full formulation transparency. Brands with certified clean formulations (Kosas, RMS Beauty) undergo stricter third-party vetting and publish heavy metal and PFAS test results; Glossier does not.
If you buy it
Patch test new products on inner arm 48 hours before full application, especially if you have fragrance sensitivity or atopic dermatitis. Avoid contact with eyes and broken skin. Store in cool, dry conditions away from direct sunlight to prevent pigment or emollient degradation. Discard if color, smell, or texture changes unexpectedly, or after 12 months of opening.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 100% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Glossier has made a specific claim
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Glossier Makeup?
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Lead
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Fragrance allergens and essential oils
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
More cosmetics grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.