Total Home · Grease-Resistant Butcher & Deli Paper
CVS Total Home Parchment Paper 30 ct
Parchment paper likely has water/grease coating; treatment composition unclear.
Parchment paper is typically coated for grease resistance, but this brand won't say whether the treatment contains PFAS. Coating composition and source remain unknown.
The better-graded swap
If You Care
If You Care Parchment Baking Paper
90/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
silicone-coated paper (grease-resistant treatment unspecified)
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What CVS Total Home Parchment Paper 30 ct is made of, ingredients and materials
CVS Total Home Parchment Paper is paper coated with silicone to create a grease and moisture barrier. The exact composition of the silicone treatment is not disclosed by the manufacturer. Silicone coatings are generally considered inert at normal baking temperatures (up to 420-450°F), but the coating can degrade if overheated or damaged, potentially allowing paper fibers or coating breakdown products to contact food.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
Water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.
Silicone coating degradation and migration
Overheating above manufacturer limits or repeated use at high temperatures can degrade the silicone barrier. No specific migration data for this product is publicly available, but degraded coatings may transfer silicone oligomers or paper dust to food.
Contaminant absorption from environment
Parchment paper can absorb odors and oils from storage conditions. If stored near solvents, cleaners, or strong-smelling foods, migration into baked goods is theoretically possible, though likelihood is low under normal home storage.
Microplastics
If the silicone coating flakes or peels during use (especially at high heat or with mechanical stress), small particles may shed into food. This is a wear-and-tear issue, not a manufacturing defect, but risk increases with product age and misuse.
Source, EPA ↗What’s reassuring
Bleach or processing chemical residues in paper
Manufacturer does not disclose bleaching method or residual processing chemicals. Standard FDA-compliant food-contact paper has lower concern, but unbleached or chlorine-free alternatives are not advertised for this product.
How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Kroger (the actual brand owner, as CVS Total Home is a Kroger house label) does not publicly disclose detailed material safety data or certifications for this parchment product. The brand has not made specific statements about PFAS avoidance in baking papers. Standard food-contact parchment is regulated by the FDA, but manufacturer transparency on coating additives or PFAS status remains limited across the category.
How it compares in its category
Silicone-coated parchment is the dominant market standard for home baking and has lower concern than older bleached/clay-coated papers for high-heat use. This product is mid-tier pricing and offers no stated premium safety certifications (e.g., certified PFAS-free, compostable, or third-party tested). Unbleached or specialty parchments marketed as PFAS-free or with transparent ingredient disclosures exist but are typically more expensive.
If you buy it
Use at temperatures below 420°F to avoid coating breakdown; do not broil or expose to direct flame. Replace sheets if they show browning, tears, or flaking. Store in a cool, dry place away from oils and strong odors, as silicone can absorb fragrances. For prolonged high-heat cooking, consider alternatives like silicone mats or cast iron with oil.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Total Home has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to CVS Total Home Parchment Paper 30 ct?
IDL Packaging
White Butcher Paper 18" x 12000" Natural Butcher Paper Roll for Meat and Fish
- unbleached natural kraft paper
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Mold or microbial growth
- unbleached parchment paper, silicone coating
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Silicone coating degradation under heat stress
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- Silicone-coated parchment paper
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Silicone coating degradation at high heat
More grease-resistant butcher & deli paper grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.