· Grease-Resistant Deli & Butcher Paper
Kraft Paper, 30 in Roll Wd, 1,200 ft Roll Lg, 30 lb Roll Wt, 30 lb Basis Wt Model, 5PGL6
Lower concern. Uncoated kraft paper has minimal PFAS risk.
Kraft paper in base form is a material not associated with PFAS with no reported coatings. International Paper has not disclosed PFAS status, but bare kraft poses lower risk than treated papers.
We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade
Material
kraft paper, uncoated
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Ink residue (recycled kraft)
If this roll contains recycled fiber, residual printing inks from previous products may be present in trace amounts. Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) does not mandate test-and-disclose for inks in uncoated kraft, so presence is not confirmed or ruled out without mill certification.
Rosin sizing compounds
Uncoated kraft typically includes rosin-based or starch-based sizing to improve water resistance. These are generally recognized as safe (GRAS) under FDA regulations, but migration into high-moisture foods has not been extensively studied at typical use levels.
Chlorine residue from bleaching (if bleached)
The product specification does not indicate whether this kraft is bleached; if it is, trace chlorine compounds (organochlorines) may persist. Unbleached kraft avoids this concern but is less common in food-contact rolls due to color preferences.
Microcontaminant migration at elevated temperature
When kraft paper is heated above 60, 70°C (e.g., in steam table warming or commercial ovens), any residual volatile organic compounds or sizing residues may mobilize into food. This product is not engineered for high-heat food contact.
Mold or microbial growth if stored damp
Cellulose-based paper is hygroscopic and supports mold if humidity exceeds 65, 70% over weeks. Storage conditions, not the product itself, are the primary control; mold toxins (aflatoxins) pose food-contact risk if contamination occurs.
What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
The full breakdown
What it's made of and why it matters
This is virgin or recycled kraft paper (the 30 lb basis weight indicates standard strength for food wrapping and shipping). Kraft paper is made from wood pulp processed through the sulfate method, which does not require chemical coating or fluorine-based treatments. Because it is uncoated, there are no epoxy, polyester, or silicone-based surface layers that might leach additives into food contact. The primary processing inputs are pulp, water, and standard sizing agents (typically starch or rosin-based), none of which present known acute food safety concerns at this material specification.
The brand's record and disclosure
International Paper is a major pulp and paper manufacturer with longstanding food-packaging product lines. The company has not publicly disclosed specific PFAS reduction policies for uncoated kraft rolls, nor has it faced major contamination recalls tied to this product category in recent years. The brand maintains certification pathways for food contact (FDA compliance letters are available on request) but does not voluntarily publish heavy-metal or residual-solvent test data on retail product pages. No active litigation or regulatory action specific to this kraft paper model is on public record.
How it compares in its category
Uncoated kraft paper is among the lowest-risk food-contact materials; it avoids the coating-leachate hazards of plastic-laminated or wax-coated alternatives. Recycled kraft carries slightly higher uncertainty regarding ink residue and legacy contamination, whereas virgin kraft is more predictable but environmentally costlier. This product's 30 lb weight is standard for sandwich wrapping, deli counter use, and dry-goods packaging; it is not engineered for high-moisture or high-temperature exposure, so it performs its intended role without chemical workarounds that heavier or treated papers might require.
If you buy it
Use this paper for room-temperature and cool food contact (sandwiches, baked goods, dry snacks). Avoid prolonged direct contact with hot or oily foods, as heat may mobilize trace ink or sizing residues and kraft's structural integrity degrades when saturated. Store the roll in a dry area away from sunlight and solvents to prevent degradation and odor absorption. Replace if the paper develops visible mold, odor, or brittleness; a 1,200 ft roll typically lasts 6-12 months in moderate-use food service.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 78% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
Better-graded alternatives in Grease-Resistant Deli & Butcher Paper
IDL Packaging
White Butcher Paper 18" x Natural Butcher Paper Roll for Meat and Fish
bleached paper, uncoated
Mold or microbial growth during storage
Limited concern
Brand PFAS statement on record, which we have not verified.
⚠Starting grade for this product type
IDL Packaging
White Butcher Paper 18" x 12000" Natural Butcher Paper Roll for Meat and Fish
bleached kraft paper, no specified coating
Ink or printing residue (if printed side contacts food)
Limited concern
Mold or microbial growth during storage
Limited concern
Brand PFAS statement on record, which we have not verified.
⚠Starting grade for this product type
If You Care
Parchment Baking Sheets
unbleached parchment paper, silicone coating
Silicone coating degradation under heat stress
Limited concern
Mold or microbial growth if stored damp
Limited concern
Brand no-added-PFAS claim and a 2021 lab result with no fluorine detected.
✓Lab test found no PFAS
More grease-resistant deli & butcher paper grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.