PFAS
15/100
Bad
Overall
0/100
Bad
TrueCut Self Healing Cutting Mat

Trudeau · Silicone Cutting & Prep Boards

TrueCut Self Healing Cutting Mat

Bad

Skip if PFAS avoidance matters, coating may contain PFAS.

Verdict, SkipMaterial composition undisclosed; PVC-based self-healing mats carry possible plasticizer and VOC risks. Brand silent on safety testing. Use with caution and good ventilation.

Trudeau hasn't disclosed the self-healing coating or PFAS status, and PVC-based mats sometimes contain fluorinated compounds.

The safe swap

Tovolo Silicone Baking Mat

Tovolo

Tovolo Silicone Baking Mat

80/100 safety

80Excellent

Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.

Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.

Material

PVC or rubber blend, self-healing coating composition undisclosed

Brand disclosure

Brand is silent on PFAS

Lab data

No public lab test

What’s concerning

♾️

Non-stick, chemistry undisclosed

Advertised as non-stick but coating type is not explained.

60/ 100
♾️

Category baseline

PFAS exposure happens more often with clothing products.

70/ 100
♾️

No PFAS disclosure

The company has not publicly discussed PFAS in this product.

85/ 100
🧴

Phthalates

If the mat or coating contains PVC, plasticizers such as phthalates are commonly used but not disclosed by Trudeau. These can migrate to fatty foods (oils, cheese, meat) with prolonged contact or when mats age.

Source: ATSDR
70/ 100
💨

Volatile organic compounds (VOCs) and off-gassing

Proprietary self-healing coatings often release VOCs when new. Trudeau provides no off-gassing data or break-in guidance, making it unclear how long fumes persist or whether ventilation is adequate in typical kitchens.

70/ 100
🫧

Coating degradation and microparticle shedding

Self-healing mats are designed to self-repair, but over time the coating can flake, crack, or shed small particles into food, especially if exposed to high heat, acidic foods, or sharp implements repeatedly. No durability or particle shedding testing is published.

70/ 100
🏷️

Migration from undisclosed adhesives or substrate layers

Self-healing mats often use multi-layer construction with undisclosed adhesives or base polymers. These may leach chemicals over time, especially if the mat absorbs liquids or is heated, but Trudeau provides no information on composition or migration testing.

70/ 100

What’s reassuring

⛏️

Heavy metals

No reports of lead, cadmium, or other heavy metal contamination in Trudeau cutting mats, but the brand does not disclose pigment sources or testing for food-contact safety compliance.

Source: FDA
95/ 100

The full breakdown

What it's made of and why it matters

TrueCut Self Healing Cutting Mats are marketed as silicone or rubber blends, but the exact formulation and self-healing coating chemistry are not publicly disclosed by Trudeau. If PVC-based (common in budget cutting mats), the material may contain plasticizers like phthalates or di-isononyl cyclohexane-1,2-dicarboxylate (DINCH) to improve flexibility. Self-healing coatings often rely on proprietary polymer blends that are not disclosed on packaging or safety documentation.

The brand's record and disclosure

Trudeau does not publish material safety data sheets (MSDS) or third-party certifications for this product line on its website or in readily available consumer materials. The brand has made no public statements regarding PFAS avoidance, plasticizer testing, or chemical composition transparency. No major recalls or safety controversies are on record for this specific product, but the lack of proactive disclosure is a red flag in the kitchen prep category.

How it compares in its category

Self-healing cutting mats vary widely: silicone-based mats (if genuinely silicone-only) are generally lower-risk than PVC alternatives, but Trudeau's formulation is unclear. Natural rubber or unplasticized alternatives exist but cost more. Budget mats often hide plasticizer or PFAS use in undisclosed coatings; this product's silence on composition places it in the middle-caution tier of the category.

If you buy it

Use in well-ventilated kitchens, especially when new, to allow off-gassing of any volatile compounds. Do not cut hot foods or place near heat sources, as PVC-based products can leach plasticizers faster when warm. Replace every 2-3 years if the surface degrades, cracks, or loses its self-healing property. Hand-wash only; dishwasher heat and detergent may accelerate coating breakdown and leaching.

What we don’t know

Basis
Model estimate, 35% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
Trudeau has made none

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

Safer alternatives in Silicone Cutting & Prep Boards

Silikomart Silicone Grip Mat

Silikomart

Silicone Grip Mat

silicone rubber grip mat, non-coated

80/100
Excellent
Overall68Good
⛏️

Siloxane leaching (low-molecular-weight oligomers)

Limited concern

70
🫧

Microparticle shedding from grip surface

Limited concern

70
⚠️

Mold or bacterial growth in surface texture

Limited concern

70

Low concern; silicone grip mats rarely contain PFAS.

Risky category by default

Rockler Silicone Project Mat

Pyrex

Rockler Silicone Project Mat

silicone

80/100
Excellent
Overall72Good
⚠️

Bacterial or mold growth if unmaintained

Limited concern

70
🏭

Migration of manufacturing residue or plasticizers

Limited concern

70

Silicone project mat carries low concern; no coating risk.

Risky category by default

1, Size: 29cm/11.42 x 26cm/10.24 (Approx.)40cm/15.75 x 30cm/11.81 (Approx.)50cm/19.69 x 40cm/15.75 (Approx.)60cm/23.62 x

Pyrex

1, Size: 29cm/11.42 x 26cm/10.24 (Approx.)40cm/15.75 x 30cm/11.81 (Approx.)50cm/19.69 x 40cm/15.75 (Approx.)60cm/23.62 x

borosilicate glass

80/100
Excellent
Overall66Good
⚠️

Thermal shock fracture and cutting hazard

Moderate concern

45
🍳

Lid or handle coating hazards

Limited concern

70

Minimal concern. Pyrex borosilicate glass is inherently PFAS-free.

Risky category by default

More silicone cutting & prep boards grades

How we score: every product runs through the same public 0–100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.