· Parchment Paper & Baking Liners
Costco Oven Paper 50m x 30cm
Avoid until Kirkland discloses coating formulation; grease-resistant oven paper often uses PFAS.
Oven paper typically requires water and grease resistance to function, which historically relies on PFAS-based water-repellent coating treatments. The brand provides no public disclosure of the coating chemistry or PFAS status.
The better-graded swap
If You Care
If You Care Parchment Baking Sheets
90/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
silicone-coated paper with grease-resistant treatment
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Costco Oven Paper 50m x 30cm is made of, ingredients and materials
Kirkland Oven Paper is paper substrate with silicone coating plus a grease-resistant treatment to prevent oils from soaking through. The grease-resistant layer is the concern, industry standard for this function historically relies on fluorochemicals (PFAS), though some manufacturers have shifted to non-fluorinated alternatives. Kirkland has not publicly disclosed which formulation they use, making assessment difficult. Silicone itself is inert and food-safe at normal baking temperatures (up to 220°C/430°F); the coating does not leach under standard oven use.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
Water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.
PFAS
Grease-resistant treatments on parchment paper commonly contain PFAS; Kirkland has not disclosed formulation. Migration into food during heating is possible though typically minimal at standard oven temperatures.
Source, ATSDR ↗Silicone coating thermal degradation
Silicone begins to break down above 220°C. At high heat, coating may release siloxane vapors or flake into food. Risk is low in typical home oven use but increases if product is misused in broilers or at extreme temperatures.
Coating adhesion loss and physical contamination
Repeated heating, cooling, and abrasion can cause silicone or treatment layer to peel or flake. Small fragments could theoretically contact food, though risk is low with visual inspection before use.
What’s reassuring
Bleaching chemical residues in paper substrate
Kirkland does not disclose whether paper is chlorine-bleached or oxygen-bleached. Chlorine-bleached paper may contain trace dioxins or chlorinated byproducts, though food contact limits are generally met by regulatory standards.
Heavy metals
Paper and standard food-grade silicone do not typically leach lead, cadmium, or other heavy metals. No formaldehyde release or azo dyes are expected in this product category.
Source, FDA ↗How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
The brand does not publish detailed chemical disclosures or safety certifications for this product on its website or packaging. No public statements on PFAS avoidance or alternatives are on record. Costco has faced pressure on PFAS in textiles and cookware but has not issued category-wide commitments. The silence itself is notable, competitors like If You Care and Unbleached Company explicitly market PFAS-free parchment.
How it compares in its category
Most conventional parchment and silicone-coated oven papers carry similar PFAS risk if not explicitly stated otherwise. Kirkland's 50m roll is competitively priced and widely available. Certified alternatives (PFOA-free, chlorine-free) exist from smaller brands but cost 2-3x more. Unbleached plant-based options (If You Care, Abeego) avoid fluorochemicals entirely but have narrower temperature ranges or different handling properties. Kirkland sits in the mainstream category where PFAS disclosure is the exception, not the rule.
If you buy it
Use at or below 220°C (425°F); silicone coatings degrade and may release fumes at higher heat. Replace roll if coating visibly flakes, darkens, or peels. Do not use under direct flame or in broilers. Store in cool, dry place away from direct sunlight to slow silicone oxidation. If PFAS exposure is a household priority (pregnant, young children, immunocompromised), switching to a PFAS-free certified brand now eliminates uncertainty rather than testing this product's actual formulation.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 35% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Costco Oven Paper 50m x 30cm?
- silicone-coated parchment paper
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Paper degradation and particulate shedding
- unbleached paper with silicone coating
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Silicone coating degradation at high heat
- bleached paper with silicone coating
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Paper degradation and fragmentation
More parchment paper & baking liners grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.