Sinful Colors · Nail Polish & Top Coat
Sinful Colors Essenchills Nail Polish
Avoid until Sinful Colors discloses PFAS status; nail polish formulations are opaque.
Sinful Colors makes no public disclosure about PFAS in this formula. Nail polish is not a product category with known widespread PFAS use, but cosmetic formulas are often proprietary and unregulated.
The better-graded swap
Piggy Paint
Piggy Paint 4-Piece Nail Polish Set
100/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
Nail polish lacquer (nitrocellulose, resins, plasticizers, solvents)
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
Aqua Pure
3M Aqua-Pure AP802B Whole House Filter Housing
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Is Sinful Colors Essenchills Nail Polish non-toxic? What it is made of
Sinful Colors Essenchills is a nitrocellulose-based lacquer containing resins, plasticizers (likely dibutyl phthalate or DHP alternatives), and organic solvents (toluene, xylene, acetone derivatives). During application and drying, volatile organic compounds (VOCs) off-gas into breathing air. The 'top coat' formulation means multiple layers may be applied, concentrating solvent exposure per use session.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs) from solvents
Nitrocellulose-based lacquers inherently release toluene, xylene, and acetone during application and drying. Sinful Colors does not disclose solvent ratios; ventilation failure during use increases respiratory irritant exposure.
Phthalate plasticizers
Sinful Colors Essenchills formulation is not publicly labeled phthalate-free. Dibutyl phthalate (DBP) and diethyl phthalate (DEP) are common in mid-market polishes as flexibility agents; no reformulation announcement found for this product line.
Formaldehyde / VOCs
Formaldehyde-releasing resins are standard in lacquer formulations to cure the film. Sinful Colors does not advertise formaldehyde-free status; off-gassing during application and early wear is minimal but present.
Source, ATSDR ↗Coating degradation and microplastic shedding
As polish chips and flakes during wear, small plastic fragments enter nail beds and can be ingested via grooming habits. No brand-specific durability data exists; standard lacquers typically last 7-10 days before visible chipping.
What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
Heavy metals
No recalls or testing data link Sinful Colors nail polish to lead, cadmium, or chromium contamination. However, colorants in budget polishes are not systematically tested by manufacturers; this remains an opaque category.
Source, FDA ↗The full breakdown
The brand's record and disclosure
Sinful Colors has not publicly disclosed PFAS content, ingredient sourcing standards, or adherence to cosmetic safety certifications (no EU Annex-compliant labeling visible in standard marketing). The brand maintains a 'silent' stance on chemical transparency, typical of mid-market polish manufacturers. No significant recalls or regulatory actions are on public record for this specific product line.
How it compares in its category
Sinful Colors sits in the mainstream consumer segment; many competitors (Essie, OPI, China Glaze) similarly withhold detailed PFAS disclosures. 'Clean' or 'non-toxic' polish brands (Zoya, Ella+Mila) explicitly exclude phthalates and toluene but cost 30-50% more. Essenchills offers no marketed reformulation away from traditional solvent exposure versus budget or premium alternatives.
If you buy it
Apply only in well-ventilated spaces (open windows, nail salon extraction fans) to minimize inhaled solvent concentration. Avoid repeated application over 2-3 consecutive days without 24-hour breaks; this reduces cumulative VOC load. Removal via acetone-based remover reintroduces solvent contact. Replace if formula thickens, smells unusually sharp, or separates (signs of solvent evaporation and stability loss).
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 35% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Sinful Colors has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
Better-graded alternatives in Nail Polish & Top Coat
Piggy Paint
Basecoat & Sealer Nail Polish
- Water-based organic pigments and plant-derived resins
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Piggy Paint
Nail Polish Piggy Paint
- water-based pigmented lacquer
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from resins and solvents
3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Piggy Paint
Showstopper Nail Polish Set
- organic pigments, plant-based resins, water-based lacquer
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Volatile organic compounds (VOCs)
2 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
More nail polish & top coat grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.