PFAS75/ 100Excellent
Overall41/ 100Poor
Nails.INC Apricot Crush 4-Piece Nail Polish Set

Nails Inc · Nail Polish & Top Coat

Nails.INC Apricot Crush 4-Piece Nail Polish Set

Excellent

Avoid without Nails Inc PFAS disclosure or independent testing.

Verdict · SkipNail polish inherently contains volatile organics and pigments; Nails Inc lacks PFAS transparency. Usable with ventilation and patch testing, but superior alternatives exist.

Nails Inc does not disclose whether this four-piece set contains PFAS. Some nail polishes use fluorinated compounds for shine and durability, though formulas differ widely across the industry.

The better-graded swap

Piggy Paint 4-Piece Nail Polish Set

Piggy Paint

Piggy Paint 4-Piece Nail Polish Set

100/100 safety

100Excellent

Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.

Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.

Material

nail polish (resin, pigment, solvent base)

Brand disclosure

Brand is silent on PFAS

Lab data

No public lab test

You may also be interested in

Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.

3M Aqua-Pure AP802B Whole House Filter Housing

Aqua Pure

3M Aqua-Pure AP802B Whole House Filter Housing

95ExcellentPFAS grade
  • polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial growth in spent cartridges

3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.

AQUASURE Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

Aquasure

Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

100ExcellentPFAS grade
  • RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters

4 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.

Avocado Vegan Mattress

Avocado

Vegan Mattress

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ MADE SAFE Certified✓ Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)
  • organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Heavy metals

2 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.

Is Nails.INC Apricot Crush 4-Piece Nail non-toxic? What it is made of

Nail polish is a suspension of film-forming resins (typically nitrocellulose), plasticizers (dibutyl phthalate or alternatives), solvents (toluene, xylene, acetone), and colorant pigments in volatile solvent carriers. The Apricot Crush set uses standard lacquer chemistry. Once dry, the cured film is relatively inert on nails, but uncured polish releases volatile organic compounds (VOCs) during application and drying, and pigment composition varies by formulation. The presence and type of heavy metals in pigments (iron oxides, titanium dioxide, synthetic colorants) is not disclosed by Nails Inc.

What’s concerning

♾️

Category baseline

The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.

80/ 100
♾️

No PFAS disclosure

No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.

85/ 100
⚠️

Volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from solvents

Standard nail polish formulations contain toluene, xylene, and acetone, which evaporate during and after application. Exposure risk is highest during application in poorly ventilated spaces; chronic inhalation may cause headaches, dizziness, and respiratory irritation in sensitive individuals.

20/ 100
🧴

Phthalates

Nails Inc does not disclose whether dibutyl phthalate (DBP) is used in this formula. If present, DBP is a known endocrine disruptor with particular concern for pregnant individuals and children. Absorption through intact nails is minimal, but inhalation of aerosolized polish during application is the primary exposure route.

Source, ATSDR ↗
70/ 100
🧠

Lead

Iron oxide reds, yellows, and synthetic azo pigments used in colored nail lacquers may contain trace lead, cadmium, or chromium compounds depending on pigment source. Nails Inc does not test or disclose pigment purity. Risk is low with intact nails but increases if polish is ingested (nail biters) or abraded.

Source, ATSDR ↗
70/ 100
💨

Formaldehyde / VOCs

Some nail polish formulations use formaldehyde-releasing resins to harden the film. Nails Inc does not confirm formaldehyde-free status. Exposure during application is via fume inhalation; individuals with formaldehyde sensitivity may experience allergic contact dermatitis or respiratory symptoms.

Source, ATSDR ↗
70/ 100
🎨

Allergens from fragrance or colorants

The 'Apricot Crush' product name suggests fragrance addition, but ingredient transparency is absent. Nail polish fragrances can trigger contact allergic reactions on the nail fold or sensitization over repeated applications, particularly in individuals with existing dermatitis.

70/ 100

What’s reassuring

✅

Base material not linked to PFAS

The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.

100/ 100

The full breakdown

The brand's record and disclosure

Nails Inc does not publish ingredient lists, heavy metal testing results, or PFAS content on its product pages or sustainability materials. The brand makes no certified claims about phthalate-free, formaldehyde-free, or toxin-free formulations, and has not engaged in third-party certification programs such as 7-Free or non-toxic cosmetic standards. This silence on chemical composition is standard for many mainstream nail brands but limits consumer ability to assess safety margins.

How it compares in its category

Mainstream nail polish brands (Essie, OPI, Sally Hansen) typically match Nails Inc's disclosure profile, with some exceptions offering 5-Free, 7-Free, or 10-Free formulations that exclude phthalates, toluene, formaldehyde, and other chemicals. Indie and green brands (Ella+Mila, Zoya, Sundays) routinely publish full ingredient transparency and third-party testing. Nails Inc occupies the mid-market luxury segment and does not differentiate on chemical safety, making it neither worse nor better than comparable prestige lines but inferior to transparency-focused competitors.

If you buy it

Apply in a well-ventilated space (open window, fan, or nail salon with air extraction) to minimize inhalation of VOCs during application and drying. Patch test on one nail first if you have sensitive skin or respiratory sensitivity, as formulations vary and pigment reactions are unpredictable. Remove polish with acetone-based remover after 7-10 days to prevent prolonged solvent contact with nail bed; continuous wear can weaken nails. Store unopened sets in a cool, dry place away from heat and sunlight to prevent resin degradation and separation.

What we don’t know

Basis
Model estimate, 42% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
Nails Inc has made none

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

Better-graded alternatives in Nail Polish & Top Coat

Piggy Paint Basecoat & Sealer Nail Polish

Piggy Paint

Basecoat & Sealer Nail Polish

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ MADE SAFE Certified✓ Phthalate-free
  • Water-based organic pigments and plant-derived resins
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Heavy metals

3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.

Nail Polish Piggy Paint

Piggy Paint

Nail Polish Piggy Paint

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ Made Safe Certified
  • water-based pigmented lacquer
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from resins and solvents

3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.

Piggy Paint Showstopper Nail Polish Set

Piggy Paint

Showstopper Nail Polish Set

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ PETA Certified Cruelty-Free✓ MADE SAFE Certified
  • organic pigments, plant-based resins, water-based lacquer
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Volatile organic compounds (VOCs)

2 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.

More nail polish & top coat grades

How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.