Whole Foods 365 · Parchment Paper & Baking Liners
365 by Whole Foods Market, Unbleached Parchment Paper, 72 Sq Ft
Parchment's silicone coating leaves PFAS risk unclear without brand transparency.
Unbleached parchment typically uses silicone coating for food contact, which may contain PFAS. Whole Foods makes no PFAS safety claim or testing disclosure.
The better-graded swap
If You Care
If You Care Parchment Baking Paper
90/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
unbleached paper with silicone coating
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What 365 by Whole Foods Market, Unbleached Sq is made of, ingredients and materials
This product is unbleached paper (avoiding chlorine-based bleaching chemicals) coated with silicone to provide non-stick and heat-resistant properties. The silicone coating is the functional layer that prevents food from sticking and enables use on baking sheets. However, manufacturers do not consistently disclose whether the silicone or its manufacturing process involves PFAS (PFAS "forever chemicals"), which are added by some suppliers to enhance water and grease repellency in food-contact coatings.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
Water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.
PFAS
Silicone-coated parchment may contain PFAS to enhance water and grease resistance; Whole Foods 365 does not disclose coating chemistry or supplier standards, leaving contamination risk unverified but not unusual for the product category.
Source, ATSDR ↗Silicone coating degradation at high heat
Use above manufacturer temperature limits (typically >450°F) may cause the silicone layer to degrade or shed microparticles; no specific testing on this brand is available, but silicone-coated papers carry this general thermal risk.
What’s reassuring
Unbleached paper residue and ink migration
Unbleached kraft paper carries lower chemical risk than bleached alternatives; no specific contamination issues have been reported for 365 brand parchment, and food contact is buffered by the silicone coating.
Chlorine dioxide or chlorine residues
This product is labeled unbleached, so chlorine-based bleaching agents and dioxins are not expected; this is a stated advantage over conventional bleached parchment.
Ink or printing chemicals on packaging contact
The parchment sheets themselves are unprinted; the roll packaging may contain inks, but these do not contact food during normal use.
How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Whole Foods 365 has not published transparency reports or certifications specifically addressing PFAS in parchment products. The brand does not disclose supplier or coating chemistry details for this item. No established safety certifications (such as GreenGuard or third-party PFAS screening) are listed on product packaging or marketing materials. This silence on a known industry concern is a transparency gap rather than an affirmative red flag.
How it compares in its category
Unbleached parchment is a standard, lower-chemical baseline compared to bleached alternatives (which carry residual chlorine and dioxin risks). Many mainstream brands (including store labels) use identical silicone-coated unbleached paper with equivalent disclosure gaps. A few specialty producers (e.g., If You Care, some European brands) explicitly certify PFAS-free coatings, but cost is higher. For a mass-market product, 365's positioning is unremarkable but not distinguished by safety claims.
If you buy it
Stay within the product's safe temperature range (typically 420-450°F for silicone-coated parchment); exceeding this risks thermal degradation and potential fume release. Replace paper after 2-3 uses to minimize cumulative contact with the coating. Avoid prolonged contact with acidic foods (citrus, vinegar) that may accelerate coating breakdown. If you want confirmed PFAS-free parchment, seek products with explicit third-party certification or manufacturer statements on PFAS exclusion.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Whole Foods 365 has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to 365 by Whole Foods Market, Unbleached Parchment Paper, 72 Sq Ft?
- silicone-coated parchment paper
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Paper degradation and particulate shedding
- unbleached paper with silicone coating
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Silicone coating degradation at high heat
- bleached paper with silicone coating
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Paper degradation and fragmentation
More parchment paper & baking liners grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.