Drip · Grease-Resistant Butcher & Deli Paper
Drip EZ Wrap EZ Heavyweight Butcher Paper
Butcher paper often uses fluorinated coatings. Brand discloses nothing.
Heavyweight butcher paper usually has water and grease resistance from PFAS-based treatments. Sam's Club provides no information on coating chemistry or PFAS content.
The better-graded swap
If You Care
If You Care Parchment Baking Sheets
90/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
kraft paper with water-resistant coating
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Drip EZ Wrap EZ Heavyweight Butcher Paper is made of, ingredients and materials
Drip EZ Wrap is kraft paper (cellulose fiber) with a water-resistant coating applied to one side to prevent blood and moisture from soaking through. The coating composition is not disclosed by Sam's Club; butcher papers in this category typically use either wax, polyethylene, or fluorinated compounds (PFAS-based) to achieve water resistance. Without transparency, the coating type cannot be verified, which affects food-contact safety during storage of raw meat.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
Water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.
PFAS
Butcher paper commonly uses PFAS-based water repellents; Sam's Club discloses nothing, and independent testing of this specific product is not on record. User cannot verify coating chemistry.
Source, ATSDR ↗Coating degradation and food contact leaching
Over time or with moisture exposure, the water-resistant coating may chip, peel, or break down, potentially allowing paper fibers or coating residues to contact food. Kraft paper itself is low-risk, but coating integrity failure is the primary concern.
Microorganism growth if wet and stored improperly
If the coating fails or the roll is stored in humid conditions, dampness can promote mold or bacterial growth on the paper. This is not a material hazard but a use-condition risk; proper storage prevents it.
What’s reassuring
Chlorine-based bleaching residues in paper pulp
No specific disclosure from Sam's Club on pulp processing. Kraft pulp is typically less heavily bleached than white tissue, but residual chlorine compounds are theoretically possible; regulatory limits in the US apply, and no violations have been reported for this product.
Ink or printing chemical transfer (if printed)
Drip EZ packaging indicates minimal printing on the roll itself. If printed graphics are present, food-grade compliance is assumed but not verified by Sam's Club on labeling.
How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Sam's Club (Walmart subsidiary) has no public commitment to PFAS-free food packaging and does not disclose coating chemistry for this product on labels or online. The company has faced criticism for opacity on PFAS in food contact materials, though it does not appear on major environmental advocacy lists for egregious violations. No third-party certifications (e.g., FDA food-contact verification, GOTS, or fluorine-free claims) are listed for this product.
How it compares in its category
Most commercial butcher papers use some form of water-resistant coating; this product is typical of bulk-supply offerings. Alternatives marketed as PFAS-free or certified organic exist but are less common in warehouse retail. Price point suggests cost-optimization, which historically correlates with use of cheaper fluorinated coatings rather than premium wax or bio-based alternatives in the food-wrapping industry.
If you buy it
Use only for wrapping raw meat and cold food storage (refrigerator temperatures). Do not use for hot-holding, oven heating, or microwave use, as heat can accelerate coating breakdown and potential leaching. Inspect the coated side regularly for peeling, wrinkling, or discoloration; discard roll if degradation is visible. Store in cool, dry conditions to extend shelf life and maintain coating integrity.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 42% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Drip has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Drip EZ Wrap EZ Heavyweight Butcher Paper?
IDL Packaging
White Butcher Paper 18" x 12000" Natural Butcher Paper Roll for Meat and Fish
- unbleached natural kraft paper
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Mold or microbial growth
- unbleached parchment paper, silicone coating
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Silicone coating degradation under heat stress
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- Silicone-coated parchment paper
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Silicone coating degradation at high heat
More grease-resistant butcher & deli paper grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.