Kure Bazaar · Nail Polish & Top Coat
Kure Bazaar Clean Base Mate Nail Polish
Insufficient transparency; skip if PFAS matters, as polish formulas go undisclosed.
This 'Clean' formula lacks any PFAS disclosure or third-party verification. While nail polish isn't high-risk like treated apparel, PFAS can hide in pigments or resins without label disclosure.
The better-graded swap
Piggy Paint
Nail Polish Piggy Paint
100/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
organic pigments, resins, solvents (typical nail polish)
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
Is Kure Bazaar Clean Base Mate Nail Polish non-toxic? What it is made of
Kure Bazaar Clean Base Mate uses organic pigments, resins, and volatile organic solvents standard to modern nail polish formulations. The 'Clean Base' marketing suggests reduced or reformulated solvent loads compared to traditional polish, but the specific solvent profile (acetone, ethyl acetate, toluene levels) is not publicly disclosed. Organic pigments (as opposed to heavy-metal-based ones) carry lower risk of lead or cadmium leaching during wear, but volatilization during application remains the primary exposure route.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Volatile organic solvent exposure (acetone, ethyl acetate, toluene)
Standard for nail polish; inhalation risk during application and drying. Kure Bazaar's exact solvent composition is undisclosed, so reduction claims cannot be verified. Ventilation mitigates acute exposure.
Xylene exposure (solvent neurotoxicant)
Xylene is common in conventional nail polish but sometimes excluded from 'clean' formulations. Kure Bazaar does not disclose whether xylene is present or avoided.
Coating adhesion and delamination over time
Matte finishes may have different durability profiles than glossy polish; flaking or peeling accelerates skin contact with unreacted resins and solvents. No comparative wear-testing data published by brand.
What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
Lead
Kure Bazaar specifies organic pigments, which do not inherently contain lead or cadmium. No safety testing or heavy-metal assay results are published, but organic pigment selection suggests deliberate avoidance of traditional heavy-metal dyes.
Source, ATSDR ↗Formaldehyde / VOCs
Not typical in modern nail polish formulations; no public reports or evidence of formaldehyde in this product or brand line.
Source, ATSDR ↗The full breakdown
The brand's record and disclosure
Kure Bazaar markets itself as a cleaner, more transparent nail brand but provides no third-party certifications (e.g., Free From, Purity attestation) and does not publish full ingredient lists or solvent concentrations publicly. No documented safety recalls or regulatory actions are on record for this brand. The brand's silence on PFAS and lack of detailed material safety data sheets limit verification of specific formulation claims.
How it compares in its category
Kure Bazaar sits in the mid-tier 'clean' nail polish category, alongside brands like Ella+Mila and Zoya. Unlike some competitors, it does not claim or certify as 'non-toxic' or '10-free,' which would require public specification of avoided substances. The matte finish formulation may require slightly different solvent blends than glossy polishes, but comparative safety data is not published.
If you buy it
Apply in well-ventilated spaces to minimize solvent inhalation; ensure nail beds are clean and dry to prevent coating delamination, which can accelerate UV exposure of underlying skin. Replace polish every 2 years or if the formula thickens, separates, or develops an acetone-like odor (sign of solvent degradation). Avoid prolonged contact with skin during application; wash hands immediately after drying.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Kure Bazaar has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
Better-graded alternatives in Nail Polish & Top Coat
Piggy Paint
Basecoat & Sealer Nail Polish
- Water-based organic pigments and plant-derived resins
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Piggy Paint
Nail Polish Piggy Paint
- water-based pigmented lacquer
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from resins and solvents
3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Piggy Paint
Showstopper Nail Polish Set
- organic pigments, plant-based resins, water-based lacquer
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Volatile organic compounds (VOCs)
2 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
More nail polish & top coat grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.