Revlon ColorStay Satin Ink Liquid Lipstick
Waterproof liquid lipstick. Waterproofing raises concern without full disclosure.
Revlon hasn't disclosed PFAS presence or absence in this waterproof liquid formula. Waterproofing in cosmetics sometimes involves fluorochemicals.
The better-graded swap
MAC
MAC Lipstick Matte
75/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
liquid pigment suspension, polymeric film-forming agents
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
Aqua Pure
3M Aqua-Pure AP802B Whole House Filter Housing
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
What Revlon ColorStay Satin Ink Liquid Lipstick is made of, ingredients and materials
ColorStay Satin Ink is a liquid pigment suspension stabilized by film-forming polymers (acrylates, silicones) designed to set quickly and resist transfer. The waterproofing mechanism, typical in liquid lipsticks, often relies on water-repellent ingredients; Revlon does not disclose whether PFAS-based compounds are used, which is standard practice among cosmetic makers who rely on fluorochemistry for long-wear performance. The pigment load is significant enough to color lips densely; heavy metals in synthetic colorants (iron oxides, mica) are FDA-regulated but contamination risk exists in manufacturing.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
Water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.
1,4-dioxane (solvent/preservative byproduct)
Liquid cosmetics with polymer suspensions and water often form trace 1,4-dioxane during manufacturing or storage. Revlon does not certify dioxane-free status. Not listed on labels because it is an impurity, not an intentional ingredient.
Formaldehyde / VOCs
Quaternium-15 and related resins are common in long-wear liquid lipsticks to prevent microbial growth. Revlon's full preservative system is not disclosed; products sold in the EU face stricter limits than US versions.
Source, ATSDR ↗Synthetic fragrance (undisclosed allergen content)
ColorStay formulas contain fragrance compounds listed only as 'fragrance' or 'parfum' on packaging. Individuals with sensitive lips or fragrance contact allergies (limonene, geraniol) report irritation; specific allergens are hidden under trade secret labeling.
Microplastic particles (polyethylene or polypropylene in suspension)
Some liquid lipsticks contain intentional microplastics as texture agents or pigment carriers. Revlon does not confirm or deny microplastic use in ColorStay. These are rinsed off but may accumulate in waterways.
What’s reassuring
Lead
FDA-approved synthetic colorants in the US are tested for contaminant lead and cadmium; no recalls of ColorStay for metal contamination are on record. However, third-party testing by independent labs is not published by Revlon.
Source, ATSDR ↗The full breakdown
The brand's record and disclosure
Revlon does not publish full ingredient transparency or third-party testing results for PFAS or formaldehyde-releasing preservatives. The brand has faced multiple safety controversies (manufacturing shutdowns, product recalls for bacterial contamination) but no specific lipstick recalls on record. No certifications (cruelty-free, clean beauty, non-toxic) are claimed for this line. Ingredient lists are available on packaging and the Revlon website, but absence of PFAS disclosure is consistent with industry-wide opacity on waterproofing chemistry.
How it compares in its category
Liquid lipsticks are inherently higher-risk for undisclosed PFAS than cream or powder formulas due to waterproofing demands. ColorStay Satin Ink is mid-tier; premium brands (MAC, Urban Decay) occasionally test and publicize PFAS-free claims; drugstore equivalents (NYX, Maybelline) show similarly sparse disclosure. The 'satin' finish suggests a matte-ish set without extra silicone load, which may reduce overall synthetic polymer burden compared to ultra-glossy liquid formulations.
If you buy it
Apply sparingly to avoid pigment overload on lips; the long-wear formula is designed to stay put through eating and drinking but will transfer on contact. Remove with an oil-based cleanser or micellar water; acetone-free removers are sufficient and reduce skin irritation. Patch-test on the inner lip first if you have fragrance sensitivities or history of contact dermatitis. Replace if the product separates, thickens, or develops odor; shelf life is typically 12-24 months unopened, shorter if exposed to heat or light.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 52% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Revlon has made a specific claim
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
Better-graded alternatives in Lipstick
Burt's Bees
Suede Splash Lipstick
- Wax, oils, pigments, beeswax base
- Fragrance allergens (essential oils, fragrance compounds)
2 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Charlotte Tilbury
Hot Lips Lipstick
- Wax, oils, pigments, and traditional cosmetic binders
- Lead
3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Coty
(2 pack) Coty Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate Lipstick, 0.14 oz
- pigments, waxes, oils in lipstick base
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Formaldehyde / VOCs
3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
More lipstick grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.