Côte Nail Polish
Avoid unless you verify ingredients independently; brand silence on PFAS is concerning.
Côte has not disclosed PFAS content or full ingredient lists for their nail polish formulas. Nail polish can contain PFAS in resins, colorants, or additives, yet the brand provides no transparency or third-party verification.
The better-graded swap
Piggy Paint
Nail Polish Piggy Paint
100/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
nail polish lacquer (composition not disclosed)
Lab data
No public lab test
Is Côte Nail Polish non-toxic? What it is made of
Côte nail polish is a traditional lacquer-based formulation, but the brand does not publicly disclose its full ingredient list or chemical composition. Nail polishes typically contain volatile organic compounds (VOCs) like toluene, dibutyl phthalate (DBP), and formaldehyde as binders and solvents, though many brands now offer reformulations without these. Without access to Côte's specific formula, assessment of hazardous solvent content and plasticizer use is limited to category-typical risks.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Volatile Organic Compounds (VOCs) and respiratory exposure
Nail lacquers inherently contain solvents; Côte does not disclose whether it uses traditional high-VOC formulas or reformulated low-VOC alternatives. Inhalation during application and drying is the primary exposure route.
Phthalate plasticizers (DBP, DMP)
Dibutyl phthalate is a common plasticizer in conventional nail polish for flexibility. Côte's lack of ingredient disclosure prevents confirmation of phthalate-free status; this hazard is assumed possible given no explicit claim to the contrary.
Formaldehyde / VOCs
Formaldehyde is used in nail lacquers as a hardener and film-forming agent. Without ingredient transparency, presence cannot be ruled out; many mainstream brands still use it despite being a category concern.
Source, ATSDR ↗Cosmetic preservative allergens and fragrance
If Côte polish contains fragrance or preservatives, formaldehyde releasers and undisclosed fragrance allergens are plausible. No specific safety data is available to confirm or rule out sensitizing preservatives.
What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
Heavy metals
No recalls or public reports of lead, cadmium, or other heavy metal contamination in Côte polish shades. This hazard is not established for this brand, though pigment sourcing remains undisclosed.
Source, FDA ↗The full breakdown
The brand's record and disclosure
Côte maintains a notably opaque stance on ingredient disclosure and PFAS presence. The brand has not published a transparency report, safety data sheet, or formal ingredient list for consumers. This silence on PFAS, despite a moderate safety score of 65/100, raises concern about whether the product meets current best practices. No major recalls or controversies are documented in public safety databases, but the lack of proactive communication limits confidence in reformulation efforts.
How it compares in its category
Côte positions itself as a premium nail polish brand but does not differentiate itself through safety claims or low-toxin formulation transparency. Competing brands like Ella+Mila, Zoya, and Butter London publish ingredient lists and make explicit claims about phthalate-free or vegan formulations. Côte's silence is notably weaker than competitor disclosure standards in the prestige segment, making direct comparison difficult.
If you buy it
Apply in well-ventilated spaces or near an open window to minimize inhalation of VOCs during application and drying. Remove with acetone-based removers sparingly, as repeated exposure to solvent fumes carries cumulative risk. Replace polish every 12-18 months or if color separates or thickens, as degraded formulations may release additional volatile compounds. Before purchase, contact the brand directly requesting a full ingredient list to verify absence of DBP, toluene, and formaldehyde if these are personal concerns.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 35% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Côte has made a specific claim
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
Better-graded alternatives in Nail Polish & Top Coat
Piggy Paint
Basecoat & Sealer Nail Polish
- Water-based organic pigments and plant-derived resins
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Piggy Paint
Nail Polish Piggy Paint
- water-based pigmented lacquer
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from resins and solvents
3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Piggy Paint
Showstopper Nail Polish Set
- organic pigments, plant-based resins, water-based lacquer
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Volatile organic compounds (VOCs)
2 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
More nail polish & top coat grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.