Spray & Wash · Fabric Stain Guard Sprays
Spray 'n Wash Max - Trigger 22oz, Stain Remover, Bleach-Free, Fresh Scent
Stain remover liquid poses lower PFAS concern; spray bottle contact risk unspecified.
Bleach-free liquid stain remover without identified PFAS additives in standard formulations. Plastic bottle and trigger pose unspecified contact risk; brand provides no PFAS statement.
We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade
Material
aqueous liquid cleaner, plastic bottle trigger
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
Aqua Pure
3M Aqua-Pure AP802B Whole House Filter Housing
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
What Spray 'n Wash Max - Trigger 22oz, Stain is made of, ingredients and materials
Spray 'n Wash Max is an aqueous liquid detergent concentrate delivered via plastic trigger spray bottle. The active ingredients are surfactants and cleaning agents designed to break down protein and oil-based stains on fabric; the bleach-free formulation relies on enzymatic or oxidative boosters rather than chlorine or oxygen bleach. The product itself is not heated during use and poses no Teflon-type coating fume risk (common to non-stick cookware). No ceramic, enamel, or metallic coatings are present that could degrade or leach.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Fragrance allergens (undisclosed components)
Product is labeled 'Fresh Scent' but does not list specific fragrance ingredients on available labeling. Synthetic fragrances in household cleaners commonly contain limonene, linalool, or other contact allergens; individual sensitivity varies and cannot be assessed without ingredient transparency.
Skin/eye irritation from surfactants
Stain remover sprays are designed for fabric contact but may cause mild to moderate irritation on skin or eyes if applied directly or if spray mist is inhaled. Standard laundry product warnings apply; this is an inherent risk of the product class, not a defect in this brand.
Respiratory irritation from aerosolized spray
Trigger spray application creates fine mist; inhaled particles or vapor from surfactants and fragrance may cause temporary respiratory irritation, especially in users with asthma or sensitivity. Ventilation during use is recommended and is standard guidance for aerosol/spray household products.
What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
Preservative/biocide toxicity (formulation not disclosed)
Aqueous liquid cleaners require preservatives to prevent bacterial/fungal growth in the bottle. No specific preservative is named on labeling; typical options (methylisothiazolinone, parabens, formaldehyde donors) are not confirmed for this product and no adverse event reports are on record.
Plastic bottle leaching or degradation
The trigger bottle is likely polyethylene or polypropylene rated for aqueous detergent. No degradation, BPA, or phthalate leaching is on record for this product or material class under normal storage conditions; however, material composition of the trigger/seal is not disclosed.
The full breakdown
The brand's record and disclosure
Spray & Wash (Energizer Holdings/SC Johnson heritage products) maintains no public environmental or toxicological disclosure statements specific to Spray 'n Wash Max. The brand has not published third-party certifications (e.g., EPA Safer Choice, Ecocert) for this product line. No product-specific recalls or safety controversies are on record in CPSC, FDA, or EPA databases for this formulation. Ingredient transparency is typical for consumer laundry products, full itemization is not provided on-pack, consistent with industry practice.
How it compares in its category
Trigger spray stain removers typically contain surfactants, enzymes, and preservatives; Spray 'n Wash Max's bleach-free claim is standard in that segment and reduces concern for oxidative skin/fabric damage. Competitors (Fels-Naptha, OxiClean On the Go) use similar aqueous formulations with comparable transparency gaps. Products marketed as 'fresh scent' in this category commonly use synthetic fragrance blends; Spray 'n Wash Max does not disclose fragrance allergens on available labeling, a gap shared across most commercial laundry stain sprays.
If you buy it
Apply to dry fabric before washing; avoid inhalation of spray mist and direct contact with eyes or skin. The plastic trigger mechanism is a wear item and may degrade or leak after extended use; replacement triggers are sometimes available but not confirmed for this specific product. Store upright in a cool, dry place away from children and pets. Do not mix with other cleaners. Rinse the treated garment thoroughly during normal wash to remove residue.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 72% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Spray & Wash has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
More fabric stain guard sprays grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.