Maxfli · Golf Balls & Equipment
Maxfli 2026 Honors Golf Glove
Unknown water-repellent coating treatment on golf glove, brand silent on PFAS.
Golf gloves typically receive water-resistant or moisture-wicking treatments often based on PFAS, but Maxfli provides no information.
The better-graded swap
Cobra
Cobra PUR Tour
85/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
Leather/synthetic with moisture-wicking treatment
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Maxfli 2026 Honors Golf Glove is made of, ingredients and materials
The Maxfli 2026 Honors combines leather (likely goat or sheep skin) with synthetic materials and an applied moisture-wicking treatment. Leather itself is relatively stable and low-risk when untreated, but the finishing chemicals applied during tanning and the moisture-wicking coating introduce potential concern points. The synthetic components and wicking treatment are the main variables; their specific chemical composition is not publicly disclosed by Maxfli.
What’s concerning
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
Water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.
Formaldehyde / VOCs
Leather tanning and water-proofing processes sometimes use formaldehyde-based resins; Maxfli does not disclose tannery standards or formaldehyde testing. Glove-hand contact is low-risk compared to direct skin absorption, and volatilization during normal use is minimal.
Source, ATSDR ↗Coating degradation and microparticle release
The moisture-wicking treatment will break down with use and washing. Degraded coating particles may shed; composition unknown, so long-term inhalation or ingestion risk cannot be quantified. This is a concern common to all treated textile gloves.
What’s reassuring
Azo dyes in leather or synthetic dyes
No published reports of azo dye hazards specific to Maxfli gloves or major golf equipment brands. Leather is typically dyed after tanning; risk is low during normal use but dye transfer to sweat is theoretically possible over extended wear.
Synthetic material off-gassing or volatiles
No specific reports of VOC off-gassing from Maxfli gloves. Synthetic blends in golf gloves are minimal and unlikely to off-gas noticeably during normal hand contact, though storage in sealed bags may accumulate odors.
Antimony in polyester or synthetic fibers
Antimony is sometimes used as a catalyst in polyester production. Maxfli does not disclose synthetic fiber sourcing or antimony testing. Hand contact with finished glove material poses negligible risk; concern is primarily occupational.
How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Maxfli (owned by Dick's Sporting Goods/Spalding Sports) does not publicly disclose material certifications, chemical composition of coatings, or testing for hazardous substances on apparel products. The brand maintains silence on PFAS use in water-repellent treatments, which is standard across most golf equipment manufacturers. No recalls, lawsuits, or published safety incidents involving Maxfli gloves are on record.
How it compares in its category
Most golf gloves use treated leather with moisture management coatings; Maxfli's approach is typical for mid-range brands. Premium competitors (Titleist, Ping) also do not consistently disclose coating chemistry. Budget alternatives use similar or lower-grade synthetic blends. None of the major golf glove manufacturers have adopted PFAS-free or third-party certified water-repellent systems as a market standard.
If you buy it
Store the glove in a dry location away from direct heat or prolonged sunlight to avoid accelerated coating degradation. Hand-wash with mild soap and air-dry; avoid machine washing or high heat, which can degrade both leather and synthetic components. Replace when the grip surface becomes slick or the material shows visible cracking. Contact skin irritation is uncommon with golf gloves but discontinue use if redness or dermatitis develops.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 35% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Maxfli has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Maxfli 2026 Honors Golf Glove?
- Steel clubheads, graphite shafts, rubber grips
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Graphite shaft resin degradation and fiber exposure
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- Cabretta leather, likely tannin-tanned
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Heavy metals
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- leather or synthetic leather with cotton lining
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Heavy metals
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Find an alternative on AmazonMore golf balls & equipment grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.