Suave Women's Antiperspirant Deodorant Fresh Scent 2.6 oz Twin Pack
Lower concern product, but brand makes no PFAS commitment.
Antiperspirant powders typically lack PFAS-intensive treatments. Suave provides no public PFAS disclosure or third-party verification for this product.
We flunk more products than we pass. This one earned its grade. How we grade
Material
Aluminum or zinc oxide based powder, no identified waterproof coating
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Suave Women's Antiperspirant Twin Pack is made of, ingredients and materials
Suave Women's Antiperspirant is formulated with aluminum compounds (likely aluminum chlorohydrate or similar salt) as the active antiperspirant agent, combined with talc or silica-based powder carriers and fragrance. Aluminum salts work by forming plugs in sweat ducts and are the industry standard; the powder base provides slip and absorbency. No waterproof polymer coating is noted, which reduces risk of coating degradation and associated leachables over the product's shelf life.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Talc contamination and asbestos risk
Suave product information does not specify whether talc is used or tested for asbestos. While talc ore deposits can be contaminated with asbestos, modern FDA-regulated cosmetics undergo screening; however, independent testing is not publicly disclosed for this brand.
Fragrance allergens and sensitizers
Suave does not disclose fragrance constituents (typically protected as trade secret). Synthetic fragrance blends can trigger contact dermatitis or sensitization in 1-3% of users; individuals with sensitive skin or fragrance allergies should patch-test or choose unscented alternatives.
Formaldehyde / VOCs
Suave's ingredient list is not fully published for this specific product variant. Powder antiperspirants may contain formaldehyde-releasing preservatives (e.g., imidazolidinyl urea) to prevent bacterial growth; the label should be checked for these components.
Source, ATSDR ↗1,4-dioxane as manufacturing byproduct
If ethoxylated ingredients are used in emulsifiers or surfactants, 1,4-dioxane may be present as a trace contaminant. Suave does not publicly commit to 1,4-dioxane testing or removal. Exposure via topical cosmetics is considered low-risk by FDA but remains a concern for sensitive individuals.
What’s reassuring
Base material not linked to PFAS
The main material recorded for this product is not one associated with PFAS.
Heavy metals
No recalls or reports of lead, cadmium, or other heavy metal contamination in Suave antiperspirants are on record. Fragrance components are regulated by the International Fragrance Association; the Fresh Scent variant carries no known alerts.
Source, FDA ↗How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Suave (owned by Unilever) does not publish detailed ingredient safety data or third-party certifications (such as EWG verification) for this antiperspirant line. The brand has faced no major recalls or safety controversies specific to this product. However, Suave makes no public commitment to PFAS reduction or heavy metal testing in cosmetics, limiting transparency compared to premium or clean-beauty competitors.
How it compares in its category
This product sits at the mainstream mass-market tier. Aluminum antiperspirants dominate the category and carry similar safety profiles; talc-free versions exist but are less common at this price point. Premium or certified alternatives (e.g., EWG-verified, aluminum-free) offer higher transparency but cost 2-3x more. Suave's formulation is typical in safety risk but below average in brand disclosure.
If you buy it
Store in a cool, dry place away from direct heat or humidity to prevent clumping or separation. Do not apply to broken or irritated skin. Discontinue use if rash or sensitization develops. Replace after 12-18 months of regular use or if product hardens, separates, or develops odor. Wash hands after application to avoid unintended contact with eyes or mucous membranes.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 72% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Suave has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Suave Women's Antiperspirant Deodorant Fresh Scent 2.6 oz Twin Pack?
- mineral-based powder blend (arrowroot, magnesium hydroxide, mica)
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Skin irritation from magnesium hydroxide alkalinity
- cosmetic formulations, primary ingredients listed
- A third party reports verifying it as PFAS-free
- Fragrance allergens (natural essential oils)
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- natural mineral powders, plant-based actives, beeswax
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Beeswax purity and contamination
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
More deodorant grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.