PFAS20/ 100Bad
Overall0/ 100Bad
KEEN Men's Outdoor K-20 Plus Insole

Keen · Synthetic Athletic Insoles & Orthotics

KEEN Men's Outdoor K-20 Plus Insole

Bad

Insole likely waterproofed; KEEN does not disclose PFAS status.

Verdict: SkipFoam insole with undisclosed water-resistance treatment; likely PFAS-treated but no brand transparency. Safe with proper use and replacement.

KEEN's K-20 Plus contains moisture-wicking and waterproof treatments common in performance insoles, which often rely on PFAS. The brand won't disclose whether these treatments are PFAS-free.

Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.

Material

foam/gel insole with moisture-wicking treatment

Brand disclosure

Brand is silent on PFAS

Lab data

No public lab test

What’s concerning

♾️

Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment

Water-repellent treatments have historically contained PFAS chemicals.

65/ 100
♾️

Category baseline

PFAS exposure happens more often with clothing products.

70/ 100
♾️

No PFAS disclosure

The company has not publicly discussed PFAS in this product.

85/ 100
♾️

PFAS

Outdoor insoles with moisture-wicking claims are almost universally treated with fluorinated compounds. Keen does not disclose this; skin contact with treated insoles may result in PFAS uptake, though migration risk is low compared to food-contact items. See separate PFAS grade (20/100).

Source: ATSDR
20/ 100
🫧

Foam microparticles from degradation

Closed-cell foam breaks down under compression and heat cycling, releasing small particles that can be inhaled or absorbed through skin. Risk increases as insole ages; replacement every 6-12 months mitigates this significantly.

70/ 100
⚠️

Allergic sensitization from treatment chemicals

Undisclosed water-resistant treatments and dye systems can trigger contact dermatitis in sensitive individuals. Test fit on clean, dry skin for 1-2 hours before all-day wear; discontinue if redness, itching, or swelling occurs.

70/ 100

What’s reassuring

Adhesives and glue residues

No reported issues with adhesives in Keen insoles, but multi-layer foam and fabric bonding typically uses polyurethane or rubber cement. Off-gassing is usually minimal after curing but can occur with heat or sweat; proper ventilation and drying limits exposure.

95/ 100
💨

Formaldehyde / VOCs

Synthetic fabric layers on insoles can contain formaldehyde-based resins or antimony-based flame retardants, but these are regulated in the US and EU. No specific testing or reports on Keen insoles exist; risk is typical for the category and low given brief skin contact.

Source: ATSDR
95/ 100

The full breakdown

What it's made of and why it matters

The K-20 Plus is a closed-cell foam or gel composite insole with a moisture-wicking fabric top layer. The 'Plus' designation and outdoor positioning suggest a water-resistant or water-repellent treatment applied to the foam or fabric, which commonly involves fluorinated compounds (PFAS) to repel sweat and rain. Keen does not publicly disclose the specific chemistry of their moisture-wicking treatment, leaving the exact formulation unknown. Foam insoles naturally degrade with compression and temperature cycling, releasing microparticles over time as the material breaks down.

The brand's record and disclosure

Keen has not published a PFAS transparency statement or commitment to phase out fluorinated water repellents in footwear, despite industry peers (Patagonia, The North Face) doing so. The company has faced no major public recalls or safety controversies on insoles specifically. Keen's silence on PFAS use in moisture-wicking treatments is typical of the outdoor footwear sector but represents a gap in consumer communication around an emerging concern.

How it compares in its category

Replacement insoles occupy a middle ground of risk: they contact skin but are not ingested, and users typically replace them every 6-12 months. Most competitors in the outdoor insole market use identical foam-gel-fabric combinations with undisclosed water treatments. PFAS-free alternatives exist (natural rubber, non-treated wool blends) but are less common in performance outdoor lines. The K-20 Plus is comparable to Superfeet and Spenco offerings in material class and transparency gap.

If you buy it

Replace insoles every 6-12 months or when compression is visibly permanent; this limits cumulative exposure to aging foam microparticles and any residual treatment chemicals. Do not machine wash or expose to prolonged heat (>140F / 60C), which can accelerate foam degradation and potential leaching of treatment compounds. Keep feet dry to reduce moisture-driven breakdown; air-dry insoles after wet use. If you have sensitive skin or chemical sensitivities, test fit for 1-2 hours to check for irritation before extended wear.

What we don’t know

Basis
Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
Keen has made none

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

Safer alternatives in Synthetic Athletic Insoles & Orthotics

PowerStep Pulse Performance Insoles

Powerstep

Pulse Performance Insoles

EVA foam, gel, fabric blend

PFAS Grade65Good
Overall Grade57Good
🎨

Azo dyes in fabric blend

Limited concern

70
💨

Formaldehyde / VOCs

Limited concern

70

These insoles likely skip PFAS, but the brand says nothing about it.

Risky category by default

POWERSTEP PULSE E

Powerstep

PULSE E

foam insoles, textile upper

PFAS Grade65Good
Overall Grade57Good
🎨

Azo dyes in textile coloring

Limited concern

70
🫧

Foam degradation and microparticle shedding

Limited concern

70

No PFAS risk data exists; products like this usually pose lower concern if untreated.

Risky category by default

PowerStep PULSE Maxx Orthotic Running Shoe Insert

Powerstep

PULSE Maxx Orthotic Running Shoe Insert

Foam, fabric, and elastomer blend

PFAS Grade65Good
Overall Grade57Good

Polyurethane foam degradation and volatile release

Limited concern

70
⚠️

Skin sensitization from uncertified materials

Limited concern

70

PFAS concern is unlikely, though brand silence limits certainty.

Risky category by default

More synthetic athletic insoles & orthotics grades

How we score: every product runs through the same public 0–100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.