PFAS45/ 100Poor
Overall19/ 100Bad
Guardsman 11 oz Fabric Defense

Guardsman · Fabric Stain Guard Sprays

Guardsman 11 oz Fabric Defense

Poor

Skip until ingredient list clarified. PFAS risk unclear.

Verdict: SkipPFAS content unconfirmed, ingredient opacity prevents safety assessment; safer fabric protectors with disclosed formulas exist.

Guardsman Fabric Defense is a stain and water repellent spray; ingredient list unavailable publicly. Treatment type and PFAS content unknown.

The safe swap

Spray n Wash Laundry Stain Remover

Resolve

Spray n Wash Laundry Stain Remover

85/100 safety

85Excellent

Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.

Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.

Material

fabric treatment/coating (unspecified)

Brand disclosure

Brand is silent on PFAS

Lab data

No public lab test

What’s concerning

♾️

Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment

water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.

65/ 100
♾️

Category baseline

other is a category where PFAS exposure is more common.

90/ 100
♾️

Vague safety claims only

Uses vague language ("eco-friendly", "clean") without a specific PFAS statement.

90/ 100
💨

Inhalation risk from spray application

Aerosol fabric treatments carry inherent inhalation exposure during application. Without disclosed solvent or propellant information, the magnitude of respiratory irritation risk cannot be quantified.

70/ 100
⚠️

Volatile organic compounds (VOCs) or solvents

Fabric coating sprays typically contain hydrocarbon solvents or other carriers; Guardsman does not disclose VOC content, making off-gassing duration and intensity unknowable.

70/ 100
⚠️

Skin or eye contact during application

Standard spray hazard; product safety data sheet (SDS) should specify irritancy classification, but is not readily consumer-accessible for this product.

70/ 100
🍳

Residual coating accumulation on fabric

Repeated applications without cleaning may cause buildup, potentially altering fabric texture, breathability, or durability; no reapplication interval guidance is prominently disclosed.

70/ 100
♾️

PFAS

The core hazard: formula opacity prevents distinction between PFAS-based repellency and safer alternatives, creating uncertainty that justifies avoidance until clarity is provided.

Source: ATSDR
45/ 100

The full breakdown

What it's made of and why it matters

Guardsman 11 oz Fabric Defense is a spray-applied fabric coating designed to repel liquids and stains. The exact resin chemistry is not disclosed on packaging or readily available from the brand, making it impossible to determine whether water-repellency relies on fluorinated compounds (PFAS) or non-fluorinated alternatives. Fabric treatments that repel water typically require either PFAS-based or silicone-based chemistry; Guardsman's silence on this distinction is a red flag.

The brand's record and disclosure

Guardsman (a Clorox subsidiary) has not publicly committed to PFAS phaseout or published ingredient disclosures for this product line. The brand does not appear on third-party sustainability databases with clear PFAS policies. While Guardsman manufactures furniture care products across multiple categories, transparency on hazardous substance content remains limited compared to competitors like Scotchgard (3M), which has begun reformulating away from long-chain PFAS.

How it compares in its category

Fabric protection sprays span a spectrum: some use PFAS-based chemistry (historically effective but persistent), others use silicone or wax emulsions (less water-repellent but safer). Guardsman does not position itself as PFAS-free and provides no third-party certifications (e.g., Cradle to Cradle, Green Guard). Competitors offering PFAS-free or disclosed formulas (e.g., certain eco-brands) command a clearer safety profile for equivalent performance.

If you buy it

Apply in well-ventilated areas to avoid inhalation of aerosolized particles or solvents. Allow complete drying before contact with skin or mouth. Do not use on items meant for infant contact or food preparation surfaces. Reapply according to label frequency, typically annually; monitor treated fabrics for discoloration or coating buildup over multiple applications.

What we don’t know

Basis
Model estimate, 35% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
Guardsman has made none

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

Safer alternatives in Fabric Stain Guard Sprays

Resolve Ultra Stain/Odor Remover

Resolve

Ultra Stain/Odor Remover

Aqueous surfactant blend, cleaning agents

PFAS Grade85Excellent
Overall Grade67Good
⚠️

Fragrance allergens and sensitizers

Limited concern

70
⚠️

Surfactant eye and respiratory irritation

Limited concern

70
⚠️

Ingestion toxicity (child safety)

Moderate concern

45

Liquid cleaner with no known PFAS risks, but brand silent on composition.

Brand says nothing about PFAS

Clorox 2 For Colors Stain Remover & Laundry Additive

Clorox

2 For Colors Stain Remover & Laundry Additive

Liquid hydrogen peroxide-based stain remover

PFAS Grade85Excellent
Overall Grade67Good
⚠️

Hydrogen peroxide irritation (skin/eye contact)

Moderate concern

45
⚠️

Surfactant / soap residue on fabric

Limited concern

70
🏷️

Fragrance allergens (undisclosed components)

Limited concern

70

Lower PFAS concern for liquid laundry additive; typical chemistry poses minimal risk.

Brand says nothing about PFAS

Spray n Wash Laundry Stain Remover

Resolve

Spray n Wash Laundry Stain Remover

Surfactant-based liquid concentrate

PFAS Grade85Excellent
Overall Grade49Poor
⚠️

Skin irritation / sensitization from surfactants

Limited concern

70
🫧

Eye irritation if splashed

High concern

20
⚠️

Ingestion toxicity (low acute risk)

Moderate concern

45
⚠️

Water contamination / aquatic hazard from surfactants

Limited concern

70

Lower concern. Liquid surfactant product, minimal PFAS risk profile.

Brand says nothing about PFAS

More fabric stain guard sprays grades

How we score: every product runs through the same public 0–100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.