Revlon · Nail Polish & Top Coat
Revlon Top Speed Fast Dry Nail Enamel
Lower concern than many cosmetics, but no PFAS disclosure from Revlon; assessment difficult.
Revlon Top Speed is a traditional nitrocellulose lacquer with no known PFAS in its core formula, though the brand makes no public PFAS statement. Nail enamels occasionally contain PFAS in hardeners or water-repellent additives.
The better-graded swap
Piggy Paint
Nail Polish Piggy Paint
100/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
Nitrocellulose-based lacquer (nail enamel film)
Lab data
No public lab test
Is Revlon Top Speed Fast Dry Nail Enamel non-toxic? What it is made of
Revlon Top Speed is a nitrocellulose lacquer, the standard film-forming base in most nail enamels. Nitrocellulose itself is not a direct toxicant but requires volatile organic solvents (typically toluene, xylene, dibutyl phthalate/DBP, and camphor) to dissolve and dry. The "fast dry" formulation likely relies on higher solvent volatility to accelerate evaporation, which increases inhalation exposure during application and the first few hours after. The dried film on the nail is relatively inert once hardened.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Volatile organic solvent inhalation (toluene, xylene, camphor)
Nitrocellulose lacquers require high-volatility solvents; fast-drying formulations increase peak vapor exposure. Revlon does not disclose specific solvent percentages or commit to exclusion of toluene or xylene, which are respiratory irritants and CNS depressants at high acute exposure.
Dibutyl phthalate (DBP) plasticizer
DBP is a common plasticizer in nitrocellulose polishes to improve film flexibility and prevent chipping. Revlon has not publicly confirmed exclusion of DBP from Top Speed, and many mass-market enamels still contain it despite the 7-Free movement. Dermal and inhalation exposure are the primary routes.
Formaldehyde / VOCs
Some nitrocellulose enamels use formaldehyde-based resins (urea-formaldehyde or melamine-formaldehyde) to harden the film. Revlon's ingredient transparency does not exclude this; formaldehyde release is low once dried but can occur during application and removal.
Source, ATSDR ↗Camphor-related neurotoxicity at acute high exposure
Camphor is a common solvent and fragrance compound in nail enamels that can cause CNS effects (headache, dizziness) at high vapors. Fast-dry formulations typically contain elevated camphor; Revlon does not disclose concentration or limits.
What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
Lead
No specific recalls or test reports linking Revlon Top Speed to lead, cadmium, or banned azo dyes. However, the brand does not independently certify pigment safety, and nail polish colorants are not FDA-preapproved, relying on voluntary compliance.
Source, ATSDR ↗The full breakdown
The brand's record and disclosure
Revlon does not publicly disclose the complete solvent or plasticizer profile of Top Speed or most of its nail enamel line. The brand has not sought certification by organizations like 7-Free, 10-Free, or Certified Clean labels that explicitly exclude common hazardous solvents. Revlon's historical opacity on ingredient lists and lack of proactive reformulation toward reduced-solvent alternatives reflects an industry-standard but non-transparent approach. No specific recalls or safety warnings for this product line are on record.
How it compares in its category
Most mass-market nail enamels (Essie, OPI, Sally Hansen) use identical nitrocellulose-solvent chemistry and offer similarly minimal disclosure. Premium or eco-marketed brands (Zoya, Ella+Mila, Nails Inc) often market 5-Free or higher exclusion of toluene, DBP, and formaldehyde, though enforcement varies. Revlon's Top Speed sits in the conventional mainstream, affordable, widely available, but without the reformulation or transparency marketing that competitors increasingly adopt. The "fast dry" claim is a trade-off, faster evaporation = higher peak solvent vapor during use.
If you buy it
Apply in a well-ventilated space (open window, fan running) to minimize inhalation of volatile solvents during and for 30 minutes after application. Avoid prolonged skin contact with wet enamel and do not ingest. Store caps tightly sealed to prevent solvent loss, which thickens the polish and forces use of toxic thinners rather than replacement. Acetone-based removers are standard; remove polish within 7-10 days to allow nail surface to breathe. Pregnant individuals or those with respiratory sensitivity should consider 5-Free or solvent-reduced alternatives.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Revlon has made a specific claim
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
Better-graded alternatives in Nail Polish & Top Coat
Piggy Paint
Basecoat & Sealer Nail Polish
- Water-based organic pigments and plant-derived resins
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Piggy Paint
Nail Polish Piggy Paint
- water-based pigmented lacquer
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from resins and solvents
3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Piggy Paint
Showstopper Nail Polish Set
- organic pigments, plant-based resins, water-based lacquer
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Volatile organic compounds (VOCs)
2 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
More nail polish & top coat grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.