Wet n Wild · Lip Balm & Long-Wear Lipstick
Wet N Wild Color Icon Lip Gloss
No known concerns, but brand provides zero transparency on formulation.
Wet n Wild does not state whether this lip gloss contains PFAS. Lip cosmetics rarely need water or stain resistance treatments driving PFAS use, making accidental inclusion less common than in coatings or fabrics, yet ingredient transparency is absent.
The better-graded swap
Sephora Collection
Sephora Collection Outrageous Plump Intense Hydrating Lip Gloss
75/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
liquid gloss base (oils, resins, silicones)
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Wet N Wild Color Icon Lip Gloss is made of, ingredients and materials
Wet n Wild Color Icon Lip Gloss is a liquid formulation based on oils, resins, and silicones typical of mainstream lip glosses. These ingredients are cosmetic-grade and designed for topical use on lips, where absorption is minimal compared to ingestion. The gloss consistency relies on film-forming resins and emollients to create shine and adherence; silicones improve spreadability and wear time. No unusual raw materials or processing red flags are publicly documented for this product line.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Fragrance allergens
Wet n Wild Color Icon Lip Gloss contains fragrance compounds typical of scented lip cosmetics. Contact sensitization or irritation can occur in individuals with fragrance allergies or sensitive lips, though incidence is low in the general population.
Formaldehyde / VOCs
Some lip glosses use formaldehyde-releasing preservatives to prevent bacterial and mold growth in oil-based formulas. Wet n Wild does not publicly specify its preservative system; if present, exposure is minimal because the product is topical and not ingested, but sensitive individuals may experience lip irritation.
Source, ATSDR ↗Microplastics
Silicones and synthetic resins in lip glosses can include polymeric particles designed to enhance texture and wear; these are distinct from microbeads but remain synthetic microparticles. Wet n Wild does not disclose particle size or composition; environmental and systemic uptake is considered negligible for topical lip products, but inhalation risk is absent and ingestion via normal use is minima
Source, EPA ↗What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
Lead
No recalls or published test data document heavy-metal contamination in Wet n Wild Color Icon Lip Gloss. FDA allows trace metals in color additives for cosmetics, and the brand uses approved dyes; however, Wet n Wild does not publicly disclose independent heavy-metal testing results.
Source, ATSDR ↗1,4-dioxane (solvent/contaminant)
1,4-dioxane is a potential byproduct in cosmetics containing certain ethoxylated surfactants or emulsifiers. No published evidence or recalls implicate Wet n Wild Color Icon Lip Gloss; standard formulation practices in this category minimize risk, though brand does not disclose contaminant screening.
How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Wet n Wild is owned by Coty and operates under standard FDA cosmetics regulation without major documented safety recalls or health complaints tied to Color Icon Lip Gloss. The brand does not publicly disclose detailed ingredient sourcing or heavy-metal testing, which is typical for mass-market color cosmetics but limits independent verification. No certifications (cruelty-free, organic, clean beauty) are prominently claimed, and the brand has not been flagged in established cosmetic safety databases for formulation controversies.
How it compares in its category
Wet n Wild lip glosses are competitively priced and formulated similarly to other drugstore brands like Maybelline and Rimmel, all using conventional oil-resin-silicone bases without notable differentiation in safety profile. Premium indie and natural brands often market fewer synthetic ingredients and third-party testing, but published safety data does not show Color Icon Lip Gloss to be riskier than those alternatives. This product sits in the middle of the mainstream market, no advanced transparency, no known problems.
If you buy it
Apply only to lips; avoid contact with eyes and do not ingest. Replace if the gloss separates, thickens, or shows discoloration, as these signs may indicate formula breakdown or contamination. Store in a cool, dry place away from heat and direct sunlight to prevent emulsion breakdown or silicone migration. Patch test if you have sensitive lips or a history of cosmetic reactions, since fragrance and dyes can trigger irritation in some users.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Wet n Wild has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
More lip balm & long-wear lipstick grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.