Whisper Maxi Fit Sanitary Pads
Skip until brand discloses waterproofing chemistry or testing.
Whisper does not publicly disclose PFAS status or waterproofing agents. Sanitary pads often use water-resistant coatings whose composition remains undisclosed by most manufacturers.
The better-graded swap
Seventh Generation
Seventh Generation Chlorine Free Maxi Pads
100/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
absorbent core, plastic backing with waterproof treatment
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
What Whisper Maxi Fit Sanitary Pads is made of, ingredients and materials
Whisper Maxi Fit pads use a synthetic absorbent core (typically superabsorbent polymer/SAP and wood pulp), a plastic backing layer, and a waterproof treatment applied to the back. The waterproof layer's chemistry is not publicly disclosed by Procter & Gamble, the parent company; this is where PFAS compounds are typically used in period-care products to repel fluid. The front surface (facing skin) is typically nonwoven polypropylene and cellulose, which are low-toxicity when uncontaminated. Degradation of any layer over time or with heat/moisture exposure is the primary concern for leachate into the menstrual flow.
What’s concerning
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
Water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
PFAS
Waterproof layer chemistry not disclosed; typical menstrual pad backings use PFAS-based Teflon-family coating coatings. This product rated Poor (25/100) on PFAS safety; no brand commitment to disclosure or substitution on record.
Source, ATSDR ↗Synthetic polymer skin contact and microplastic/monomer leachate
Polypropylene nonwoven and superabsorbent polymer (SAP) cores are not known to leach hazardous monomers under normal use at body temperature, but long-term contact with wet synthetic materials and the nonpolar menstrual environment is not extensively studied. Degradation or abrasion over 4-6 hours of wear could theoretically release trace oligomers.
Adhesive and tackifier exposure (skin contact)
Menstrual pads use adhesives to secure backing and wings; formulation typically includes acrylates or silicone-based tackifiers. Whisper's adhesive chemistry is not publicly detailed. Skin sensitization or irritation is rare but reported in individuals with adhesive contact dermatitis or in high-humidity conditions where adhesive breakdown accelerates.
Fragrance/perfume additives (if scented variant)
Whisper offers both scented and unscented Maxi Fit variants. Fragrance compounds in menstrual pads are poorly studied for internal mucosal exposure; fragrance mixtures can contain allergens or irritants. Unscented versions carry no known fragrance hazard.
What’s reassuring
Chlorine residue from bleaching (if present)
Bleaching agents used in pad manufacturing are typically removed during rinsing, and dioxin/chlorine levels in finished menstrual pads are not reported in public safety data. No recalls or toxicant findings specific to Whisper on this hazard exist.
The full breakdown
The brand's record and disclosure
Procter & Gamble has not published detailed ingredient lists or waterproofing chemical disclosures for Whisper pads as of public record, nor has the brand pursued third-party certifications like Standard 100 by OEKO-TEX that would verify absence of restricted substances. The brand has faced periodic social media scrutiny over ingredient opacity but no formal regulatory recalls or toxicant findings specific to Whisper menstrual pads in major safety databases. P&G's general stance on PFAS in period-care products remains non-committal; competitors like Seventh Generation and Natracare have begun disclosing waterproofing methods or eliminating PFAS, making Whisper's silence a relative disadvantage.
How it compares in its category
Whisper is a mass-market, conventionally manufactured pad with no published PFAS-free or organic certification. Compared to premium or eco-labeled alternatives (e.g., Rael, Natracare, Seventh Generation), Whisper offers lower cost and higher absorbency but lower transparency. Many budget and mid-range brands (Kotex, Always) operate under similar disclosure constraints. Organic-certified or PFAS-free-tested pads typically cost 30-50% more and are not universally available; Whisper occupies the convenience/affordability tier where ingredient disclosure lags.
If you buy it
Store pads in a cool, dry location away from direct heat or sunlight to minimize any breakdown of the plastic backing or adhesive. Replace pads every 4-6 hours during use; prolonged contact with synthetic materials and body fluids increases leachate risk. If you experience unusual irritation, itching, or odor, discontinue and switch to a disclosed, certified alternative. Consider rotating between this brand and a PFAS-free option if you use pads regularly, to reduce cumulative exposure to undisclosed waterproofing chemistry.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Whisper has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
Better-graded alternatives in Period Pads
Seventh Generation
Chlorine Free Maxi Pads
- organic cotton, wood pulp
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Fragrance allergen content
Nana
Maxi Thick
- cellulose, cotton blend, absorbent core
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bleach residues and processing chemicals in cellulose
3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
Kotex Natural
10pack Kotex Natural Normal Sanitary Pads
- Cotton, wood pulp absorbent core, plastic backing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Pesticide residue
2 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.
More period pads grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.