PFAS75/ 100Excellent
Overall39/ 100Poor
Infinite Shine OPI

OPI · Nail Polish & Top Coat

Infinite Shine OPI, Is It Non-Toxic?

Excellent

Skip unless OPI publicly discloses PFAS-free formulation.

Verdict · SkipOPI Infinite Shine is a gel-polish hybrid with moderate PFAS concern and unreported solvent/allergen profiles; buy only if willing to accept incomplete disclosure and practice careful application.

Infinite Shine is a gel nail lacquer with no public PFAS disclosure from OPI. Gel polishes contain proprietary plasticizers and film-forming agents; PFAS contamination risk is lower than in coated cookware or water-repellent coating textiles, but opaque formulations warrant caution.

The better-graded swap

Nail Polish Piggy Paint

Piggy Paint

Nail Polish Piggy Paint

100/100 safety

100Excellent

Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.

Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.

Material

gel-polish (film-forming lacquer)

Brand disclosure

Brand is silent on PFAS

Lab data

No public lab test

You may also be interested in

Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.

  • polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial growth in spent cartridges

3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

  • RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters

4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

Avocado Vegan Mattress

Avocado

Vegan Mattress

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ MADE SAFE Certified✓ Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)
  • organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Heavy metals

2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

Is Infinite Shine OPI non-toxic? What it is made of

Infinite Shine is a gel-hybrid polish (not pure gel) formulated as a film-forming lacquer with oligomers, acrylates, and volatile organic compounds (VOCs) designed for extended wear under UV/LED curing. The product sits between traditional nail polish and full gel systems, meaning it requires curing lamps but removes with regular acetone rather than soaking. OPI does not publicly disclose the specific resin or monomer composition, which limits independent assessment of respiratory or skin sensitization risk from uncrosslinked oligomers.

What’s concerning

♾️

Category baseline

The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.

80/ 100
♾️

No PFAS disclosure

No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.

85/ 100
⚠️

Volatile organic compounds (VOCs) and uncrosslinked oligomers

Gel-hybrid polishes inherently release VOCs during application and curing; OPI has not disclosed monomer identity or residual oligomer levels in Infinite Shine, so respiratory irritation and occupational sensitization risk cannot be quantified. Repeated exposure in poorly ventilated spaces increases cumulative inhalation dose.

20/ 100
⚠️

Skin sensitization from acrylate monomers

Acrylate-based gel polishes are documented to cause contact dermatitis and allergic sensitization in nail technicians and frequent users. OPI does not label specific monomers (e.g., methacrylates, urethane acrylates) in Infinite Shine, preventing consumers from identifying prior exposure risk.

70/ 100
⚠️

UV/LED lamp cumulative skin dose

Curing lamps expose nail beds and surrounding skin to UVA radiation; repeated applications over years carry theoretical melanoma risk, though epidemiological data in salon workers remains limited. LED lamps emit lower UVA than UV but still pose dose if applied bi-weekly or more frequently.

45/ 100
💨

Formaldehyde / VOCs

Some gel-hybrid polishes use formaldehyde resin or formaldehyde-releasing preservatives to stabilize the lacquer and prevent bacterial/fungal growth during storage. OPI does not list preservative systems for Infinite Shine, so presence cannot be ruled out.

Source, ATSDR ↗
70/ 100

What’s reassuring

✅

Base material not linked to PFAS

The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.

100/ 100
⛏️

Heavy metals

No recalls or test results for lead, cadmium, or arsenic in OPI Infinite Shine are on public record. Nail polish colorants are typically synthetic organics, but pigment sourcing is not disclosed by OPI.

Source, FDA ↗
95/ 100

How is this PFAS grade calculated?

The brand's record and disclosure

OPI (part of Coty, Inc.) has not published a PFAS-free certification or detailed safety data sheet for Infinite Shine and remains silent on PFAS content and tier of safety disclosure. The brand does not list third-party certifications (e.g., Eco-CERT, clean beauty standards) for this line. No major recalls or regulatory actions specific to Infinite Shine are on public record, though the nail polish category globally remains poorly regulated for volatile emissions and allergen labeling.

How it compares in its category

Infinite Shine occupies the mid-market gel-hybrid tier; competitors like Essie Gel Couture and Shellac (CND) similarly lack comprehensive PFAS or solvent transparency. Brands marketing 'clean' or '7-free' formulations (e.g., Zoya, Ella+Mila) typically provide ingredient lists and PFAS absence claims, whereas OPI does not. Traditional nail polish from the same brands carries lower curing-lamp exposure risk but typically shorter wear (7-10 days vs. 14-21 days for Infinite Shine).

If you buy it

Apply in well-ventilated areas (open windows, exhaust fans) to minimize inhalation of VOCs during application and curing. Use LED lamps over UV to reduce skin exposure during the 30-60 second cure cycle. Replace the polish if the bottle becomes thick, separates, or emits chemical odor beyond normal acetone, as these indicate degradation or bacterial growth in the lacquer. Remove with acetone and moisturize cuticles after each removal, as repeated acetone exposure can dry nail beds.

What is not known about PFAS in this product?

Basis
Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
OPI has made none

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Infinite Shine OPI?

Piggy Paint Basecoat & Sealer Nail Polish

Piggy Paint

Basecoat & Sealer Nail Polish

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ MADE SAFE Certified✓ Phthalate-free
  • Water-based organic pigments and plant-derived resins
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Heavy metals

3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

Nail Polish Piggy Paint

Piggy Paint

Nail Polish Piggy Paint

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ Made Safe Certified
  • water-based pigmented lacquer
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from resins and solvents

3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

Piggy Paint Showstopper Nail Polish Set

Piggy Paint

Showstopper Nail Polish Set

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ PETA Certified Cruelty-Free✓ MADE SAFE Certified
  • organic pigments, plant-based resins, water-based lacquer
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Volatile organic compounds (VOCs)

2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

More nail polish & top coat grades

How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.