Home Collection · Parchment Paper & Baking Liners
Nicole Home Collection Parchment Paper Roll 181 Square Feet, Non-Stick, Oven
Skip; non-stick parchment paper often uses PFAS, brand silent on coating.
Non-stick parchment paper typically requires a water and grease-resistant coating, commonly PFAS-based. Manufacturer discloses no coating details or PFAS status, making risk assessment unreliable.
The better-graded swap
If You Care
If You Care Baking Paper, Parchment, 70 Square Feet
90/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
cellulose paper with non-stick coating (type undisclosed)
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Nicole Home Collection Non-Stick, Oven is made of, ingredients and materials
Nicole Home Collection parchment paper is cellulose paper treated with an undisclosed non-stick coating. The coating chemistry is not published by the brand, which is a red flag for food-contact paper, since most commercial non-stick parchment uses fluorinated compounds (PFAS) to achieve heat resistance and release properties. Cellulose itself is inert, but the coating is the hazard vector; the paper is rated for oven use up to typical parchment limits (around 420-450°F depending on the coating type), but the actual thermal breakdown point of this specific coating is not specified.
What’s concerning
Non-stick, chemistry undisclosed
Marketed as non-stick without stating the coating chemistry.
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
PFAS
Parchment paper non-stick coatings are a known and documented PFAS source; Nicole Home Collection does not disclose the coating type or claim PFAS-free status, making it highly probable this product contains fluorinated compounds. See separate PFAS grade (20/100).
Source, ATSDR ↗Coating degradation and thermal offgassing
Undisclosed coating formulation means the thermal stability and breakdown products are unknown. If the coating is fluorinated resin, heating above its glass transition or decomposition point can release volatile compounds; the exact temperature threshold for this product is not published.
Microplastics
Repeated use, folding, and thermal cycling can cause the non-stick layer to flake or wear. Small particles of coating may enter food or be inhaled; the extent and material safety of this shedding depend on the coating binder and filler, which are not disclosed.
Source, EPA ↗What’s reassuring
Cellulose paper contaminants (bleach residues, sizing chemicals)
Parchment paper is typically chlorine-bleached and sized with starch or chemicals to improve wet strength; Nicole Home Collection does not disclose these processing details or chlorine-free alternatives. No specific recalls or safety incidents for this product are on record, but processing residues are a theoretical pathway for food contamination.
BPA & bisphenols
Some non-stick resin coatings historically used BPA as a binder or plasticizer; Nicole Home Collection does not publish the full coating formulation. No independent testing or manufacturer certification ruling out BPA is available for this product.
Source, FDA ↗How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Nicole Home Collection (a budget consumer goods brand under Home Marketplace Innovations) provides no public disclosure of the non-stick coating chemistry, PFAS content, or safety certifications for this product. No third-party testing, transparency reports, or responses to PFAS inquiries are on record. The brand does not advertise PFAS-free or fluorine-free status, which manufacturers typically highlight when that is a selling point. This silence on a known hazard class in the category is a material compliance gap.
How it compares in its category
Parchment paper is a mature product category with known PFAS contamination across most non-stick variants. Brands such as If You Care, Regency, and some store labels offer explicit PFAS-free claims and use silicone or other non-fluorinated coatings, with corresponding third-party certification. Nicole Home Collection does not compete on transparency or hazard reduction; its positioning is cost-first, which in this category correlates with less disclosure and higher likelihood of legacy PFAS-based coatings. Budget parchment generally has less rigorous supplier auditing.
If you buy it
Do not expose parchment to direct flame or temperatures above the manufacturer's stated limit (typically 420-450°F); exceeding this risks coating degradation and potential offgassing. Replace rolls when the paper becomes brittle, tears easily, or discolors, as these signs indicate coating breakdown. Store in a dry place away from heat and direct sunlight to minimize hydrolysis of the paper and coating. If you are concerned about PFAS exposure, choose a competitor brand with published PFAS-free or silicone-coated claims and third-party certification.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 35% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Home Collection has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Nicole Home Collection Parchment Paper Roll 181 Square Feet, Non-Stick, Oven?
- Steel with PFA-free nonstick coating
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Nonstick coating degradation over time
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- plastic tube with replaceable hollow-fiber filter cartridge
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Bacterial growth in filter and housing if unmaintained
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- silicone-coated parchment paper
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Paper degradation and particulate shedding
More parchment paper & baking liners grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.