Opi GELement
Lower concern for PFAS; no brand transparency on formula.
This gel polish contains no known water-resistant or stain-resistant additives that would require PFAS. OPI has not disclosed PFAS content or made PFAS-free claims.
We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade
Material
gel polish (acrylates, oligomers, resins)
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
What’s concerning
Category baseline
PFAS exposure happens more often with clothing products.
No PFAS disclosure
The company has not publicly discussed PFAS in this product.
UV/LED light exposure (cumulative)
Gel polish requires UV-A or LED curing; regular salon visits (fortnightly) deliver measurable UV-A dose to hands, though salon exposure is typically lower than direct sun. No established carcinogenic risk from manicure curing lamps, but broad-spectrum sunscreen is a prudent precaution for frequent users.
Unreacted acrylate monomers (contact sensitization)
Gel polishes contain acrylate oligomers and monomers that may cause allergic contact dermatitis in susceptible individuals; nail technicians are at higher occupational risk than consumers. OPI does not disclose monomer concentrations or allergenicity testing for GELement specifically.
Respiratory irritation from uncured vapors during application
Gel polish application in poorly ventilated spaces may cause mild irritation from volatile components or photoinitiator outgassing; risk is lower than traditional polish but not zero, especially for frequent appliers and technicians.
Nail plate thinning and brittleness (physical damage from removal)
Improper gel removal (picking, peeling) rather than acetone soaking causes measurable keratin loss and weakening; this is a use-related hazard, not a formulation defect, but GELement product guidance does not emphasize correct removal technique.
What’s reassuring
Safe base material
Made from ceramic, mineral, or natural fiber with no PFAS risk.
Lead
Cosmetic-grade nail polishes are regulated for heavy metal content in most jurisdictions, and no specific contamination has been reported for OPI GELement. However, the brand does not independently verify pigment sourcing or test results.
Source: ATSDR ↗The full breakdown
What it's made of and why it matters
OPI GELement is a UV-curable gel polish composed primarily of acrylate oligomers, monomers (like HEMA), photoinitiators, and color pigments or dyes. Unlike traditional lacquers, gel polishes cure under UV/LED light rather than air-drying, which eliminates volatile organic compounds (VOCs) that evaporate during application. The cured polymer forms a cross-linked film that bonds to the nail and resists chipping far longer than conventional polish.
The brand's record and disclosure
OPI is owned by Coty and is a longstanding professional nail brand with no documented recalls or safety violations for GELement specifically. The brand does not publicly disclose detailed chemical composition or PFAS avoidance statements, which is common for cosmetic brands but limits third-party verification. OPI markets GELement as dermatologist-tested and suitable for salon use, but provides no independent certifications (e.g., EWG Verified, Cradle to Cradle) or transparency reports on restricted substances.
How it compares in its category
Gel polishes as a category are generally safer during application than traditional solvent-based polishes because they emit far fewer fumes. Within gel polish brands, OPI competes in the mid-to-premium range alongside Shellac (CND) and Gelish; all three avoid disclosure of ingredient-level detail. OPI GELement does not stand out as exceptionally transparent or restrictive compared to competitors, but also has no known quality or safety scandals.
If you buy it
Use GELement in a well-ventilated space to minimize inhalation of any uncured resin vapors, especially during application and initial curing. UV curing typically takes 30 seconds to 2 minutes per layer; use broad-spectrum sunscreen on hands if curing frequently, as UV-A exposure accumulates with repeated manicures. Remove gel polish by soaking nails in acetone for 10-15 minutes rather than picking or peeling, which damages the nail plate. Expect the gel to last 2-3 weeks before lifting at the cuticle; replace it at that point rather than overlaying new gel on degraded coatings.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 72% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- OPI has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
More nail polish & top coat grades
How we score: every product runs through the same public 0–100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.