PFAS75/ 100Excellent
Overall49/ 100Poor
Kure Bazaar Nail Polish

Kure Bazaar · Nail Polish & Top Coat

Kure Bazaar Nail Polish

Excellent

Skip pending transparency; brand doesn't disclose PFAS or full ingredients.

Verdict · SkipKure Bazaar lacks full ingredient transparency and PFAS disclosure, but no safety recalls or contamination reports on record; use with ventilation and replace if discoloration occurs.

Kure Bazaar provides no public PFAS disclosure, fluorinated chemical details, or full ingredient transparency. Standard polish formulations may contain PFAS-based resins, but no lab data exists.

The better-graded swap

Nail Polish Piggy Paint

Piggy Paint

Nail Polish Piggy Paint

100/100 safety

100Excellent

Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.

Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.

Material

nail lacquer/polish base (composition undisclosed)

Brand disclosure

Brand is silent on PFAS

Lab data

No public lab test

Is Kure Bazaar Nail Polish non-toxic? What it is made of

Kure Bazaar nail polish is a conventional solvent-based lacquer whose exact resin and plasticizer composition remains undisclosed by the brand. Standard nail polishes rely on nitrocellulose (film former), dibutyl phthalate (DBP) or alternative plasticizers for flexibility, and volatile organic solvents (toluene, xylene, formaldehyde) for application. Without ingredient disclosure, you cannot verify whether this product uses older phthalate plasticizers or reformulated alternatives with lower concern.

What’s concerning

♾️

Category baseline

The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.

80/ 100
♾️

No PFAS disclosure

No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.

85/ 100
💨

Formaldehyde / VOCs

Nail polish inherently releases toluene, xylene, and formaldehyde during application and drying. Kure Bazaar does not specify VOC content or formulation, so assumption is standard solvent levels; inadequate ventilation increases inhalation exposure.

Source, ATSDR ↗
20/ 100
🧴

Phthalate plasticizers (DBP, DEHP, DMP)

Conventional nail polishes often contain dibutyl phthalate (DBP) as a plasticizer to prevent brittleness. Kure Bazaar does not disclose plasticizer type; reformulated alternatives (camphor, citrates) exist but are not confirmed in this product.

70/ 100
💨

Formaldehyde / VOCs

Nail polish formulas sometimes include formaldehyde releasers (urea compounds) or fragrances to mask solvent odor. Kure Bazaar does not disclose fragrance ingredients; prolonged skin contact or allergy-prone individuals may experience dermatitis.

Source, ATSDR ↗
70/ 100

What’s reassuring

✅

Base material not linked to PFAS

The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.

100/ 100
⛏️

Heavy metals

No recalls or test reports document lead, cadmium, or chromium in Kure Bazaar polishes. Colored lacquers may contain synthetic colorants and iron oxides, which have no hazard of this kind on record if pure; no product-specific contamination is recorded.

Source, FDA ↗
95/ 100
✅

Coating degradation and leaching of uncrosslinked components

Once dry, cured nail lacquer is a stable film. No evidence suggests Kure Bazaar polish leaches into food or beverages when applied to nails; risk is primarily inhalation during application, not post-application exposure.

95/ 100

The full breakdown

The brand's record and disclosure

Kure Bazaar markets itself as a 'clean' brand and promotes a non-toxic image, but does not publish a full ingredient list or certifications (no GREENGUARD, Cradle to Cradle, or third-party safety badges are publicly associated with the brand). The brand remains silent on PFAS content and has no known history of voluntary reformulation or sustainability reporting. No product recalls or safety violations have been documented for Kure Bazaar nail products.

How it compares in its category

Kure Bazaar positions itself above mass-market brands (OPI, Essie) but is comparable in price and transparency to other indie-marketed polishes. Most nail polish brands, including major ones, do not disclose plasticizer or solvent details on packaging; Kure Bazaar's silence is typical rather than exceptional. Brands with explicit 3-free, 5-free, or 7-free formulas (e.g., Zoya, Ella+Mila) are more transparent about what they exclude, making them easier to compare.

If you buy it

Apply in a well-ventilated space or outdoors to minimize inhalation of volatile organic compounds; poor ventilation increases respiratory irritation risk. Do not use near heat sources or flame during application or drying. Replace the bottle if the polish becomes thick, yellows excessively, or separates (signs of solvent evaporation or ingredient degradation), as this may alter safety and performance. Wash hands thoroughly after application to avoid skin absorption and remove polish with acetone or non-acetone removers in ventilated areas.

What we don’t know

Basis
Model estimate, 35% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
Kure Bazaar has made none

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

Better-graded alternatives in Nail Polish & Top Coat

Piggy Paint Basecoat & Sealer Nail Polish

Piggy Paint

Basecoat & Sealer Nail Polish

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ MADE SAFE Certified✓ Phthalate-free
  • Water-based organic pigments and plant-derived resins
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Heavy metals

3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.

Nail Polish Piggy Paint

Piggy Paint

Nail Polish Piggy Paint

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ Made Safe Certified
  • water-based pigmented lacquer
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from resins and solvents

3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.

Piggy Paint Showstopper Nail Polish Set

Piggy Paint

Showstopper Nail Polish Set

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ PETA Certified Cruelty-Free✓ MADE SAFE Certified
  • organic pigments, plant-based resins, water-based lacquer
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Volatile organic compounds (VOCs)

2 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.

More nail polish & top coat grades

How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.